Customer Reviews for

Hunters & Prey

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Continuing a great series!

    Immortalis Hunters & Prey is the second book in the Immortalis series by author Katie Salidas. After reading her first book, Immortalis Carpe Noctem, I had expected great things also from the second book. I wasn't disappointed. The second book tells the story of how new vampire Alyssa breaks the rule of revealing herself to a mortal. Through a few unfortunate circumstances, she ends up back at the coffee house where she used to hang out as a mortal and runs into her old friend Fallon. After revealing herself as a real life vampire to her friend, she puts both herself, and Fallon in extreme danger.

    The book moves along at a good pace and kept me interested, wanting to find out what would happen next. Alyssa was a bit heavy on the loner attitude, though. I found myself wishing a few times that she would have relied on more help from the other vampires in her clan. But Alyssa is a well defined character, and as such, she did what you would expect her to do, which was to try and rush to her friend's aid all by herself. I did enjoy this book, and look forward to reading the third book in the series as soon as I can get to it. If you like paranormal stories, vampires, or even just a great book, this one comes highly recommended! Definitely five stars!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2013

    Another Gripping read by Katie Salidas... A friend of mine loane

    Another Gripping read by Katie Salidas... A friend of mine loaned me book 1 a while back and I have been hooked. My review on this is quite late as I knew nothing about reviews really when I did read this book. In this book Alyssa is being hunted by hunters and when she is isolated she does what she knows best. She hides in plain site. She goes to a familiar haunt of hers and runs right smack into her BFF Fallon. She was already having a hard time with the rue that she could never see Fallon again. Now she knows she just can't do that. But now that they are face to face Fallon makes Alyssa tell her where she has been. This leads to Alyssa admitting that she is a Vampire. It is against Vampire law for a human to know the truth about them.

    Now not only does Alyssa have a very big and very strong hunter after her. Now she also has to keep her Best Friend alive.

    I loved this. I love Katie's writing. This is such a gripping series you really don't want to put the books down because you just want to know what is going to happen. As soon as you are done with one you are ready to dig in to the next. I highly recommend reading this book but you definitely want to read book 1 first. This is not a stand alone book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Hunters and Prey (Immortalis, Book 2) (Immortalis Vampire Series

    Hunters and Prey (Immortalis, Book 2) (Immortalis Vampire Series)
     by Katie Salidas




    This review was originally posted on Big Al's Books and Pals review blog on December 7, 2012








    Hunters and Prey is book two in the series. ‘Rule number one: humans and vampires don't co-exist. One is the hunter and one is the prey. Simple, right? Not for newly-turned vampire Alyssa.’ 




    Alyssa finds she’s done more than just broken vampire law reconnecting with her human best friend, Fallon. In a surprise confrontation with Santino Vitale, the Acta Sanctorum's most fearsome hunter, Alyssa and Fallon become unwitting pawns of a new enemy. The Peregrinus Clan tentatively join forces with Santino in a precarious truce to battle the Acta Sanctorum's new army of hybrid creations ‘the Frenzy Soldiers’.




    Trouble seems to find Alyssa every direction she turns and her priorities are confused, muddled and chaotic. I am not sure whether it is immaturity, stubbornness or her humanness that is the problem. I suspect it is a bit of all these things. She is flawed and I find that both endearing and frustrating at the same time. Lysander is one very patient vampire, I am glad he feels like he has found his mate with Alyssa. He certainly has his hands full and I have enjoyed watching their relationship develop.








    The plot has good pacing and I found the story line unique. There is a lot of action with some unexpected turns and several bloody battle scenes. Although, we didn’t meet any werewolves in this book, Alyssa and Fallon now know of their existence. I am intrigued enough to continue this series. 




    FYI: Contains adult language and situations.




    Format/Typo Issues: No significant errors.




    **Originally written for "Books and Pals" book blog. May have received a free review copy. **




    **** Four stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    What a fabulous follow up to Immortalis Carpe Noctem! This book


    What a fabulous follow up to Immortalis Carpe Noctem! This book follows off near from the end of book one and takes you on a wild ride. Alyssa and Lysander, vampire mates along with their fellow clan members are up against the Acta Santorum and a vampire hunter of nightmares named Santino. They race against the clock to outsmart the Acta Santorum, and what they find is shocking.

