Customer Reviews for

Phantom (The Vampire Diaries Series: The Hunters #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 369 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(141)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(90)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

Its worth a try

i love this series and i will still read the new ones and the new author is still going to stick to the love triangle plot i think there at least worth giving a try.

posted by dd081393 on June 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

44 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Never read the series again!!!!!!!!!!!!

If it's not by L.J I will NOT read it. I do not think it is ok for someone to take her glory!!!! I will spend no more money on the series and will no longer watch it on t.v. Thanks for ruining it for me and so many other fans!!

posted by agurtofamily on June 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Never read the series again!!!!!!!!!!!!

    If it's not by L.J I will NOT read it. I do not think it is ok for someone to take her glory!!!! I will spend no more money on the series and will no longer watch it on t.v. Thanks for ruining it for me and so many other fans!!

    44 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    Not Going to Read it-LJ got fired for trying to but want i want most in the book

    Im not going to read it. Not only because they fired LJ Smith, but because of why they fired her. They fired her because she kept putting Damon and Elena moments in the rough draft. They didnt like that and she wouldnt take it out. And the Damon Elena moments ARE THE ONLY REASON I READ THOSE BOOKS!!!!!! So im not going to read them anymore. Ive now switched over to the Vampire Diaries TV show, where there is going to be a whole 3rd season full of Damon and Elena moments!

    19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    thats messed up!!

    seriously? really....come on now. how are they going to take something that lj smith wrote and try to now pass the new series off. really people? Do you honestly think that readers arent going to throw a fit? that would be like firing stephine meyer and trying to write new books to go along with series. even though its a worldwide masterpiece the fans read the books for a reason. the fans dont just fall in love with the books and the stories but they fall in love with the authors. fans like me that when i search for new books i search for authors. i dont google vampire diaries. i google lj smith. let me just say to the people who thought they could take her work away from you....your really f'ed up! you made a huge mistake and you will be hurting right where it hurts the most. financially!!! because the fans are going to bocott the new series and your not gonna make squat!! sure some people will prolly by the book just to see what happens. however, you will be losing millions. let us know how that works out for you okay?!

    17 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    DONT READ THIS SORRY EXCUSE FOR VAMPIRE DIARIES!!

    this is a sick excuse for a vampire diaries novel! how DARE they go and have sonme sorry excuse for a writer make this and then HAVE THE NERVE to put ljs name on it!!! it is HER story so she can do whatever the hell she wants and write whichever way she would like to end it!!!! you know why she can do that! because it is hers! i thought we lived in america where you have rights to your own book at the least!!!! i say NOONE SHOULD READ THIS BOOK, that way the company will lose money and be forced to give her the rights to her own story and let her end it the way she freaking pleases! i hope none of you smart people that read this once fantastic series go and waste your money on this piece if trash!! so you know what F U Harper collins because you can go to freaking hell! going and taking someone elses story, your writers and workers are a sick excuse for human beings, only being greedy and thinking of money, not caring that you are taking awayb someones precious lifeswork, and losing millions of fans because of it, and THEN HAVING THE NERVE to use her name on something l.j DIDNT WRITE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    12 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    Craziness

    I keep seeing people who say that this book was written by L.J. Smith. Here's the deal, she wrote the manuscript, but Alloy hired a ghostwriter to completely rewrite it. Some of her writing may or may not be in the book. However, what is for sure is that she does not get any say as to what happens in the book or any money from the sales. All future Vampire Diaries books will be written by the ghostwriter and have NONE of L.J.'s writing.

    She will be writing a book called Eternity: A Vampire Love Story. This book has NOTHING to do with the Vampire Diaries. It is completely different characters and plot. Not a reworking of anything related to the Vampire Diaries.

    If anyone still feels like they have a different understanding of this issue, it is best to check her official website. That is where I got all of my information.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Shocked and torn...

    Vampire Diaries was my first real long book I read as a kid (I'm now 20). I was so proud of myself for finishing it since I was one of those kids who had trouble reading. But this book and the world it created for me kept me engrossed in it. I'm extremely sad that L.J. Smiths creation was taken from her. She put a lot of work creating this series and for them to take it away is just wrong on a epic scale.
    From some of the comments that I read "Stefan" fans like this "NEW" author because they felt that Damon and Elena weren't right together. Personally it's the authors choice who ends up with who. If it was Damon who first appeared in the book you'd probably all be Damon fans. I'm a Damon Fan and even though I like Stefan too I felt Damon should be with Elena. I was really excited that it seemed the book was headed in that direction. I will not be buying this book due to it's not L.J. Smith creation, it's been stolen and ripped from her. To writers their stories are like their children, they're precious. So true L.J Smith Fans should stick by the writer's side.
    (No offense to the New writer I'm sure you do good work. I just think that L.J Smith came up with the story and should finish it.)

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    The publisher is just in it for the money now....

    For those who claim that LJ must have "handed over" the / her rights in order for the publisher to continue the series...not true. LJ explains in detail on her website that she was in fact commissioned by the publisher to write this series back in the 1990's which means they own the right to the story and did in fact fire her. Furthermore, according to LJ, she did submit a manuscript for this most recent book prior to being let go and so some of this most recent work (written by someone else) may contain some of those original ideas. It is also true that LJ had intended to bring Elena and Damon together in the series and move on and branch off to other characters. The publisher, wanting to milk the series for all it's worth money wise wanted to continue the triangle with Stephan being the eventual winner. Truly sad when books are continued past their natural conclussion for the sole purpose of making money which is the case here. Read the new ones or not .... but know the facts.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Don't read the book L.J. Smith did not write them. She had a pla

    Don't read the book L.J. Smith did not write them. She had a plan for them and the publishers just screwed her over and they took away the ending I always wanted for their friends. The publishers just made it all Stelena. If you respect L.J. Smith then don't read the book so, the publishers would realize they made a mistake.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    Very Disappointing!

