Customer Reviews for

The Hunt Ball (Sister Jane Foxhunting Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Advid Reader and Fan of Rita Mae Brown

I actually find the majority of her books great reading; the inclusion of the animals simply adds to the storyline. I enjoy the intrigue, the characters and overall the way she weaves the story together. I constantly find myself finding it difficult to not go to the l...
I actually find the majority of her books great reading; the inclusion of the animals simply adds to the storyline. I enjoy the intrigue, the characters and overall the way she weaves the story together. I constantly find myself finding it difficult to not go to the last page simply to see how the story ends. I think the book was a great read and look forward to the next one. I also think the fact that I'm 51 years of age (don't look it) and Black simply shows that Miss Brown has the ability to bring in readers from across the board. Cheers!

posted by Psquare on April 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

First and last time Rita Mae Brown Reader

I picked up the book on CD at the library. I love the mystery genre and have generally been satisfied with the CDs I've gotten based on continuing characters. This was so uninteresting I finally hit the eject button even though I don't know who done it. Just don't ca...
I picked up the book on CD at the library. I love the mystery genre and have generally been satisfied with the CDs I've gotten based on continuing characters. This was so uninteresting I finally hit the eject button even though I don't know who done it. Just don't care. I especially found the conversations among the animals ridiculous and distracting from the story. The plot is extremely thin and based on the spoilers I was able to find on the web, the motive was easily determined within the first third of the book.

The narration was done in a very monotonic voice, which added to the frustration of this work. Maybe just reading the book would have been more interesting, but if you have a choice between this book and another go for the other.

posted by 793544 on January 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    Advid Reader and Fan of Rita Mae Brown

    I actually find the majority of her books great reading; the inclusion of the animals simply adds to the storyline. I enjoy the intrigue, the characters and overall the way she weaves the story together. I constantly find myself finding it difficult to not go to the last page simply to see how the story ends. I think the book was a great read and look forward to the next one. I also think the fact that I'm 51 years of age (don't look it) and Black simply shows that Miss Brown has the ability to bring in readers from across the board. Cheers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    disappointed loyal reader

    I love the Sister Jane Arnold fox hunting series, but this particular book is a real disappointment. The emphasis on the girls from the boarding school and their adolescent issues is vastly less interesting than the grown up stories and fox hunting regional intrigue. I think that Sister herself (sister is a southern nickname) and this particular character, master of fox hounds and in her 70's is someone any strong minded woman would give her favorite horse to hang out with, well may be not that, but certainly her right arm. This particular book is not up to the standards of the series, skip it, read the first three then press off to #5.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    First and last time Rita Mae Brown Reader

    I picked up the book on CD at the library. I love the mystery genre and have generally been satisfied with the CDs I've gotten based on continuing characters. This was so uninteresting I finally hit the eject button even though I don't know who done it. Just don't care. I especially found the conversations among the animals ridiculous and distracting from the story. The plot is extremely thin and based on the spoilers I was able to find on the web, the motive was easily determined within the first third of the book. <BR/><BR/>The narration was done in a very monotonic voice, which added to the frustration of this work. Maybe just reading the book would have been more interesting, but if you have a choice between this book and another go for the other.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Maplejay

    ((Got to go to bed, sorry.))


    •Maplejay•••

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Rivershade

    "Yes it is. Maplejay is my sister. Want to hear about my ex-clans?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Dawnshadow

    Dawnshadow looks at the kits, wondering what type of story she should tell them, then her blue eyes light up, remembering a story that she loved from kithood."Have you kits heard about the legends? About Lionclan, with their feirce fighting skills and their golden manes, about Tigerclan, with their sly and smart tatics and black stripes. And about the Leopardclan with their swift movements and ease with water?" Dawnshadow looks expectingly at the kits. She waits for a moment or two, then the old elder starts with her story." A long time ago, before Horseclan was even born lived three clans, Lionclan, Leopardclan, and my favorite- Tigerclan. They each lived with each other peacefully, there was no land to fight over or prey. But Tigerclan had become jelous of Lionclan and Leopardclan, Lionclan was known for their manes that shined like the sun. Leopardclan was known for their spots that helped them hide in the jungle, but Tigerclan was just cats, with no manes or marking of their own," Dawnshadow pauses in her story,"At the time Tigerclan did not have their stripes, and one very young and foolish warrior in Tigerclan, named Flameflower, named after her encridebly bright coat, was hunting and had not smelled the scent border. Flameflower was chasing after some prey and ran into Lionclan's land, you can guess what had happened next." Dawnshadow purres to the kits,"A Lionclan patrol had found Flameflower catching the prey on their land. The patrol leader immidiatly pounced on the unsespecting tiger, who just relized that nothing smells familiar. Flameflower and the patrol had faught quickly, but in the end the young Tigerclan warrior was pinned down by the three bigger, older, rival clan warriors. Flameflower hisses at them, trying to wiggle free of the huge paws that were holding her down." Dawnshadow pauses again and looks at each kit in the eyes...

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Vixenkit

    "Oofff. Thanks for jumping on me! Here's a return on that favor!" She jumps on Shadowkit.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Velvetstar to Horseclan

    A group of towering redwood trees grew near the water fall. One of the trees had a hollow trunk, the inside taken away by a fire long ago. The tree was still strong and growing, but the inside of the hollow made a warm, protected, and spacious den. -Elders Den-

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fun personification mystery

    In Virginia, the students led by the ¿Three Musketeers¿ protest that their all girls¿ prep school Custis Hall fails to properly credit slaves for creating some of the crafts on display. Though worthy, nothing really comes of their protest at least that is what everyone involved thought at the time. Everybody associated with Custis Hall seems to like good natured Al Perez. That is everyone except the person who murdered the director of alumnae affairs and fund raising for the school. His corpse hangs next to a ¿dummy¿ dead body at the students¿ Halloween dance. Though stunned by the homicide, Headmistress Charlotte Norton remains calm and keeps everyone else relatively composed. --- At about the same time, seventy-two years old 'Sister' Jane Arnold, the Master of the Virginia Jefferson Hunt Club, learns of the death. She begins making inquires assisted by her beloved animals but no motive seems to surface. Still Jane assisted by the Three Musketeers and her assortment of foxhounds, horses, foxes, birds, and other ¿house pets¿ keeps digging not realizing that someone is watching how close the menagerie gets to the truth --- Though Sneaky Pie is not a co-author, the animals have distinct personalities, names and traits and are able to communicate with one another something the dumb humans except Jane fail to comprehend. The hunt and its related ball are vividly described so that the audience gets a taste of an upper crust event. The who-done-it is cleverly developed but takes a back seat to the antics of the animals (as is the case in most of Ms. Brown¿s novels). Fans of the author will enjoy watching the humans OUTFOXED by the animals at THE HUNT BALL. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1