    An amazing sequel! Loved how Alyssa has matured in this one, not so whiny like in book 1 but more of a head on her shoulders. Alyssa and Lysander make a hot couple for sure. Their clan is amazing and add to the humor immensely. Bloody and the fight scenes are awesome. Definitely a series to follow!

    I received this book via Top Shelf Book Tours for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Series

    Alyssa has slowly learned to come to terms with the fact that she is now an immortal. Lysander has taught her that she can't reveal herself to others. That she mustn't let on to her friends and family that she still lives - to some extent, anyway. Yet part of her cannot deny that she yearns to co-exist within the human world.

    As Lysander continues to instruct her on the do's and dont's of the supernatural world, she comes to accept the changes that have been wrought upon her and is determined to blend in with the new world around her. Yet that's easier said than done as troublesome situations seem to follow wherever she goes. As she comes face to face with one of the Acta Sanctorum, she realizes that Santino is quite the formidable character whose determined to put an end to every undead he comes across.

    A skirmish soon breaks out and catapults her to the one place she shouldn't be. Guilt consumes her, for she knows she's inadvertently placed her best friend in jeopardy by revealing who and what she now is. While a human is not supposed to know about the supernatural world, Alyssa can't deny that Fallon is her only source of safety. The Acta Sanctorum won't advance while she's in their midst. Yet even that is not guaranteed.

    With her world now in limbo and her friend's life in the balance, Alyssa knows that she and the rest of Lysander's coven need to stay one step ahead of their adversaries. One wrong move and it will surely cost them their very lives. Despite this, Alyssa is determined to keep what rightfully belongs to her while to trying to stay in one piece.

    Totally enjoyed the next installment to the Immortalis series. Katie's writing is amazing and kept me riveted to every turn of the page. I truly recommend this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I <3 vampires!

    In book two, Alyssa is firmly entrenched in her role as a ¿dark angel¿ that administers justice by killing the ¿bad¿ guys. She even makes sure her prey feels every bit of torture they deserve. What intrigues me about this line of philosophy is that I remember clearly Ann Rice having a female vampire that just took off and dug into the ground to sleep and never worried or feared for anything. I always wondered where that would go but she never explored that concept. I think Salidas¿s book is doing that and I¿m happy to read along. The story moves forward and I enjoyed the it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Addition to this Series!

    Hunters & Prey by Katie Salidas was a fantastic addition to this series. Alyssa is having repeated nightmares about their worst enemy, Santino, who belongs to the Acta Sanctorum. This group wishes to rid the world of vampires, deeming them monsters and killers. Lysander brushes her dreams off as stress related, that is until the enemy hits a little too close to home.


    While Alyssa is hunting, Santino confronts her sending her running for safety. Fearing he would follow her, she doesn't want to lead him to their home putting the rest of the clan in danger. She has no choice but to flee to the very Cafe' she was forbidden to return to.


    Now involving her best friend Fallon, trouble has only just begun. When Fallon is kidnapped at the hands of the enemy, Alyssa risks everything to save her, including her life. What they never expected was to gain help from the very man they feared. Who will be the ones to make it out alive?


    Salidas did a great job with this installation. I loved that we saw the enemy with no choice but to help out Lysander and the clan. There were plenty of twists to keep you turning the pages and you were left wondering if new vampires would be created and who would still be alive in the end. The best part was how much we see Lysander's and Alyssa's relationship grow, her now deeming the right to her standing in the clan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great story

    I really enjoyed the first in this series. See review here. And I was looking forward to reading this second novel in the series as soon as I finished the first. And I am really glad to say I was not disappointed.

    The series is well written and has a great cast of characters. I admit I love the vampire mythology and all the ways that it can be altered to create different worlds. I really think Katie has a great start to a new world for us all to enjoy and I am looking forward to more.

    We get to watch Alyssa and Lysander's relationship grow a bit more in this one and see how she really has developed as a vampire from the first novel. We see how she is influencing him and almost bringing him back to some sense of mortality. It seems like he was at the point of barely existing anymore before she came along. We also get to learn more about her best friend from when she was mortal and I'm glad to see she will be sticking around awhile as well.