    First of all L.J. Smith did write this book, however it was rewritten by a ghostwriter. This "ghostwrite" must have not read the original books, or she just skimmed through them. There are a few things this is writer has changes.

    1. They changes Meredith's last name.

    2. At the end of Midnight: when Damon woke up, he didn't know who he was, but because he had a lock of golden and a lock of red hair, he remembered he had to get back to them. Then he remembers his name is Damon. Now, in the beginning of The Phantom, he once again has no idea who he is.

    3. Damon, through the whole series seemed to have a soft spot for Bonnie, however in this book he seems to not pay any attention to her and just pats her on the back or head when she tries to hug him. He always called her "My little red bird" or "My redbird" now it's "the redbird" "the witch" or "Bonnie".

    4. Stefan and Damon's roles have switched in this book. Damon is more broody and Stefan more reckless.

    5. At the end of the book, when they are purging their jealousies, Stefan had choosen a dark blue candle to represent him. Later his candle went from dark blue to dark green and then back to blue.

    6. If you are a Stelena fan or a Delena (yuck) Fan, then you will probably enjoy this book. I don't know why people are saying LJ Smith got fired because there was a lot of Delena moments, when this book has plenty in it.

    7. If you are a Bamon fan (like me) then you are in for a lot of disappointment. There is no Bamon action, except for two parts. One where Bonnie kisses his cheek and says she's happy he came back, his response was to pat he on the back and then walk away because Elana needed him. The other time, was at the end when Damon made a confession and Bonnie hugged him, his response - ignore her with just a pat to the head.

    This book seems was never proofread . How could a "professional" writer (ghostwrite) make as many mistakes, change certain characters and their feelings. Not to mention the little yet noticable changes as mention in number 5 above, seriously I had to reread that a few times in the book.

    I doubt I will purchase the next in the series, just because I do not like the direction the series has taken. I will read a few chapters when they are available to to feed my curiosity.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Stolen From L.J. Smith - Do Not Read!

    L.J. Smith's own series was stolen from her! Do not read. Loyal fans should boycott. It is completely unethical to steal a writer's creation. I will not be reading this book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    deceptive

    I do not like the fact that they are using L.J. Smith's name on the cover instead of just being up front that a ghost writer is writing the books now. I think this is ridiculous and deceptive of the publishers to but her name on this title. Barnes and Noble even has her listed as the author when in fact she is not. Smith states on her website that she is not writing the books after Midnight because when she submitted the actual Phantom story the publishers rejected it and has a ghost writer redo it. So this is not the true story from L.J. Smith. Check out her bibliography for the books she actually wrote.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Different author, different story

    DON"T READ THIS BOOK. This book was not written by L.J Smith, her publishers took the series away from her and gave it to another writter to continue. Please do not support this by buying the book. It's not even really the Vampire Diaries anymore. This is L.J Smith's series and it will never be the same without her writting it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    DO NOT READ SUPPORT LJ SMITH

    Bollocks Im not reading it. She wanted Damon and Elena together the darn company didnt like that so they sacked her!!! Their ratings are gonna drop like a bomb. Worst mistake they did

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    NOT WRITTEN BY L. J. SMITH!!!

    these books are not written by L.J Smith. L. J smith got fired from the vampire diaries, because she wanted the story to end differently. but publisher's didnt like it so they fire her. her last book she wrote was the vampire diaries the return: MIDNIGHT. so if you are a true fan dont buy any of these books.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Will not buy.

    Simple as it is. L. J. Smith had something great planned but will never get to write and publish the rest of her ideas for the Vampire Diaries for us. Because of this I will no longer buy the books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Kerfuffle

    I acutally havent read this book....... but APPERENTLY it sucks ass.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Suckish

    L j smith didnt write this book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    I WILL NOT READ THIS!!

    I read a couple of pages and it sucks!!!This person changes everything about our fav. characters and their personalities!!And no no Bamon!!!!WHAT???It is sooo not fair what they did to L.J Smith!Im sooo sad, how is this fair??The book makes no sense since she changed so much of everything.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    ok so this book was not the best. it could have been better. Ele

    ok so this book was not the best. it could have been better. Elena's attitude made me want to just slap her. i don't like how bonnie suddenly gets this new boyfriend because I'm a fan of Bamon (bonnie and damon). Also bonnie was just too self conceded. the days go by too quick for me, i felt like at the beginning of the book it was ok but by the fifth chapter or so it was like a month into the story. SPOILER kinda: i didn't like how Elena just keeps going on and on about how she just loves stefan and goes and does what she did. i wish she would just get herself straight.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Most of the people who give this book 5 stars are people who hav

    Most of the people who give this book 5 stars are people who haven't read the book and are just people who are excited to read it. THIS BOOK is awful along with the other ghost written books that were NOT written by L.J. Smith. Its sad that once a great series turned into something so bad. Its sad that Alloy entertainment puts LJ smith in the author section to trick the readers this is her work. But it isn't the ghost writer has talent but i doubt they believe in the ending of this book. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5