Customer Reviews for

Hunting Ground (Alpha and Omega Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 883 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(577)

4 Star

(227)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

This is another excellent entry into the paranormal/romance/thriller genre by Patricia Briggs. I enjoyed it even more than her Mercy Thompson series. The thing that sets Briggs apart, and above, most authors in this genre is her world building skills. Only a few author...
This is another excellent entry into the paranormal/romance/thriller genre by Patricia Briggs. I enjoyed it even more than her Mercy Thompson series. The thing that sets Briggs apart, and above, most authors in this genre is her world building skills. Only a few authors (the great Laurell K. Hamilton (love her, or hate her), Eileen Wilks, Lynn Veihl, and newcomer Nalini Singh), come close to her ability to create a really believable alternate reality. Another big plus in this novel is that the main characters are already a couple and you get to see their new relationship grow. This is definately a keeper. I can't wait for the next Alpha-Omega book.

posted by ParafanJS on August 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Completely Boring and Entirely Plot Deficient!

I really enjoyed the novella in On the Prowl and I really enjoyed the previous book Cry Wolf but Ms. Briggs should've have stopped there. There really wasn't much substance to this book; this definitely should not have been made into a series. It was pretty thin on pl...
I really enjoyed the novella in On the Prowl and I really enjoyed the previous book Cry Wolf but Ms. Briggs should've have stopped there. There really wasn't much substance to this book; this definitely should not have been made into a series. It was pretty thin on plot and just couldn't hold my interest. I love Charles and Anna's relationship. I admire the strength it took Anna to work through the horrors in her past but that's not enough to keep me riveted and fascinated. I won't be reading the rest of the series but I will continue to read the Mercy Thompson series.

posted by kitkat3ny on September 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Anna and Charles are better than ever

    I've firmly entrenched myself in the incomparable Mercy Thompson novels and am now feeling the love from Ms. Briggs' most recent series, Alpha and Omega. Following an initial novella Alpha and Omega and the first novel Cry Wolf, this second full-length book in the Alpha and Omega series has really found a rhythm that works on so many levels.

    After having married the enforcer (or assassin) of the North American werewolf pack, Charles Cornick, Anna is still trying to figure how to effectively use her talents as an Omega while making a life for herself with Charles. Charles' father, the Marrok Bran, has decided that the North American werewolves are going to reveal their existence to the world no matter what other wolves might think. To try to the help wolves from other countries understand how this whole 'big reveal' will pan out, Bran has called a type of council where various alphas can come and discuss their options. Not wanting his father to be anywhere near the discussions, Charles agrees to go in his place to act as an intermediary. Only problem is, due to Anna's past, she has more than a little trouble being in the same room as a bunch of dominate males leaving both her and Charles on edge. Hoping the group will be kept in check by the moderating presence of a powerful fae, Dana, Charles agrees to let Anna come. Of course at the meetings, tempers escalate as disagreements arise but when wolves start getting attacked and an alpha is even killed, Charles becomes the prime suspect in a crime Anna is sure he didn't commit.

    Even though Ms. Briggs' series are both set in the same world, they follow essentially two distinctly separate groups under the direction of the Marrok Bran and must be viewed as individual stories with just a bit of overlap. I've come to enjoy the inherent differences between the two series; Alpha and Omega benefits from the perspective of multiple narrators who give various insights and viewpoints while Mercy narrates all of her books to perfection. Anna herself couldn't be farther from the gusty Mercy, but I like her just fine. As an Omega, Anna is often seen as a super submissive wolf, but in actuality an Omega is outside of the pack hierarchy and doesn't feel the compulsion to follow orders as other wolves do. They also don't have that 'killer instinct' but can kick serious butt when needed. Their most attractive feature (at least to other wolves) is their calming influence on other wolves because the more dominate guys can actually relax around them since they realize an Omega would never challenge them. Got it? It's taken me two books to finally be able to understand this concept in all honesty and this only because on one enlightening conversation between Anna and another Omega, Ric.

    Hunting Ground felt like a tighter novel on so many levels. I figured out what an Omega does (finally) and now, I'm totally digging Anna and Charles' relationship (finally). Anna has had a rough start as a werewolf and has taken some time to get more comfortable and relaxed around Charles, which lead to some nice conversations between the two. They have a nice give and take and I think they both are starting to trust and rely more on the other. This was a great second book and I'm more excited than ever for the next installment.

    seemichelleread.blogspot.com

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Still worth reading, but not as good as Cry Wolf

    This is the second book featuring Anna, who is an Omega werewolf, and her new husband Charles. Omegas are rare and seem to have a calming effect on other werewolves. As there aren't that many, no one is really sure what an Omega is capable of, so Anna is sort of learning as she goes. I would recommend reading the first book in the series, Cry Wolf, for the background but it isn't necessary for this story. I really like Anna and Charles and was glad to see them again, and enjoyed watching their relationship evolve.

    The premise in this book is that Anna and Charles attend a werewolf summit in order to address the concerns of other packs about the North American pack's plan to announce their presence. As humans aren't aware that werewolves are real, this is a big deal. Charles' father was originally scheduled to attend, as it is his plan, but was talked out of it by Charles due to a premonition. Charles premonitions tend to be correct, so Charles and Anna attend the summit instead of Bran.

    The summit does not start well, as being around so many alpha werewolves is very hard on Anna. Then Anna and her escorts are attacked while out in public, which starts a whole series of events which Anna and Charles must resolve. While I did like Anna coming a little bit more into her own, there was just something about the storyline that didn't sit well with me. Not sure if it was the Fae summit mediator, the other alpha werewolves, or the vampire gang, but something seemed off. Patricia Briggs is very talented and overall I did enjoy the book. I'm looking forward to the next in the series, but could do without all of the additional players. I kept going back and forth on whether I should rate this a 3 or a 4, but decided on a 3 as there was just something off about this one....still a good read, just not as good as the usual Briggs book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I Love This Series!!!!

    I can't wait for her to come out with some more books for this series. Patricia Briggs is awesome at coming up with series that are all unique with memorable characters and page-turning plotlines that keeping you wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting Not Riveting - too Much Angst

    The book was a little too light on action/plot and too heavy on relationship angst/self-doubt. The plot picks up at the novel's mid-point and continues through to a satisfactory climax. However, it lacked the rapid pace and action-packed climax reached in the series' first novel, "Cry Wolf." The plot involves efforts to derail and/or otherwise subvert a meeting held in Seattle among representatives of the European werewolf population. The meeting is chaired by a fae Gray Lord and jointly hosted by the Seattle pack and the U.S. leader of all werewolves in North America, Bran Cornick. Bran has decided to publicly acknowledge the existence of North American werewolves and has planned the Seattle meeting to ameliorate the effects on the European werewolf population. Instead of Bran appearing, his son and chief enforcer, Charles shows up with his new wife/mate Anna. Things finally start to heat up when Anna and her two escorts are attacked while traveling back to her hotel. I recommend this book to any fan of the series but warn that this story is not quite as good or clever as the usual Patricia Briggs' offering.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3