Customer Reviews for

The Hunt for Red October

Average Rating 4.5
( 362 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(261)

4 Star

(71)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

'He constantly taps the current world situation for its imminent dangers and spins them into an engrossing tale.' -New York Times

The Hunt for Red October in this Clancy tells the story of a run away sub from Russia. This sub is special because it has a caterpillar drive, allows a submarine to move through the water silently and making it almost impossible to be tracked with sonar. Captain Marko R...
The Hunt for Red October in this Clancy tells the story of a run away sub from Russia. This sub is special because it has a caterpillar drive, allows a submarine to move through the water silently and making it almost impossible to be tracked with sonar. Captain Marko Ramius is the man responsible for taking the Red October on the first voyage. His intent is different from that of his mission. He intends to take Red October and hand it over to the Americans. Clancy does a great job describing each of these events and I think that is his best equality of writing. Clancy is a great writer and everyone should give this book a chance.

posted by Anonymous on January 10, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Surprisingly Detailed.

I watched the motion picture some years before I read this piece. As always, the book is better than the movie. Clancy's apparent knowledge of submarines, the Navy, the Military and the USSR is impressive. The details that he provides add to the authenticity of the stor...
I watched the motion picture some years before I read this piece. As always, the book is better than the movie. Clancy's apparent knowledge of submarines, the Navy, the Military and the USSR is impressive. The details that he provides add to the authenticity of the story. I have not verified all of the information that he provides in this work. However, as a former submarine sailor, I appreciate his depiction of life aboard an undersea vessel. Clancy adheres to the plot and does not add any unnecessary elements. The novel reads more like a report on international relations than like a maritime drama. It is a well written and informative tale.
However, the plot does not flow consistently throughout this composition. Some of the segments seem out of place. The storyline is excellent, but Clancy obviously places more emphasis on accuracy and detail. In fiction, this is not absolutely necessary. I give it 3-1/2 stars.

posted by Cush on July 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Surprisingly Detailed.

    I watched the motion picture some years before I read this piece. As always, the book is better than the movie. Clancy's apparent knowledge of submarines, the Navy, the Military and the USSR is impressive. The details that he provides add to the authenticity of the story. I have not verified all of the information that he provides in this work. However, as a former submarine sailor, I appreciate his depiction of life aboard an undersea vessel. Clancy adheres to the plot and does not add any unnecessary elements. The novel reads more like a report on international relations than like a maritime drama. It is a well written and informative tale.
    However, the plot does not flow consistently throughout this composition. Some of the segments seem out of place. The storyline is excellent, but Clancy obviously places more emphasis on accuracy and detail. In fiction, this is not absolutely necessary. I give it 3-1/2 stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2013

    What's more Russian than a Scotsman? I first discovered ¿The Hu

    What's more Russian than a Scotsman?

    I first discovered “The Hunt for Red October” when the late, great Tom Clancy, informed me that the source material would be converted to film in the summer of ’89. When he explained that none other than Sir Sean Connery would play a crucial part, I immediately grew red in the face and hurled my glass of scotch into the fire quite dramatically. Regretting that impulsive act, I poured myself another glass, much larger than the first. When Tom inquired why I reacted so violently, I hurled that glass into the fire as well. Sit back, dear readers, and prepare to be aroused and astounded.

    When I first met my ancient nemesis Sean Connery, we were working together on a film called “The Highlander.” I was of a particular help because I’d written a poem in 1965 about a Scottish man trapped in the body of a Portuguese sailor. It won no great accolades, mostly because one couldn’t read it without weeping uncontrollably. 

    After we wrapped each night on the Isle of Skye, Christopher Lambert, Sean and myself would go down to a local public house called The Sheep’s Shaft and drink scotch, sometimes for days at a time. It was disastrous for the production, but a proper scotch diet tends to break a few eggs. Then one fateful night, Sir Connery became my eternal nemesis forever. I couldn’t say what happened for certain, but I awoke the next morn, fully clothed at the rail station with a frightening message scrawled on the palm of my hand:

    “Show your leathery face on the moors of Scotland again, Eric Jonrosh, and I’ll cask your headless corpse in a Scotch barrel. Warmest Regards, Sean Connery”

    As delicious as that might sound, I took heed of the threat and never returned to that peaty bog of a country. Now I am forced to buy my scotch by the can.

    So it stands to reason that Mr. Connery would make a perfect Russian turncoat submarine captain. And I daresay he nailed the performance in “The Hunt for Red October.” I imagine he just played himself. Likely because he couldn’t conjure a Russian accent to save his malty skin. He would have made a fine Winston Morehouse in my retelling of the heartbreaking epic “The Spoils of Babylon,” airing on IFC this very January the 9th, 2014. Alas, Mr. Connery is approximately 900 hundred years old, so, I cast the uber-talented Marty Comanche instead. He too is now my eternal nemesis.

    Warmest Regards,

    Eric Jonrosh, spellbinding creator of “The Spoils of Babylon,” airing on IFC, January the 9th, 2014

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Made into a movie

    By the end of the book I was bored by all the technical stuff. At first it was interesting but it went on too long.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ultra detailed thriller still holds up!

    Clancy's first Jack Ryan novel is so detailed I'm pretty sure I could pilot a Russian submarine. Its pretty amazing some of the knowledge that he was able to attain and included in the novel in a way that fit in and didn't read like a manual. The cast got too huge at times but overall a good book, just a little dense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2008

    Okay

    I think that the book The Hunt for Red October by Tom Clancy was an alright book. A lot of parts were confusing and it didn't have a lot of good parts in it. Tom Clancy in this book was not able to keep my interest. There is a lot of boring parts that made me want to stop reading. Some parts were interesting but then it would be fallowed by a boring part. One change I would make is take out some of the details that are not necessary. Some parts of the book would loose my interest because it would keep going on with details. This change would make the book more enjoyable. I didn't really learn much from reading this book. I Wouldn't recommend this book to anyone because it is not fun to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2006

    Not as Good as People say

    I was a little disappointed with this book. Everyone went on and on about how good it was but i thought it was just ok. Some people said that there was nonstop action but there was only a little bit at the end. It is a believable story and the plot is good but some parts just seemed to drag on. I was very close 2 only giving this 2 stars. The only reason is because of the realistic way he writes about a game of cat-and-mouse and the realistic plot. Overall, you could probably read this but at the same time, you could skip it too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1