BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hunting Ground (Alpha and Omega Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 878 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(573)

4 Star

(226)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

This is another excellent entry into the paranormal/romance/thriller genre by Patricia Briggs. I enjoyed it even more than her Mercy Thompson series. The thing that sets Briggs apart, and above, most authors in this genre is her world building skills. Only a few author...
This is another excellent entry into the paranormal/romance/thriller genre by Patricia Briggs. I enjoyed it even more than her Mercy Thompson series. The thing that sets Briggs apart, and above, most authors in this genre is her world building skills. Only a few authors (the great Laurell K. Hamilton (love her, or hate her), Eileen Wilks, Lynn Veihl, and newcomer Nalini Singh), come close to her ability to create a really believable alternate reality. Another big plus in this novel is that the main characters are already a couple and you get to see their new relationship grow. This is definately a keeper. I can't wait for the next Alpha-Omega book.

posted by ParafanJS on August 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Completely Boring and Entirely Plot Deficient!

I really enjoyed the novella in On the Prowl and I really enjoyed the previous book Cry Wolf but Ms. Briggs should've have stopped there. There really wasn't much substance to this book; this definitely should not have been made into a series. It was pretty thin on pl...
I really enjoyed the novella in On the Prowl and I really enjoyed the previous book Cry Wolf but Ms. Briggs should've have stopped there. There really wasn't much substance to this book; this definitely should not have been made into a series. It was pretty thin on plot and just couldn't hold my interest. I love Charles and Anna's relationship. I admire the strength it took Anna to work through the horrors in her past but that's not enough to keep me riveted and fascinated. I won't be reading the rest of the series but I will continue to read the Mercy Thompson series.

posted by kitkat3ny on September 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 573 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 29
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    This is another excellent entry into the paranormal/romance/thriller genre by Patricia Briggs. I enjoyed it even more than her Mercy Thompson series. The thing that sets Briggs apart, and above, most authors in this genre is her world building skills. Only a few authors (the great Laurell K. Hamilton (love her, or hate her), Eileen Wilks, Lynn Veihl, and newcomer Nalini Singh), come close to her ability to create a really believable alternate reality. Another big plus in this novel is that the main characters are already a couple and you get to see their new relationship grow. This is definately a keeper. I can't wait for the next Alpha-Omega book.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Hunting Ground

    If you have read any of Briggs books you will love it. The relationship between Charles and Anna is fleshed out and much more believable than most romance stories. It is not just lust at first site that somehow becomes true love. Like the Mercy Thompson series the plot has something of a mystery that has to be solved to keep the ones they love safe and the resolution is not obvious. I also love that the female lead kicks as much ass as the male.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    I loved this book!

    This is the second book in the Alpha and Omega series. It was well written and well done. It is the continuing story of Anna (the rare Omega werewolf) and her new husband Charles (2nd most powerful werewolf in U.S.). Charles' father, Bran, The Marrok, sends Charles and Anna to Seattle to talk to the European Alphas. He's planning on anouncing the werewolves exisistence to the human population and the wolves need to make plans to get ready. Not everyone likes this idea and not everyone likes Charles. Some people are jealous that Charles has a rare Omega for a mate and want her for themselves and if they have to take out Charles to get her so be it.-Anna is still healing emotionally from the wounds inflicted by her first pack. Charles has been alone for the better part of 200 years and now having Anna-the new joy of his life- tends to throw him off balance.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Patricia Briggs Found her niche

    I am enamored with this series of books. I like escapismn, and books of this genre are appealing.

    These books are a spin-off of the 'Mercy Thompson' series (I think there are seven books in that series, or soon will be), featuring characters from the Mercy Thompson books.

    Rather than go into a lot of plot details, I would like to speak of the whole series. Miss Briggs has done an excellent job of painting lead characters with just the right amount of personality quirks that allow you to identify with them as human...well, partly human anyway.

    Her lead character is a larger-than-life male werewolf who is good to the very last drop of blood. He cares for Anna, and abused female of his kind, his partner, and they must work out their differences and problems as the book develops in the dangerous world they inhabit.

    The book seems to jump around just a little in the first part, but it tends to settle down and move forward to an exciting and logical climax. It is well paced, and provides interesting reading, as do all of her more recent books.

    I personally prefer the Mercy Thompson series because I think it is a bit more tongue-in-cheek with a little more humor in its dark and/or mysterious characters, but this book carries the Mercy Thompson concept into a tangential realm very well.

    I think it is the positive, optomistic tone in the Mercy Thompson and Alpha and Omega series about the dark and evil world that I find most appealing. She weaves in the supernatural aspects without slowing the pace of the books, and gradually brings the reader into her vision of a supernatural world just a few feet beyond our everyday lives. It makes you feel as though good might actually triumph over evil.

    Of course, the next day you have to go back to the reality of self-serving politicians, commercial television, and real life. It makes you anxious for her next book to take you away again for a few hours...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A new found beloved series

    I feel that Briggs has redeemed this series with Hunting Ground. After reading Cry Wolf I decided that I wouldn't be following this series. However, after reading several reviews that said this was far better than Cry Wolf I decided to give it a try. And absolutely glad that I did. Hunting Ground is exactly what I would expect from the author of the Mercy Thompson series.
    I am absolutely enraptured with the pack dynamics that Briggs has created. In Cry Wolf, I didn't really think that I cared for, or could care for, Charles and Anna. But thankfully I was wrong. Their characters were much more developed in this one. I enjoyed reading about their relationship. Seeing how they deal with the insecurities and fears that have come about from being the Marrok's Enforcer and being brutalized in a previous wolf pack captured my attention, as well as learning more about the Mated aspect. Throw in the action and danger that a city full of Alphas brings(along with Fae, Witches, and Vampires)made this book memorable and captivating.
    I will definitely be following this series!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hunting Ground

    It's a great read, it's one of those books you can't put it down till it's done, ya just gotta know, and then as soon as your done, you read it again, just in case you missed something. I love all her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    Darkmoon

    Yeah.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    Rainfall

    Lays down"i'll be staying here then"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    please write another book . I looove Anna and Charles!!!!

    please write another book . I looove Anna and Charles!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Balthazar

    He slithers in, looking around for mice. He spots one, and moves towards it so quitely that a human would not be able to hear him. Only when he finally gets close enough to strike does the mouse sense him. But it is too late. He quickly gives it a bite, injecting venom into it's blood. Within a minute, the mouse is dead. He picks it up and brings it back. A few minutes later, he comes back and does the same thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Bloodclaw

    Im back. Are you here?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Songheart

    Songheart bounds in, her blue eyes wide. "Spottedcloud! Are you alright?" She saw his leg and gasped. "Oh dear..."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Spottedcloud

    T-thank you for all of your guyses efforts in keeping me well, he said. He stood up, staggered a little, but was able to waalk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Zixzan ti f!re

    Panthers angry come back quick

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Hunting Ground

    Loved this book as much as the first one, couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    FAntastic book, I think it is very sexy too!

    FAntastic book, I think it is very sexy too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Prim

    She leaps down amd stalks to the next result anoyed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Thistlefang

    He smiked. "I dont have time to play hide and seek with a kit. When you want to fight me you will."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Broken

    Pads in watches

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Striking

    Im gonna be off awhile. Sorry but i think youre ready for your assassin name. It shall simply be Fire. *pads out* (and he really is gonna be off awhile)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 573 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 29