Customer Reviews for

Hunted (House of Night Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2957 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1999)

4 Star

(625)

3 Star

(223)

2 Star

(58)

1 Star

(52)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

House of Night!! Read it and love it!

I am one of those girls that loves every book that involves fantasy and folklore-vampires,dragons,witches,werewolves, fairies, ect- I have read the Twilight series, Harry Potter, all of Tamora Peirce's books, The Blue Bloods series and any book imaginable involving fic...
I am one of those girls that loves every book that involves fantasy and folklore-vampires,dragons,witches,werewolves, fairies, ect- I have read the Twilight series, Harry Potter, all of Tamora Peirce's books, The Blue Bloods series and any book imaginable involving fiction. This series reminded me of Twilight only because they both involved vampires, The House of Night series was more mature, had more developed characters, harder more elaborate plots and did a good job with it's invented religion. I received this series on Christmas Day, four days ago and already I have completed it along with another vampire series. I tried to slow down as I read them in order to savor them but found I could hardly put any of the books down for more than a couple minutes. If you like fantasy and fiction then this series is definitively for you. If you read Twilight or Blue Bloods and wanted more romance and emotion then this series will have you reeling and thirstily awaiting the next book.

posted by Thirsty4more on December 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

UGH

This book is not what i expected it to be. I had thought the boy trouble was over but i was wrong. Shes back with eric who i dont like anymore idk why he just seems annoying to me now. Shes back with heath who reminds me of an annoying fly that doesnt understand what no...
This book is not what i expected it to be. I had thought the boy trouble was over but i was wrong. Shes back with eric who i dont like anymore idk why he just seems annoying to me now. Shes back with heath who reminds me of an annoying fly that doesnt understand what no means. And shes in love with stark, who she kisses while she goes out with the same two guys AGAIN. And then we have the dude with wings who i forgot his name who wants zoey. Then she has a bad feeling bout stevie rae and even aphrodite told her about stevie rae and shes to darn stuborn to listen... ugh zoey what am i gonna do with u??

posted by mrsluver on August 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 223 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointed

    I enjoyed the first four books, but the last one was disappointing. I was hoping it would have a more developed plot. I was annoyed that Zoey has yet to make a decision about her love triangle. Afte a while, it just feels like it is just being drawn out... its hard to pick a character to root for when she keeps hopping from guy to guy. I find myself slowly losing respect for the main character Zoey... it's like c'mon, enough is enough. How can you possibly love four different guys? If the whole love triangle thing doesnt get resolved by the next book, I'm going to stop reading. I'm hoping that they will get rid of the annoying meat head Heath. I am definately a fan of Erik Night. Also, I am beginning to find Zoey's character a little airheaded which is frustrating. She is constantly saying things like "OMG, like I can even stand to do that" etc. In my mind, she is suppose to be a strong minded young teen that has been chosen specially from the goddess Nyx, so having her talk like a valley girl with a low IQ just ruins that persona for me. I'm not trying to be a negative Nancy, but I just hope the next book is a much better improvement.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Zoey is a Disappointment!

    I fell in love with the House of Night Series this past winter, I anticipated Hunted, and couldn't wait to see what would happen with Zoey and her gang. I couldn't believe how Zoey's character didn't progress in the book but regressed! What I liked about Zoey in the first few books was that she was a strong character who seemed pretty with it, however in this book, it is as if she lost her mind! I believe more emphasis should have been placed on Zoey's heritage and the importance of how the various characters were needed at the end to dismiss Kolona. However, Zoey was more concerned with falling in love with yet another boyfriend. How in the world did Zoey fall in love with Stark when they had about 3 conversations together and he shot her best friend to raise Kolona from his imprisonment? Zoey keeps stating throughout the book that she isn't a "skank" well the way she is acting and treating men, she is, whether she wants to believe it or not.

    I would have also liked to see more emphasis on the development of the other characters, the Twins, Damien, Jack, Erik, Stevie Rae and Aphrodite. Aphrodite's character was the only character who progressed at all in this book, the other's remained stagnant.

    This is an easy light read, but if you wanted some more depth of the characters I suggest rereading the first 4 books in the series instead of this one.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book didn't accomplish anything...