    One of the bad characters from the first book makes a reappearance as well - Santino. I don't want to spoil the story and say what happens to him. But I think he is a pretty interesting and complex character as well. Hopefully in the future we get to find out more about his backstory.

    As its only the second book, there is still quite a bit we don't know about the world they are living in. But I am anxiously awaiting the third novel to continue along with these characters. Too bad its not out until 2012. But don't worry there are no cliffhangers to worry about waiting for the conclusion too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun quick UF romance read.

    Months since Carpe Noctem's end with the battle with Santino the head hunter for the Acta Sanctorum and miraculously Alyssa and Lysander walked away with their heads on their shoulders. Alyssa in sow plagued with day mares of Santino coming for her along with the haunting memory of how close she was to death at Santino's blade. Alyssa has the feeling these day mares mean something... that Santino is alive and stronger than the clan believes, but not one truly believes her. Alyssa gets spotted by her enemy while feeding and runs. Not wanting to danger her clan, old habits kick in and Alyssa goes to a human packed place for safety, Cafe Copioh ~ her old hang-out. She is spotted by her best friend before she could leave, a rule broken by Alyssa that could cost her her live or others too when the new threat is unveiled.

    I enjoyed this book more than the first book. Both the books have been quick easy reads for me and the pages turn so easily and quickly. We had Alyssa still being the strong headed girl she is. And not she didn't strike me as whiny as she did in the beginning of the first book. She has come a long way as a character for me. And I enjoy her with her mistakes and all now because she does have good intentions behind what she does, she just makes a few errors in quick judgement. Who doesn't? She has grown to be a stronger character mentally, and working on physically too.

    We meet the Peregrinus clan in the first book, and I really liked them. And they are here in this book as well. They are a nice group of people to give more support, one way or the other. And we have Lysander again. Mmm, he is such a nice man for Alyssa. ;)

    This book does have the romance aspect to it as well. Alyssa and Lysander is a couple working through their different ways, together ~ or trying even though he is the clan leader. And we have more action as Alyssa finds herself in trouble and their are fights happening.

    The story takes a change to it with Santino and the new Frenzy Soldiers that they learn about. Interesting how things work that people just might need to work together...

    I did enjoy this book, and would like to read the next in the series as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Hunters & Prey

    from Murphy's Library - rated 3 and a half there

    I wouldn't say that Alyssa is feeling fine as a vampire in Hunters and Prey, but she is definitely feeling better than she was in Carpe Noctem.

    The second book in the Immortalis series was, in my opinion, an improvement on Katie Salidas's writing. The story catches the attention of the reader and picks our curiosity. That was my main problem with the first book in the series: I didn't feel any connection with the characters, because they are all so closed off. That changed. The characters are much more open now!

    The relationship with Lysander grows and both have changes caused by the other. It is almost funny to see it. Alyssa is more comfortable with being a vampire and Lysander more. human, in a way.

    One of the bad guys makes an appearance-I already liked Santino-and we got some interesting facts about him in this one! I loved how the action and the conflicts are better developed in this book.

    Fallon, Alyssa's human best friend, has an amazing part in this story. I finally got the connection with Alyssa that I was waiting for and now I can't wait to read the next book in the Immortalis series-and it isn't because the reading was just enjoyable.

    Congratulations to Katie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Sequel

    The second installment of the Immortalis saga, picks up after the Peregrinus clan has clashed with enemy vampire Callisto and the corrupt religious sect, the Acta Sanctorum. While hunting, heroine Alyssa encounters their enemy Santino, thought to be dead, and becomes haunted by visions of him. Despite her lover/maker Lysander's assurances, she can't shake the feeling that Santino has somehow survived. Her fears are soon realized, and Alyssa finds herself the protector of her mortal friend, Fallon, in a life or death struggle with the evil mastermind behind the Acta Sanctorum, Quentin. Alyssa then discovers that Quentin has been engaged in some not quite so saintly experiments involving vampire blood that has created an army of bloodthirsty zombies. Santino, distressed by his master's unholy army, joins forces with the Peregrinus clan and together they battle Quentin and his ghouls.

