Customer Reviews for

The Hunt for Atlantis (Nina Wilde/Eddie Chase Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Gimmie more!

    Like no joke, this book is fantastic! I live where there is nothing ever to do and so I read. I absoulutly love the way Mcdermott writes his stories. I accidentally read The Tomb of Hercules first and loved that! i can't put my nook down at all. This book is one of my all time favorites!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Action Packed!

    This book was exciting from the very beginning and stayed that way throughout the entire book! Good story with fun characters! Kind of had a "National Treasure" feel to it. Definitely going to stay with this author!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Anonymous

    I love this book!! It was a perfect combination of mythology,violence and adventure.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Top Notch Thriller Should Be Made Into a Movie

    The Hunt for Atlantis is a fabulous adventure story a la Indiana Jones that will have you hooked from the first page.

    Main character Nina Wilde believes that the fabled city of Atlantis is located in the Gulf of Cadiz. After failing to get funding for a search from her university's archeology department, Nina is contacted by the Frost Foundation. Here she finds all of the Foundation's vast resources at her disposal. The question is why. You won't know until 400 some pages later. Former SAS operative Eddie Chase is Nina's sidekick in the search while Giovanni Qobras plays the adversary who does not want Atlantis to be found. Each man has his own group of cadres to assist them as the action begins in New York, switches to Norway, Brazil, the Atlantic Ocean, Tibet and back to Norway for the conclusion.

    This thriller is so amazing that there has to be a movie contract out there somewhere. But until the movie, read the book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    Great!

    If you enjoyed Indiana Jones, you'll love this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read!

    I just found this author and really enjoyed the book. I'm looking forward to reading his other books as well.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It's like the Die-Hard of the book world!

    Let me preface my review by saying, this isn’t one of those books with a lot of deep, philosophical musings. This wasn’t crafted by an otherworldly literary prowess. The Hunt for Atlantis is without a doubt, none of those things. What it is, though, is an explosive, in-your-face adventure novel. It’s what I like to refer to as “awesomely bad.” As in, it’s so bad it’s amazing. I tend to save this classification for those special books/movies that don’t tend to take themselves too seriously. You know the ones—they won’t be winning the Oscar or Pulitzer anytime soon. They sit back, relax and suddenly punch-you-in-the-face with how amazingly, unexpectedly great they are. What I love most about McDermott’s writing style is that it’s high impact and cinematic. The Hunt for Atlantis is a fast-paced thrill ride with non-stop exploits and insurmountable intrigue. If I had to put a classification to it, it would be something like Indiana Jones meets director, John McTiernan. And yes, while some of the more gratuitous action is a tad unbelievable , the book’s quick pacing makes it easy to overlook the cheese-factor. I find it hard to be too critical so long as you pick it up and know exactly what’s in store for you. I could seriously go on and on about how crazy this book is but I’ll spare you all and sum it up in a few words: The action. Nonstop. The characters. Amazeballs. The story. Gut-punching. In short, this is like the Die Hard of the book world—utterly ridiculous but explosively fun!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Per page this book gives you more explosions, gun battles, falli

    Per page this book gives you more explosions, gun battles, falling of cliffs and other misc awesomeness than any adventure writer I've read. And I love the main characters of the series, Eddie Chase and Nina Wilde too. Both flawed and both somehow charming and totally relateable to. I'm a big fan of Wilbur Smith's adventure novels (he does great bobby-trapped ancient tombs and gun battles too) but what's nice about this book is that it's even more fast paced than those. I've collected the whole series, I'm definitely a fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Great Book

    I have been trying to find someone who writes in the style of Clive Cussler and Andy McDermott is pretty close. If you like action and adventure, then this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    I loved this book. I loved the references to Plato - just enough historic facts to make you wonder. I looked up the Plato reference and it is still questioned. Scholars are not sure if he was joking or being truthful to this day.
    It made me instantly buy the next book in the series. I wanted to read more and see what adventure would be next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Loved the action and adventure!

    Great series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Very good action, the characters are believable. Enjoyed the book so much I am going on to book two of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Totally awesome!

    This author makes it hard to put a book down. He draws you into the story and takes you on a rollercoaster ride of adventure. I look forward to reading all his other books. I just wish I had found hin sooner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Action and Adventure abound

    What would happen if James Bond met well ... a famous female archeologist. There is a lot of action and intrigue with some interesting plot twists. Some of the fight scenes are described in gruesome detail. This sometimes detracted from the story for me. I Think I would prefer Mack Bolan over this work however the exploration of ancient mythology and legendary places was interesting.

    I just think Percy Jackson is more entertaining in that venue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Great adventure!

    This was my introduction to these characters. I thoroughly enjoyed the interaction between characters. Roller coaster adventure ride. I will definitely pick up the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Juvenile and sloppily written

    I'm all for fantastic adventure tales but this one is lazily written, a blatant ripoff of plots and characters of more worthy authors, and much of the banal plot lacks any shred of logic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Ripped from another

    Put the book down, and it stayed down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    For those who thrive for action and adventure, this is a must read!

    This is an amazing book and i love the entire series! But because we all have different opinions, you can only read it for yourself and make your own decission on whether you enjoy it or not. Best wishes to all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    Let Down

    I just finished this book. I feel let down, any of you that have read any of David Lynn Golemon, will feel this is a rip off of his book. The plot and caracters made me feel like I was reading 'The Ancients' all over again, but with just differant names. A waste of time.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Highly recommended

    hard to put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8