    ....except give Zoey one more guy to worry about. None of the questions posed by the last book were answered, the plot was thin and predictable, and the fact that Zoey is always fretting over guys is getting a little annoying. The story could go in a very cool direction, but as an avid reader, it seems that the author is trying to spread the plot thin enough to keep the story going, when in reality, the characters could do that. I was very disappointed in this book, as I loved the others in the series.I must always keep in mind, though, that these were written for teens and I am 30. Enjoy!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What i think.

    I became hooked after reading the second one. And the only reason i really did like it was because I just badly wanted to know what was going to happen next. I didn't read it because i thought the witting was good, no.
    Because the witting for this book was as if a 6 grader wrote it. The character Zoey is really not bright and makes the same mistake over and over again. But when she makes the same mistake she hurting people around her. The sad part is I do like her friends but she is horrible to them. When someone was really not doing good in this book, she was asking if she really had to stick around and watch her get healed. ARE YOU KIDDING ME! Gosh, and how she over and over and over again walks all over every single guy that likes her! And they always like her again.

    I don't really know, I just liked it but didn't like it at the same time!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    House Of night Series

    When I first started the series, I loved it, and kept waiting for more and more books to come out. Now on the fifth book, and soon the sixth, I have to say, I'm getting tired of it. The main character, has around four or five love interests throughout the whole book, and it's exhausting. Her human boyfriend is annoying and I wish he would just drop dead or something. All in all, i feel like the whole story is going on forever, and it's not as much fun to read them anymore. The only thing pushing me on is that I have to know the ending. Haha.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointment!

    i was hooked on the house of night series, and was super excited to get ma hands on the 5th book. i cant believe i paid 20 dollars for a crappy book like this. i mean don't get me wrong, the entire series was AMAZING! i love it so much! this is ma top series on my reading list. but HUNTED was a huge disappointment. first of all the boy drama lasted way too long. its getting real old and it needs to stop! its just getting childish. 3 guys that she's in love with? this book should have focused on her fighting evil and becoming a high priestess instead of finding new ways to kiss her 3 lovers. The story was dragged out way to long. there was some unnecessary chapters that were pointless. but i guess she wanted to keep the book going. it is addictive but not the best as in the other 4 books. plus the ending ended way too quick. i expect the ending to be fantastic and full of excitement but it left me bored. i hope the next book TEMPTED come out much better than HUNTED.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Love the series, but could leave this book.

    I will come back for the next book, but was really disappointed in this book. I had a hard time staying with the story line, because I am so tired of Zoey and her inability to pick between the two guys. She has been going back and forth for two books. I hope she picks one at the beginning of the next book and grows up and finds her strenght inside of her.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2009

    Too Immature

    I have followed this series since it came out, and I have to say the previous books in this series were better written than this one. I think that the authors "dumbed down" this book, and I didn't like it. The whole time I was reading it felt like a cheesy gothic version of Clueless; pretty asinine.
    As far as the character development...I didn't like the way they depicted Zoey in this book; she was basically acting like a boy-crazy flake the whole time. It definitely detracted from the whole "future high priestess" track she had previously been on. I understand that the authors may have been trying to connect with the teens who read these books, but in my opinion most would rather read about a heroine they can look up to.
    All in all, this book was a quick read; good for some mild entertainment, but definitely not the best book in the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My Least Favorite of the Series so far...

    I like this series, I really do. But I liked the first three books the best, the last two have been disappointments. In my opinion, the series is not as strong as Twilight - but still a good, fun read. Hunted, however, was my least favorite of the series so far. And is it just me, but it seems too rushed and busy. Like the last two books have each taken place in a 12-hour time span, with little-to-no slow down. Seriously, when do these kids get to sleep? There was just so much going on with this book; first they were in the tunnels, then back at the school, then together again, then alone, then back outside. It was too busy. What I liked about the first two books was that we got more insight into Zoey really thinking things through. And I'm all for suspending my belief system for books (i.e: reading about vampires), but the fact that Z could rise in the ranks so quickly, make so many enemies and carry such clout and power in a few short weeks is highly unbelievable. Let's remember that it was only book 3 that had Z's B-day in it on Christmas Eve.

