Customer Reviews for

Hunting Eichmann: How a Band of Survivors and a Young Spy Agency Chased down the World's Most Notorious Nazi

Average Rating 4.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Meticulously Detailed

    This book could quite easily be used as the basis for a spell binding movie or as a series of spy thriller books. The research is amazing, every little detail is covered, from Eichmann's backround and escape from Nazi Germany to his abduction in Argentina and trip to Israel. Reads more like fiction than fact-fast paced and suspenseful.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    Couldn't Put It Down!

    Eventhough I knew the outcome, it was absolutely a nail biter! Very well written, and extremely detailed. All of the characters were human and at the same time, larger than life. A must read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Compelling Post WWII Read

    Fabulous background research leading up to how the search started and the journey and people who were involved along the way. Very compelling. It is also told from Eichmann's perspective as well, and how he came to rise to such power within the Nazi regime. After reading this, the book "Red Orchestra" is a related topic, as it is the story of Nazi Resistance by German Youth.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    Justice for Eichmann and Israel

    In the last days of the Third Reich,SS Lt. Colonel Adolf Eichmann, the operational manager of the Final Solution to the Jewish Question, shed his Nazi uniform and vanished. Fifteen years later, agents of the Mossad, the Israeli secret service, captured him in Argentina. The author has written a very exciting readable narrative of how Eichmann escaped from Germany and was eventually found, captured, smuggled out of Argentina and brought to trial in Israel. Eichmann's story provides interesting insights into the Nazi killing machine, Israeli's struggle for relevance and the terrible personal burdens carried by Holocast survivors.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    FABULOUS

    This was one of the best books I have read in a long time. It was thrilling from the first paragraph until the remarkable, and true, ending. Masterfully written. When I finished the last paragraph, I wanted to start reading it over again. I've since recommended this book to several friends all of whom agree - it's a fabulous read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    SUPERBLY TOLD ACCOUNT...

    I SAW THE AUTHOR INTERVIEWED ON C-SPAN & I WAS IMMEDIATELY
    "HOOKED".
    I CONSIDER IT ONE OF THE BEST NON-FICTION BOOKS EVER, IT UNFOLDS
    BETTER THAN MANY "OSCAR"- WINNING MOVIES.

    I HAVE "GIFTED" IT TO MANY RELATIVES AND FRIENDS--SUFFICE IT
    TI SAT IT HAS ITS OWN "FAN CLUB."

    THANK YOU A THOUSAND-FOLD, NEAL BASCOMB.!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Haunting.....

    This is one of the finest books I've ever read. A true page turner. The historical accuracies alone are enough to keep the reader's attention. What kept my attention is that everything is true. Knowing more of the Iraeli involkvement made me proud to read how they abandoned their desire to kill him ang bring him to Israel to stand trial.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    I was born 10 years after WWII and with my Catholic Education we

    I was born 10 years after WWII and with my Catholic Education we just didn't study that much about WWII. So of course I was in 1st grade when Eichmann was captured. So now 50 years later I decided to read about the capture. I was not disappointed. The author does paint a picture of Eichmann the man and what he did in the concentration camps. I think after 15 years that Eichmann was sick of running and almost welcomed capture but insisted to the end he was just following orders. This was an excellent book for someone wanting a bit of WWII history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    Awesome reading!!!

    This book is a page turner and cannot be put down once you start. It details Israel's plans to kidnap one of the most infamous persons in modern history. It is a compelling look of how the plans were made and carried out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Very Well Written Account

    This is a excellent account of the trackin and capture of Adolf Eichmann by the Mossad. The book does a great job of explaining the characters involved, the unfolding of the operation, as well as the capture. It reads like a action novel, yet all of it is true. It is easily the best book that I've read on this subject. A must read for anyone interested in the story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2014

    Highly informative and interesting

    Had never really been interested in reading ww2 history per se but this book kept me captivated from the start I was in the first group of baby boomers and remember growing up while these events were taking place. I am sorry now that I had no interest for so long

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Compelling!!

    I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    a need to read.

    To the people that say this did not happen need to check this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Reality better than ficrion

    The author has written story that takes us back more than 50 years ago, and is not only informative and interesting, but above all good to read. I give him top marks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Recommended reading

    The book do tell the story as it was,it was a hard time and many fine people put in a lot of long hours in the hunts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    engrossing

    A true life detective intelligence thriller!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Glued to the story!

    Couldnt put it down, well written and heart wrenching

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Fawnheart

    Nods then picks up jer fresh kill.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Excellent!! I cannot say enough about how riveting this book was

    Excellent!! I cannot say enough about how riveting this book was to me. I couldn't put it down! Fantastic read for even those who're not interested in military or spy novels. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Fantastic

    Reads like a mystery/adventure novel, but so much better! Since reading this, I've given copies to a lot of people as gifts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3