Customer Reviews for

Hunt for the Skinwalker: Science Confronts the Unexplained at a Remote Ranch in Utah

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Superstitions: They begin from somewhere.

I thoroughly enjoy this book. I am a native of the area and to finally have someone put this down in writing was exciting. As a youngster we all deal with superstition and are taught not to ask why. We tend to think our older people are just crazy to say things. Nat...
I thoroughly enjoy this book. I am a native of the area and to finally have someone put this down in writing was exciting. As a youngster we all deal with superstition and are taught not to ask why. We tend to think our older people are just crazy to say things. Native people are taught to respect all forms of life and know that there is evil and unexplained whys. I feel this book gives everyone an oppurtunity to know that there still is an explaination for the traditions and superstitions that are in everyone's life, no matter what origin they are from.

posted by Anonymous on March 17, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Hunt for the Skinwalker: Science Confronts the Unexplained at a Remote Ranch in Utah

This book reads like an introduction to all that is strange in this world. The book was interesting cover to cover, but it fell short of what it could have been. For example, why was the chunk of the first wolf not collected? Why was the 'don't dig' instruction not fu...
This book reads like an introduction to all that is strange in this world. The book was interesting cover to cover, but it fell short of what it could have been. For example, why was the chunk of the first wolf not collected? Why was the 'don't dig' instruction not fully questioned? Why weren't the remains of the incinerated dogs investigated? Why was the previous ranch owner allowed unsupervised access to the property throughout the investigation of his claims? Why shoot at human-like figures that did nothing more than hide in trees and bushes at night? These questions expose some very un-scientific and poor forensic behavior if you ask me. The authors seemed to purposefully do more to perpetuate the paranormal mysteries, all while promoting other paranormal experts, than they did to answer any questions. This book plays on fear of the unknown and has a hook for virtually everybody. Throw a pile at the wall and see what sticks. This is a good marketing technique and I am sure the authors and publishers a laughing all the way to the bank.

posted by Anonymous on January 11, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    Hunt for the Skinwalker: Science Confronts the Unexplained at a Remote Ranch in Utah

    This book reads like an introduction to all that is strange in this world. The book was interesting cover to cover, but it fell short of what it could have been. For example, why was the chunk of the first wolf not collected? Why was the 'don't dig' instruction not fully questioned? Why weren't the remains of the incinerated dogs investigated? Why was the previous ranch owner allowed unsupervised access to the property throughout the investigation of his claims? Why shoot at human-like figures that did nothing more than hide in trees and bushes at night? These questions expose some very un-scientific and poor forensic behavior if you ask me. The authors seemed to purposefully do more to perpetuate the paranormal mysteries, all while promoting other paranormal experts, than they did to answer any questions. This book plays on fear of the unknown and has a hook for virtually everybody. Throw a pile at the wall and see what sticks. This is a good marketing technique and I am sure the authors and publishers a laughing all the way to the bank.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    EBOOK FONTS NEED TO BE FIXED

    This review is solely for the ebook. All text is centered instead of having words align with the left and right sides, so when the fonts are enlarged only 1 or 2 words appear at the center of each line. This looks awful and I will not buy this ebook unless the problem is fixed. I reported the issue to Barnes & Noble last week, but so far nothing has been done to fix this.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    Interesting but hard to take at face value

    A compendium of crazy, dangerous and unexplainable things that kept happening on this Utah ranch. But how much are we not being told, and why no follow-up to certain things? Examples: (1) the no digging demand of the previous owners - what are they hiding? It's not reasonable to think that there shouldn't be digging on a ranch; (2) The Zen-like bulletproof wolf who runs off and disappears into thin air (3) the prized bulls that were mysteriously moved to a small, locked trailer in the span of a few minutes;(4) The WWII military pilot with the same last name (Gorman) as the ranch owner - what's up with that? (5) the vandalized cameras where another running camera recorded nothing; (6) the message "we are watching you" - this sound a little like paranoia. So many of the events were the testimony of the ranch owner, so this always begs the question of validity. Even the scientists seemed to be prone to emotional interpretations, such as the black monster coming out of the tunnel. Like so many of these accounts, these events have a certain disconnected, dreamlike or delusional quality about them. They make no sense at all, and this should require a more rigorous investigation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    Superstitions: They begin from somewhere.

    I thoroughly enjoy this book. I am a native of the area and to finally have someone put this down in writing was exciting. As a youngster we all deal with superstition and are taught not to ask why. We tend to think our older people are just crazy to say things. Native people are taught to respect all forms of life and know that there is evil and unexplained whys. I feel this book gives everyone an oppurtunity to know that there still is an explaination for the traditions and superstitions that are in everyone's life, no matter what origin they are from.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Best ufo book

    True or not this was a great read. One of the scaryst ufo books i have read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    Fascinating. A treat for anyone interested in the paranormal.

    I thought this was an excellent book. Not only was it well researched, but written well. The stories of events at the "Gorman" ranch are the kind that really make you wonder what is going on out there in the world, but also will have you on the edge of your seat. Creepy, but thoroughly enjoyable. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    Hunt for the Skinwalker: Science Confronts the Unexplained at a Remote Ranch in Utah

    This book reads like an introduction to all that is strange in this world. The book was interesting cover to cover, but it fell short of what it could have been. For example, why was the chunk of the first wolf not collected? Why was the 'don't dig' instruction not fully questioned? Why weren't the remains of the incinerated dogs investigated? Why was the previous ranch owner allowed unattended access to the property throughout the investigation of his claims? Why shoot at human-like figures that did nothing more than hide in trees and bushes at night? These questions expose some very un-scientific and poor forensic behavior if you ask me. The authors seemed to purposefully do more to perpetuate the mysteries of all this strangeness, all while promoting other strangeness experts, than they did to resolve any questions of it. This book plays on fear of the unknown and has a hook for virtually everybody. Throw a pile at the wall and see what sticks. This is a good marketing technique and I am sure the authors and publishers a laughing all the way to the bank.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Interesting

    Interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Recommended for people interested in UFOs

    This book deals with the "outer fringes" of UFO lore. Are there other
    dimensions, inhabited by non-human entities, which we encounter as they pass through our world?

    The family which lived on this remote Utah ranch was finally driven
    off by these encounters. An excellent book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    An excellent book

    This is a must read for anyone interesting in what is generally called 'the paranormal'. There are two aspects of this book that interwoven: the reporting of the original families experiences and the subsequent experiences and findings of the NIDS team once they arrived. Other reviewers have quite properly raised the question of proper evidence evaluation at the ranch. But most of the 'missed opportunities' occurred prior to the arrival of the NIDS team. NIDS did an outstanding job of investigating this area. For those who follow the thoughts of John Keel (among others) who believes there are 'windows' around which a whole variety of paranormal events may occurr, this book will be a great read. If you are wanted to just dip a toe into the paranormal stream this would be an excellent starting point. No speculating, no hysteria, just reporting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2006

    Intriguing

    An excellent read. Highly entertaining and thought provoking at the same time. I really don't understand why someone would buy land that has a house on it with bolts on both sides of the doors (kind of screams that somethings wrong), but I really liked the encounters they related. It was a little hard to understand the scientific part, but the theories they related were interesting and stimulating. It would have been nice if some definite answers could have been drawn, but I guess that's why it's called unexplained phenomena. I read it in a few hours and then all my sisters wanted to read it. I still haven't gotten it back!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2