    Zoey and her boyfriends. ARRGGGHH! This is getting so very tiresome. In my opinion (and in my perfect world) Heath would be gone, history, only to be referenced and not heard from or seen again. The bad turn in the relationship (or non-existence of one) with Erik seems too forced by the authors in this book. I didn't see his need to kiss and be with Zoey as possessive. Rather, I felt that the authors were trying to make the audience think that with Zoey's thoughts, but the actions weren't matching. They're together, she wants him back, he wants her, he kisses her, she thinks he's too aggressive and pushes away; Repeat again two chapters later. Over and over it went. Stark; what can I say. I knew he would be coming into the picture, but the love-triangle is turning into a love-pentagon now with Kalena, Heath, Erik, Stark and Zoey. It's just too much! I'm not sayign she needs to choose one and settle down, but choose one to get to know, and stop stringing the others along.

    Overall, I was initially excited for this book to be released. The previous four had kept me entertained enough that I was excited to see what would happen. But after this one, I'm not that excited for Tempted, which is due out in October. I'll still read it, but I won't be staying up late to get through it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This series always leaves me feeling unsatisfied

    Although I like this series ok the books are way to short.
    Truthfully she could have put all 5 books into 1.
    I will probably read the next one even though I know it will be just as short and unrewarding.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    House of Disappointment

    After reading the twilight series, I thought this would be the perfect book to read because it was more vampire and romance with a different twist on things. But I was disappointed. The authors try way too hard to have this "love triangle" with the boys Zoey is dating,but it just makes Zoey utterly annoying. Chosen was the absolute worst because Zoey was so annoying and went off and slept with a guy while she was already dating two. I thought the books would get a little better (and they did get a little bit) but I only am reading these books because my friends are making me. I also find the endings predictable. All Zoey has to every time they are in a problem with like any bad guy, she just calls the elements and then it is all better. And what is annoying is that it takes her 300 pages to figure out all she has to do is call the elements again. Sorry, but this book didn't do it for me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My Least Favorie of the Series

    "Hunted" is by far my least favorite book in the House of Night Series. The story was okay but seemed drawn out and thrown together. The writing is very sloppy in this book and has many errors that should have been caught in the editing phase. However, it was a fun read and has made me wonder where the Cast girls will take Zoey and her friends next. I do hope that the next book will be more adventerous and heart stopping. This one just didn't do that for me.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    Seriously Suckish

    I had such high expectations for this book. But it went all downhill. Zoey turns into a selfish spoiled slut. Erik becomes a mean guy who pressures for sex. Everything changed for the worse. The plot was almost nonexistent and unorigional, and also boring. The big buildup for a vampire war withers away to nothing. Definately the worst book I read this year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Book was good but got annoying.

    I liked the book, I thought that it was really good. But I just don't believe the storyline where Zoey would have every hot guy after her. First Eric, Heath, Kaloma and finally Stark. I mean give it a rest she has to choose one. They are not all going to be okay with the fact that she wants all of them. After awhile I just got annoyed with all the guys falling over themselves or fighting each other because they want Zoey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointing

    After the 4th book called Untamed which was so climatic Hunted was a huge let down. Yea her boyfriend drama is interesting but it took up too much of the story in this book.The ending was so unsatisfactory.Lets hope the sixth one is as good as the other four cause if it continues, I'll just have to find a new series which is sad cause it started off as a really good one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    ...

    I enjoyed the fifth book. It was entertaining and addicting. However, I can't help but be annoyed at all the drama surrounding Zoey and her many guys.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    lovin the series

    I am way to old for this, its not like Twilight where it could be for all ages, this is totally teen stuff, and im totally into it...
    sometimes it gets waaay too 'going on 13' for me but I suck it up.
    very quick read. if you want an escape/like a little Twilight action with romance and vamps, read these. and if your in your twenties or older like me, just embrace the tween still in you and you will LOVE them!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Hunted

    I've read this book already it took me 1 day...I thiught it was ok but kinda a let down compared to the others. I still want to see what happens in the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    ...

    good series only dislike is that they are all have very similar ending except untamed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Pot meet kettle

    Can you say hypocrite much Zoey? I mean she & the nerd heard are always calling Aphrodite slut, ho, skank ect... when really it's Zoey that needs to take a look in the mirror because she's the only one that fits that discription.
    I really hope that her being a slut has something to do with the plot in long run because it's really not enjoyable to read about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 223 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12