    The character of Alyssa grows stronger in this installment. I admired her determination to help her friend, even against the wishes of her clan. It was good to see her stick to her guns and stand up to the formidable presence of Lysander for the first time, proving that despite her love for him she's no pushover. This book is a fast-paced, sexy and entertaining read, with generous helpings of action, blood, and romance. Alyssa gets to kick some serious butt, and she and Lysander dial up the sexual heat a few times. As with the first book in the series, I enjoyed the Vegas setting and how the author uses it in her story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    Must Buy Must Read!

    Hunters & Prey is my 3rd book of Katie Salidas. And I must say she doesn't disappoint me. Her other two books were short paranormal erotic novellas and she hooked me from there. So when she contacted me and asked me if I'd be interested in reading "Hunters & Prey" I immediately agreed. Now as GCR followers, you guys should know I am NOT really into paranormal books. But I must admit with Katie Salidas along with another author has lured me into the genre. And to my surprise, I'm really enjoying the genre =)

    So in Hunters & Prey you have Alyssa a fairly new vampire that is roughly adjusting to her new life while missing lots of things of her mortal life. Mostly including her BFF Fallon. As how else to welcome her into this new life but to have conflicts with a strong hunter. Someone out to kill vampires. After a huge blowout, they come face to face again. And not knowing what to do Alyssa runs back to her old hangout spot and bumps into her BFF Fallon. Where she has to explain her whereabouts and such, which ended up in a confession as to what she really is: a vampire.

    But by revealing to a mortal that she's a vampire she breaks the law. No mortal should be part of the immortal world and vice versa. Little did Alyssa know that by revealing her new identity she sets up Fallon for nothing but trouble. And that's where the action begins.


    I read this book in 3 days. I would have read it quicker but I have a child that demands too much attention. This is a great read. I love how Alyssa and her clan pulled together through all the drama. Yes certain members in her clan gave her grief like "Nicholas" (He's my favorite character. I LOOOVEEE his personality) but everything is done together as a family. I just loved this book. If I keep on talking about it, I'd probably give spoilers and that's the last thing I wanna do. Katie has turned this paranormal book to fit today's views and she just lures you in. This is definitely a "Good Choice for Reading". So if you're looking for an action packed paranormal book then you must buy this book. You won't be disappointed. I give this one a 5 out of 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    A tantalizing tale

    The tale of the newly turned vampire Alyssa continues in Book 2 of the Immortalis series. When Alyssa breaks the rule of allowing people to know of the vampire's existence, she finds herself at odds with her clan which could not come at worse time as the Acta Sanctorum is poised to attach once more.

    What I appreciated in Book 2 of this trilogy is the growth of Alyssa's character and she continued to struggle with leaving her old life behind. Her way of maintaining an aspect of her humanity by feeding on those who had harmed others was a nice touch. The Acta Sanctorum acts as an excellent nemesis with unsettling hunters and hybrid creatures that would fit in with any of the recent horror movies.

    All in all, Book 2 was both intriguing and exciting and I am looking forward to the final chapter in this trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    Another hit from Katie Salidas!

    Katie Salidas has done it again with the new released sequel to Immortalis Carpe Noctem, Hunters and Prey. When I began reading the new book by Katie, Hunters and Prey, I was a little bothered by the similarity between the way Alyssa chose her victims and how Nicholas Cage's character in Ghost Rider punished his victims. Nicholas punished 'bad' people by making them feel the pain of their victims. In Hunters and Prey, Alyssa chose her 'blood source' by taking blood from only those who had harmed others in some way, and the victims felt the pain they had imposed on others. But as I read more into the book, I found it would not have worked any other way and I give her kudos for that. It gave Alyssa a compassionate side as a vampire. In Hunters and Prey, Alyssa, breaks a rule by making herself known by entering a 'cafe she frequented as a teenager with her best friend Fallon. This sets the stage for the rest of the book. She finds she has to be rescued more than once by her beloved Lesander and the clan. Especially when her daymares about an old nemesis from Immortalis Carpe Noctem, becomes real. I have to say once again, it was a book I could not put down, and am looking forward to the next chapter in Alyssa's adventures as a new vampire. Katie breathes life into her characters and as a reader, I found myself enthralled in the world she created in Hunters and Prey. I hope Katie keeps Alyssa around for a long time. Katie has added a extra treat at the end, a preview of the next book in the series, "Pandora's Box". This book is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1