Customer Reviews for

Hurricane Season: A Coach, His Team, and Their Triumph in the Time of Katrina

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

it was a great book

The book I'm reviewing is called Hurricane Season written by Neil Thompson. I think the author makes you feel a part of the setting because he describes what is happening as well as the action on the football field and during hurricane Katrina. Personally I thought it w...
The book I'm reviewing is called Hurricane Season written by Neil Thompson. I think the author makes you feel a part of the setting because he describes what is happening as well as the action on the football field and during hurricane Katrina. Personally I thought it was a great book. I think the writer makes you believe in the book's main characters as people because of what he says about them. I liked all of the book's characters. I didn't dislike any of them. But my favorite character of them all was the Coach J.T. Curtis. One thing he has done is being a good coach. It was on August 29th that hurricane Katrina struck New Orleans Louisiana and left the town in ruins for the months following that dreadful New Orleans summer day. But then in October the J.T. Curtis School opened back up and they started to play football again. They won the Louisiana 2a high school championship 21 times in row.

posted by Desire- on November 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Roleplayers

I wish bn would put a stop to these kids using the nook to play kitty kat games on the book review site. Adults come here for book reviews, not to have to scan thru multiple stupid posts that has no bearing on the book in question. Please bn, cant you figure out who the...
I wish bn would put a stop to these kids using the nook to play kitty kat games on the book review site. Adults come here for book reviews, not to have to scan thru multiple stupid posts that has no bearing on the book in question. Please bn, cant you figure out who these kids are and ban thhem from playing their childish games on the nook?

posted by 8888649 on February 2, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    it was a great book

    The book I'm reviewing is called Hurricane Season written by Neil Thompson. I think the author makes you feel a part of the setting because he describes what is happening as well as the action on the football field and during hurricane Katrina. Personally I thought it was a great book. I think the writer makes you believe in the book's main characters as people because of what he says about them. I liked all of the book's characters. I didn't dislike any of them. But my favorite character of them all was the Coach J.T. Curtis. One thing he has done is being a good coach. It was on August 29th that hurricane Katrina struck New Orleans Louisiana and left the town in ruins for the months following that dreadful New Orleans summer day. But then in October the J.T. Curtis School opened back up and they started to play football again. They won the Louisiana 2a high school championship 21 times in row.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Seriously?

    I like this book, but before I had read it, i wanted to read the reviews to make sure it was worth buying, which it is. But there are all of these stupid roleplaying people on here. Go away! If you want to roleplay dont do it on a book review tab! I almost didnt buy the book because of all the stupid reviews, so just find yourselves a new place to be like that. Im sick of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Book

    I think that this book is going to be good. If you have ever saw the movie than you know what Im talking about.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Chapter 14: Where is Ezumalid?

    Mantala hated sympathy. He had told Brianna and Wenalt to go away. He wasn't mad at Dion... just..... "Please,Mantala!" Brianna begged him until suddenly Dion came running into the shrubs. "Ezumalid's gone!" He told them. They all jumped up and went to search for him, but Dion continued," He was taken by these men on the horses while I led him to the old man's house! I managed to get away from at least three men. They're still searching in the camp spot! We have to be careful!" Brianna glared at Dion, "Who knows you're telling the truth? What if you...?" "No...Dion might be right. I'll go searching with Wenalt and Brianna and..." "No way," Brianna said at the same time as Dion, so they ended up like this : Brianna with Wenalt and Dion with Mantala. They began searching until it was moonlight. "I'm awfully sorry, Mantala, really!" Dion told him after a long silence. Mantala forgave him, and he should be grateful to Dion for saving them. He should also feel sorry for Brianna...she was the only girl around. He was about to say he and Wenalt would search and Brianna and Dion would stay at the campsite and look out for guards. But it seemed like now they would all search for Ezumalid. Mantala barely had just met with Ezumalid two times. The first time was heading toward the elf village, but sorry! Xchevings, these thought creatures invaded and took Brianna and Ezumalid to the Dark Lord's palace and left Wenalt and Mantala suffering in the forest. Mantala had never seen Ezumalid perform magic, but that's what everybody believed! The second time, well, now. Mantala and everybody else stopped to rest at the campsite. The guards searching at the campsite were gone, so Mantala guessed they had given looking for them. Suddenly, Mantala found a faint hoof print on the ground when they were eating gross "leaf sandwiches." Mantala decided not to tell them because they wouldn't believe him anyway. He snuck out until he was far away enough from where they were. "HOWLLLLLLLLLLLL!" Mantala shivered. Wolves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2014

    Loved it!

    Excellrnt story line .Kept my interest so very hard to put down.
    would recommend it highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Hi i am here to join the hurricane clan

    My name is ghost wisperer.i want to join the hurricane clan.

    0 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Ironfeather

    The steely grey tom padded in. "Hey. Can I join?"

    0 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Hook&swan

    Thanks

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    VioletBlade

    Violet ; She dipped her head to the newcomers. "You both may join. Welcome to HurricaneClan." She meowed.

    0 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Creampaw

    Comes back with three mice two voles one squirrel. Drops them in the fresh kill pile before going back out into the forest and coming back with five more mice and three more squirrels. I plop the squriels down and three mice. I brought one mouse to the leader." Here you go. I thought you were hungry so I got you this. Goodnight leader." Dips head before padding out of the den and eat the mouse slowly thinking about my clan life already. It was going ok. I just needed a mentor and thats it. I smiled pleased with myself before yawning and walking into the aprentices den. I circle my nest three times before resting and falling asleep.

    0 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Brockenclaw

    She sighed

    0 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Feathersong

    Ofcourse! HurricaneClan is a disaster...wont evr b able to bring it back :( o well....

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1