BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hunters of Dune (Dune 7 Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

a good continuation of Dune

Brian did a good job picking up where his father left of. if it has been a while since you have read the original Dune series, reread heritics and chapterhouse before you read this.

posted by Rik_C on April 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Lame!

The original Dune books were awesome! Frank Herbert was a great story teller... Brian Herbert and Kevin Anderson - not so much. One reviewer already said most of this book seemed like filler material, and I completely agree. I read the prequels and was disappointed. ...
The original Dune books were awesome! Frank Herbert was a great story teller... Brian Herbert and Kevin Anderson - not so much. One reviewer already said most of this book seemed like filler material, and I completely agree. I read the prequels and was disappointed. I avoided Hunters for a long time because I knew the authors couldn't write better than a 14 year old... but decided to give it a chance because I was curious to see how F. Herbert outlined the ending of the story. I don't believe he meant for the story to end as BH and KJA have writtten it. It's just cheesy. The chapters switch off characters and every time you return to a character you feel like you read the exact information in the last chapter about them. Where is the deep plotting? Where is the epic story telling? Where is the emotion? Where are the intelligent thoughts? I should have know better from past experience (prequel novels). The bad thing is I'll read the next darn Dune book just so I can finish the story! But that is because i'm loyal to F. Herbert's amazing tale, not because I give a care about BF and KJA.

posted by Anonymous on January 22, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2007

    Lame!

    The original Dune books were awesome! Frank Herbert was a great story teller... Brian Herbert and Kevin Anderson - not so much. One reviewer already said most of this book seemed like filler material, and I completely agree. I read the prequels and was disappointed. I avoided Hunters for a long time because I knew the authors couldn't write better than a 14 year old... but decided to give it a chance because I was curious to see how F. Herbert outlined the ending of the story. I don't believe he meant for the story to end as BH and KJA have writtten it. It's just cheesy. The chapters switch off characters and every time you return to a character you feel like you read the exact information in the last chapter about them. Where is the deep plotting? Where is the epic story telling? Where is the emotion? Where are the intelligent thoughts? I should have know better from past experience (prequel novels). The bad thing is I'll read the next darn Dune book just so I can finish the story! But that is because i'm loyal to F. Herbert's amazing tale, not because I give a care about BF and KJA.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    A Commercial Disappointment

    I was sorely disappointed. I know the authors said that they had no intention of mimicking Frank Herbert's style but as I read I could not help but think how they commercialized the series. In the end, what should have been a wonderfully intriguing and satisfying close to an enthralling and provocative series seemed to be nothing more than a drawn-out excuse for someone to get more money.<BR/><BR/>This story was apparently meant to be told in one book, with no help from any prequel novels. The narrative should have been compact, pushed forward by social commentary and final revelations. For me, the book failed even to maintain the spirit of the earlier series. As a Dune fan, I was insulted by it. Still, read it and draw your own conclusions. I just wanted to vent.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2006

    Dune-tastrphy

    I am a fan of both the prequels and the original six books written by Frank Herbert. I took the prequels as a fan-based fiction, even though his son wrote them, it was nice to see how 'Dune' evolved from the beginning. I appreciated them for that - but nothing more. Frank Herbert was the greatest sci-fi writer of all time (at least in my opinion) so it would be impossible to replicate his writing. However, Brian and Kevin don't seem to have much talent for writing a complex story. The prequels complimented original Dune books as a backdrop to where Frank began Dune. However, Hunters of Dune feels and reads cheesy, watered down, and flat. I was expecting more from the authors than they delivered. They couldn't pick up where Chapterhouse left off...they tried, but I think banging out a novel per-year over such a complex story will only result in a crappy outcome. Which it is! I hate bashing Brian and Kevin's work on Dune (they get enough crap for their attempt) cause it was a massive undertaking - but so is being TRUE to the details and story. But it's not the end of the world, and even though I don't really like this one, I'd still read more dune books. Besides, the originals will always be here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2006

    Where did all this come from?

    The original six Dune novels were monumental without question. But the six prequels... well, not so much. Hunters of Dune did not seem to flow with Chapterhouse. The book's ending is completely out of place. Hunters is not a continuation of Chapterhouse, it is a continuation of the six prequel series. Several things in the plot contradict facts that were set in place by the original Herbert. I found myself asking why Dune7 was stretched out into two books. Many of the chapters in Hunters seemed to be filler material and Anderson and Herbert could definitely have condensed it all into one novel, thereby saving us all a good deal of money and headaches. Supposedly, this book was based on the outlines left by the original Herbert. It would've been far better for B. Herbert to have published those outlines. That way, we could have drawn our own conclusions instead of dredging through cheesy and b-grade material like Hunters.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2007

    Just Finish It

    None of the Dune novels by Brian Herbert or Kevin J. Anderson can hold a candle to the originals by Frank Herbert. These books were written for the sole purpose of milking money out of a popular franchise much like how the 'Star Wars' prequels cannot match the original triology. All these books lack the subtle nuances, religious and philosophical themes, and deep political scheming that made the originals so great. Everything has been 'dumbed down'. The only reason to read these is for the self-satisfaction of saying you've read every book in the series.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1