Customer Reviews for

Hunting Eve (Eve Duncan Series #17)

Average Rating 4
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Blazepaw

Hunting.

posted by 9063823 on July 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Celeste

Wants to invent a slap in the face machine

posted by Anonymous on April 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    SO MUCH MORE DISAPPOINTING with each new EVE BOOK THAT COMES OUT

    SO MUCH MORE DISAPPOINTING with each new EVE BOOK THAT COMES OUT. If I were Jane, I would RUN not walk and never try to find Eve. How many times can you use the phrase "adopted daughter" before it becomes repetitive???? and when does adoptive daughter EVER EVER become daughter??? My Joe, My Jane MYMYMYMYMY Frankly I have been wondeering time afer time
    why I keep buying this series. IT keeps getting worse. I guess I kept HOPING that the author would actually take the time to read her own books and SEE WHAT WE SEE in the characters. AND NOW she has taken - at least in the last six books of chopping a book before a proper ending thereby forcing you to buy yet another if you want to get even a little closure. REALLY????? have you sunk that low to think we may not buy your book otherwise? You have taken a good character, good premise and turned it into...what man would want her and what child would want to be "adopted by her" I wish you would stop mass producing and really put some care into your characters and stories...you did ONCE UPON A TIME.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    I'm not sure why I keep buying these books.  The characters of E

    I'm not sure why I keep buying these books.  The characters of Eve, Joe and Jane are so lame.  I have read every book in the Eve Duncan series and don't feel any closer to these characters.  I also don't feel the closeness that Eve, Joe and Jane are supposed to feel for each other.   I thought in Taking Eve and Hunting Eve things would be different.  No, it's just more of the same repetitive verbiage.  I am all for strong, independent females but I think Ms. Johansen takes it WAY too far with her characters. I want to read more about Catherine.....  It may be time to find a new author to read.  

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    This was a waste of time and money. Both books one and two of t

    This was a waste of time and money. Both books one and two of this trilogy are at least half full of repetitious stories from previous books. I am fairly sure any new material could have been combined into one novel.

    I think the Author has gone overboard with her "special powers" characters and this drops her credibility as a crime/mystery writer to more of a fantasy writer.

    I am not sure I will even bother with #3 and while I have read all of her books I may have to say goodbye. I have many friends who abandoned her a long time ago for these same reasons.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    great series

    I follow all of her Eve Duncan books. I really enjoy them. Good reading

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Too long!!

    I really enjoy this series. I've followed this character from the beginning and was looking forward to the sequel to Taking Eve.

    But this book dragged. And dragged. Only to turn into a trilogy.

    Very disappointing!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Really Really??!!!

    Way too slow and repetitive. Get real with these endings, very annoying!! Will not buy another one.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Love it

    You cannot go wrong with any of Iris Johansens books!! I like to be wisked away when I read and she does this in every book. Please keep them coming.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Definite read

    Wow! Didn't see that ending coming!
    I couldn't put book down.
    Can't wait now to read next one - Silencing Eve.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    SnowPaw

    She nods, Going into pouncing position. She waited and her paws sprang off the ground and pouncing.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended!

    As always Iris Johansen delivers on a fantastic story line, edge of the seat suspense. She never fails to capture me and doesn't let go until I finish the last page, even then I am held captive until I find the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    LOVED IT!!

    While a lot of people don't like trilogies, I don't mind, and I adore the Eve series and all of the "spin-offs." I love how Ms. Johansen has brought back characters from previous story lines to show the love they all have for Eve. I love the introduction of the new character (who I will not discuss for spoiler reasons).

    I have not grown tired of this series. I love the plot line, and I found the story very exciting. But the again, I love a good cliffhanger!

    Thanx for another sleepless night Ms. Johansen! Please keep them coming!

    -- SPeeD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Brilliant

    Another brilliant read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    I will not read any more Iris Johansen books after this series.

    I will not read any more Iris Johansen books after this series.  The writing is horrid, not the story line.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    You will love Hunting Eve , Its all you expected and a whole lot more .

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    very highly recommend

    The suspense is really getting to me in this series. Please don't let this be the end of Eve. The new people that have come in to help her are great also. Keep them around also.

    I really like this type of story from this author. She grabs your attention and keeps it until the end of the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Johansen at her best and she continually tops that!

    I am hooked on the EVE Duncan Series - have read every one and can't wait for the next. Keep them coming Iris Johansen!

    Karen Mitchell

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Her usual high quality! Well worth a read.

    I've been a fan of Eve Duncan for years, and Iris Johansen never fails to delight me, with her concise, clear writing and really great story lines. This book was right up there in caliber with the rest of them, and I enjoyed reading it. I'm the type of person who can't just check a book out at the library; I have to own the books I enjoy, so I can take them off the shelf any time and reread them, which I do, frequently.

    My Nook, and my Barnes&Noble account, made things much simpler-and far less cluttered. Since one of my sons bought my Nook as a Mother's Day present, along with two $50 gift cards, I've been enjoying several of my favorite authors and will read "Hunting Eve" again soon. It kept me on the edge of my seat, and that may be a trite phrase, but it's true, and I fell in love with Eve and her family all over again!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    I normally love the Iris Johansen books but am very disappointed

    I normally love the Iris Johansen books but am very disappointed in this trilogy. I feel like I am left hanging in each book and would not buy the 3rd one if I didn't want to know what happened. I would not recommend this set of books to my friends. I would only give it a 2 star rating if that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Very disappointed! I had read this author years ago and thought

    Very disappointed! I had read this author years ago and thought I would try again. I was unaware that this book was part of a trilogy. Usually you would see that on the cover. Several characters were introduced but none of them seemed interesting. By reading the first few pages, you had no idea that some of the characters had 'special powers'. The story line was not credible. I kept reading on to see if it would improve but it did not. I was really disappointed at the end when you find out that there is no ending, just another book that you need to purchase. I will not be making that purchase.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Great read

    What a thrill ride. Iris Johansen delivers another great read. This book draws the reader in and does not let them go until the last sentence. Looking forward to Silencing Eve in October.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5