Customer Reviews for

Phantom (The Vampire Diaries Series: The Hunters #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 301 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(78)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

36 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

Its worth a try

i love this series and i will still read the new ones and the new author is still going to stick to the love triangle plot i think there at least worth giving a try.

posted by dd081393 on June 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

46 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

Never read the series again!!!!!!!!!!!!

If it's not by L.J I will NOT read it. I do not think it is ok for someone to take her glory!!!! I will spend no more money on the series and will no longer watch it on t.v. Thanks for ruining it for me and so many other fans!!

posted by agurtofamily on June 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    I'll read it- theirs hope

    I understand why alot of Vampire Diaries fans-myself included- are angry that L.J is no longer writing the books. Although, I don't know about you guys but i'm interested in how this story ends. I've read all the books from start to finish- i'm not going to stop now. And for the record I liked Phantom it was reminiscent of the original trilogy- almost realistic. I think that the ghostwriter is trying his/her best to live up to L.J'S name. Not reading the book isn't going to change anything that's happened L.J is not going to magically start writing the books again. Why punish someone that did what their employers told them? I respect everyone that decides to not read this, they have a right to an opinion, but so do I. I hope no ones offended. I've just been wanting to say this for a while. :) Happy reading everyone!

    28 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    This book IS my LJS

    Yes, this next series was taken from LJ Smith and given to a ghostwriter, but the first book, Phantom, IS written by LJ Smith, just not the second two. She says it on her website. So try reading it anyway.

    But yeah, it's ridiculous what Alloy did to her.

    23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    It was ok

    It wasn't that bad. It was a good book if you are a fan of damon and elena getting together, but a bad one if you want bonnie and damon together because they way it was written it looks like that is done and over. All damon cares anout now is keeping elena safe which I think is totally sweet. If you are fan of sefen and elena you guys are gonna be suprised by stefens behavior I know I was. It was an okay book but not one I really liked the ghost writer did an "okay job" I guess but it lacked the real depth and feeling that you usually get from this series. I am personally gonna finish the series but not really because I want to.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Disappointed

    What made this book series great wasn't just the love triangle between Elena, Stephan, and Damon. It was how descriptive and well writen the story was. The book just seems little off with the different style of writing than the ones i was used to. I like the plot of moonsong but i wasn't into the book like all the otger series.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    Ok Read

    This book was not as exciting as the first series, which when I started reading I could not put down. This one had some low points that just dragged on and seemed like they didn't need to be even in the story. Hoping that the next book will be a lot more exciting like the first book series and the television show. If you stay true to the main plot of the story, the books shouldn't be boring.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    It doesn't say the book was written by L.J. Smith it says "

    It doesn't say the book was written by L.J. Smith it says "created" by... I am sort of glad they changed authors these books were getting weird and it was getting harder and harder to finish each book. Do I think it's right that they change authors? Not really because I think it's unfair to the original author but it is what it is and Smith knew when she started writing that they could take that away from her at any time...soo what can you really do?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2015

    Sex

    Anyone looking for nook sex? 14 yr old brunnete brown eyes tall skinny long legs tan. Reply to turtle

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2015

    To candy

    Hii

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Vampire diaries

    Its alright not my faverate

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    its definitly a guy on the front, just saying i know someone com

    its definitly a guy on the front, just saying i know someone commented on the manly eyebrows before

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Just maybe

    Just gotta say i love the vampire diaries even more than the next person but you see i dont think this book really mixed well with the others it just wasnt as fufulling as when l j smith wrote the books but it was alright i will definetly read the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    Good but not my favorite

    This was a good book but I found it to be a little more predictable than others. I'm glad I read it because I love this series and I can't wait for the next book release, but this was not my favorite in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Look here.

    Notice that L.J Smith did not write this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Like if u agree

    This book was ok it was th last one writen buy lj smith i am
    going to iss elana with damon she loves him so much

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    what do u mean take the damon/elena moments out?

    OMG Damon is the reason that i stick with this series. i hate Stephan. I don't hate him just the fact that he is with Elena. Damon is obviously the one that should be with Elena. God they are just turning this series into a Twilight wannabe. Which frankly the twilight series isn't even that well written. ugh I definitely will NOT be buying these books. Sure I might check them out or something but i won't be spending money on them.

    Not only that but what they are doing to L. J. Smith is NOT okay. This should not even be legal.

    p.s. i read somewhere that this first book was still written by L. J. Smith so ill make the rating a... three. but because im not sure i can't be certain that im really rating HER book. if it was the original author and HER ideas it would have been a 5.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Nono

    So far i havent read it i will but im so so mad they killed of damion i cried and if he doesnt become alive again and get with elenA i will stop reading this serious and if i dont like this book im boycotting this serioys in my head! Of course hahaha still mad bout it thou

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    L.j. Smith DID write this

    L.J. Smith gave her publishing company a draft of this book before they fired her. It is not known how many changes they made to the draft, but the basic story is written by her. DON'T BOYCOTT IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    ???

    So if this is supposed to be based on the tv show (which is only on like season 3 or 4) and the show doesnt follow the books, and its at the part where klaus is in it in tv show, and klaus appears in like the 4th book, and this book is supposed to tell what happens after like book 7(sorry i dont have the exact number just giving a close guess as to what numbers they are) and follow the book at the same time?Doesnt make any sense and btw to the people who are saying they wont read it anymore because they killed off damon (cried my eyes out) if u continued reading u would have found out that hes not exactly dead dead, like he wakes up kind of, not really sure how it just says he does so keep reading!(apologies for the spelling and text language)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    I am excied but some say its stupid!?

    Omg i cant wait to read now i am not so sure after the reveiws

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Where's Damon

    First off let me start by saying that I'm team Damon. with that being said, whether LJ is writing the book or not, I'm still going to give it a try because there is such a thing as 'return policy'. ::SPOILER ALERT:: the last book left off with Damon awakening on the smallest moon, and the summaries of these books tend to pick up where the last book left off, in addition to mentioning the main plot... but here it just kind of mentions that Elana dreams about him. I know they can't give too much away, but I hope he comes back somewhat early in the book because I love him and Elena together!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3