Customer Reviews for

The Hunt (Hunt Country Suspense Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 919 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(269)

4 Star

(275)

3 Star

(181)

2 Star

(92)

1 Star

(102)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

'Best read of the summer!'

Jan Neuharth accomplished exactly what I would imagine she set out to do in writing this series. I read both 'The Hunt' and its sequel, 'The Chase' in one weekend and was so sad when I finished. Each page of each of these books kept me on the edge of my seat. The end...
Jan Neuharth accomplished exactly what I would imagine she set out to do in writing this series. I read both 'The Hunt' and its sequel, 'The Chase' in one weekend and was so sad when I finished. Each page of each of these books kept me on the edge of my seat. The end of the books left me longing for another chapter,another in this series. Jan Neuharth is a very talented writer who easily and effortlessly transports her readers to Middleburg, Virginia and entrenches them deeply in the lives of her characters.

posted by Anonymous on September 30, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

good story - a romantic thriller

Loved the plot -- get tired of the graphic sex - but the story is good and interesting.... skipped over the sex - could not put down the story till I was done.

posted by ChristineJ_MaMa_Jones on July 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 923 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 47
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2007

    'Best read of the summer!'

    Jan Neuharth accomplished exactly what I would imagine she set out to do in writing this series. I read both 'The Hunt' and its sequel, 'The Chase' in one weekend and was so sad when I finished. Each page of each of these books kept me on the edge of my seat. The end of the books left me longing for another chapter,another in this series. Jan Neuharth is a very talented writer who easily and effortlessly transports her readers to Middleburg, Virginia and entrenches them deeply in the lives of her characters.

    39 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    I don't even like murder mysteries!

    I normally read more out there novels that have shape-shifters and witches in them. Its what I like to read, and I never liked murder mysteries all that much, but this book was great. It had plenty of intrigue and mind bending twists. There was plenty of tense moments to keep you wanting more. There is even some romance it it for those of you who like that, but not so much as to distract from anything else going on. I couldn't put the book down and read it in less than a day. I will definitely be reading both of her other novels. Jan Neuharth is a great author.

    33 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Please read BEFORE posting a review!!

    It is not helpful to post a commentary based on the description of the book and without actually reading the book. I had to go to Amazon to get a true review of the book. It got great reviews there so I plan to download it and give it a read and THEN post a review.

    24 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    5 stars for balance

    I'm tired of the free friday books getting bad reviews by moronic users who haven't even read the book.

    23 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Thank you for free Fridays!

    B&N you rock!!

    22 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fast, Enjoyable Read

    I was hesitant to download and read this book as 6 of the seven reviews I saw all gave one star and a bad review. HOWEVER, people should actually read the whole book before making a review such as that.

    I enjoyed this book very much. It was suspenseful, fast reading. I read it in two day, I barely put it down. I was not disappointed by any means and I would read other books by this author.

    Thanks B&N for Free Friday's, otherwise I would have never come across this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Could have been better

    While I liked the description of the Virginia countryside and some of the quaintness of the shops and stores there very much, the plot had many problems and I found the ending all too familiar. The cartoonish sheriff, the spiteful impoverished hater of the wealthy and the old-fashion delineations of class and character were a bit wearing after while. Somehow I couldn't help thinking of Oscar Wilde's description of fox hunting as "the unspeakable in pursuit of the inedible."

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Good read

    I actually enjoyed this book. Read it in one day and am looking forward to more in the series. Thanks B&N for constantly giving me new authors to read that i wouldnt otherwise. I enjoy most of the free Friday selections you give us.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Great book

    I couldn't put it down once i started reading it. Can't wait to get to the next book she wrote. Thank you for introducing me to a great read Barnes and Noble

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Please keep reviews about the book!

    I clicked on the "read reviews" to find out what others thought about this book and all i got out of the reviews is a bunch of folks talking about "free Fridays". Can we please stick to reviewing books and leave the other opinions out!? Reading reviews helps me decide if im going to get the book so please stick to the book review and complain about the (wonderful) services BN has to offer somewhere else. Thanks! P.S. I did get the book...I will read the book...and I will then write a review ABOUT THE BOOK (not a review about "Free Fridays"...which is AWESOME by the way!!) Geez...teens are always complaining about something!

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If you don't like the description...don't download it!

    I too am joining those who've given the book a 5 Star Review due to complainers. Be grateful for the "Free Friday" downloads! These books on Free Fridays are a "privilege," and not a right! BN, please excuse those who are ungrateful. You guys at BN are doing a great job! Obviously you can't please everyone. And you are definitely making it possible to become aquinted with new authors & genres; please keep keep "Free Fridays" a unique Nook experience!

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Easy read

    Good book for summer. This is a fast, easy read, that keeps the reader engaged throughout. This is the first of a 3 part series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    good story - a romantic thriller

    Loved the plot -- get tired of the graphic sex - but the story is good and interesting.... skipped over the sex - could not put down the story till I was done.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Excellent!

    Highly recommend it. I usually only read certain authors, but since it was a friday freebie i checked it out and it looked interesting. Almost 400 pages i couldnt put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Stop complaining and start reading!

    Free Fridays are a terrific way to try authors and genres you would never otherwise experience. I've discovered one of my new favorite reads this way and eagerly await each Friday's selection. Take a chance on somthing new. The offerings may pleasantly surprise you

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Well written

    I enjoyed this book. It left me wanting more at the end.... in a good way!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Good Book

    This is a really good read. The good news; it was free and good. The bad news; I am now hooked and have to buy the rest of the series. Looking forward to reading the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    A Story that Might Appeal to Virginians

    The story's setting was what I found most interesting about this book. The author's descriptions of place and time made me feel as though I were back in the Old Dominion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    ho hum

    Too boring,I just could not get into either the characters or the story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    A hackneyed mix of lame romance and cheesy mystery

    Glad it was free. To anyone thinking of paying for this book, a warning; it just barely qualifies for a quick, light read. The only reason I give one star is that the writing was mechanically good enough to be readable. It reads like a TV adaptation of a crime-flavored harlequin romance. Shallow, stereotypical characters. Amateur plot and stilted dialog. A few instances where turns of phrase put into a character's mouth employed incorrect usage of words; such writing apparently was not worthy of an experienced editor. This is particularly jarring when the character is supposed to be "classy", educated, and old enough to have known better. Some facts are laughably wrong in 2011. From them, I can make a few guesses. Was this book written in the mid-1980s, then mothballed? Was the writer old enough to remember such outdated medical information, and has been in seclusion for the past 25 years? Were both the writer and editor too lazy to do some rudimentary fact checking? This book was bad enough to motivate me to review it, and just barely good enough to bother completing. P.S. A hint for wanna-be reviewers...we want to know what you liked and disliked about a book. We do NOT want to read your poorly-written synopsis of the entire plot!

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 923 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 47