Customer Reviews for

The Hunt for Red October

Average Rating 4.5
( 366 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(263)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

'He constantly taps the current world situation for its imminent dangers and spins them into an engrossing tale.' -New York Times

The Hunt for Red October in this Clancy tells the story of a run away sub from Russia. This sub is special because it has a caterpillar drive, allows a submarine to move through the water silently and making it almost impossible to be tracked with sonar. Captain Marko R...
The Hunt for Red October in this Clancy tells the story of a run away sub from Russia. This sub is special because it has a caterpillar drive, allows a submarine to move through the water silently and making it almost impossible to be tracked with sonar. Captain Marko Ramius is the man responsible for taking the Red October on the first voyage. His intent is different from that of his mission. He intends to take Red October and hand it over to the Americans. Clancy does a great job describing each of these events and I think that is his best equality of writing. Clancy is a great writer and everyone should give this book a chance.

posted by Anonymous on January 10, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Surprisingly Detailed.

I watched the motion picture some years before I read this piece. As always, the book is better than the movie. Clancy's apparent knowledge of submarines, the Navy, the Military and the USSR is impressive. The details that he provides add to the authenticity of the stor...
I watched the motion picture some years before I read this piece. As always, the book is better than the movie. Clancy's apparent knowledge of submarines, the Navy, the Military and the USSR is impressive. The details that he provides add to the authenticity of the story. I have not verified all of the information that he provides in this work. However, as a former submarine sailor, I appreciate his depiction of life aboard an undersea vessel. Clancy adheres to the plot and does not add any unnecessary elements. The novel reads more like a report on international relations than like a maritime drama. It is a well written and informative tale.
However, the plot does not flow consistently throughout this composition. Some of the segments seem out of place. The storyline is excellent, but Clancy obviously places more emphasis on accuracy and detail. In fiction, this is not absolutely necessary. I give it 3-1/2 stars.

posted by Cush on July 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 368 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    GACK!

    Hate to say it but the book of "The hunt for Red October" SUCKS BIG TIME! The book has NOTHING in common with the movie, and it just rambles on and on.... I thought Steven King was bad? Tom Clancey TIES him. Was a total waste of an upload. I in no way blame Barnes & Noble. It's not their fault these dunderheads can't write.

    Sorry for such a bad review, but had to tell t he truth!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Classic techno-military!

    Hard to believe Clancy is already gone but this book will be around for a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    The Hunt for Red October is a gripping novel that captures the r

    The Hunt for Red October is a gripping novel that captures the reader's attention from the first line. The novel settles on a CIA analyst Jack Rayn who is trying to find the most dangerous submarine in the world, the Red October. Throughout this novel the points of view shift aroun. Thediffernet points of view help the reader understand what the protagonist, antagonist, as well as what the minor characters are thinkinking. Also every time the points of view change it will always change the reader's mind of who is right. Hamza S. Period 5/6

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Broken to Sparrow

    CONTINUE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Ravenclaw

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Sad day....l

    RIP Tom Clancy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Great book

    Read this a number of years ago and still love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    My favorite

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Great book

    I really enjoyed it. Very suspenseful. I saw the movie years ago and did not remember any of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Excellent read (again)

    I read the book years ago. I then saw the movie at least twice. As a result forgot details of the book. It was a good read. The book ended (the second time)up better than the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Techno thriller, no character development.

    If you're looking for for deep character's and exploration of the human experiment this book is not for you. If you're in the market for cheap thrills and a well researched technology driven novel thats hard to put down, this one's a good choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding!

    I love the Jack Ryan series and this is one of the best books in the series. If you want to read them all, I would suggest reading them in chronological order: it makes the suspense that much better :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    A great story!

    This is a great example of an author that doesn't quite immerse you into the look and feel of things, yet the story is fun to read, and, I think, very enjoyable from the turn of the first page to the last.

    This isn't quite as nice as reading a fiction novel such as The Lord of the Rings, for example, but feels so real, and you can imagine this scenario as actually happening in 1984.

    Incredible detail and addictive realism.

    Tom Clancy has created his own virtual genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Fantastic Read

    Superb work of literature. However, I am unsure of the order of the Jack Ryan books. Dose anyone know?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Its a great book

    Its a good book all in all but at parts it really intersting! But then it drops of as boring as my english class. And they go into explaining stuff way to much. Like the sonar on one of usa's subs really boring. But i would recomend this book to anyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Jonayjan room

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2012

    This book is a page turner and keeps you reading til the end; th

    This book is a page turner and keeps you reading til the end; that is if
    you make it to the middle of the book. Otherwise you might just get lost
    and give up on reading this book overall. You must have a lot of
    patience to get through the first half.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Possibly my favorite book

    This is Tom Clancy's first book, and he has already perfected the art of writing action novels. He tells the story of Red October using a perfect blend of action and very in-depth descriptions of ssubmarine warfare. Based on a true story-- he got the basis for his story by talking to people and getting information about a Russian nuclear submarine we have in our possesion-- Clancy has truly made a remarkable tale of th sea.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    Classic cold war thriller!

    Clancy is the gold standard when it comes to cold war thrillers. I saw the movie adaptation years ago. The adaption of this for holwood was of course more flash and glitz. This book defines the meaning of nuance and the intricacies of intelligence services.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 368 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 19