Customer Reviews for

Hurt Go Happy

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Can't even describe how great this book is !!!

    I absoloutly love this book! I have read it about four times! It is one of my all times favorites, I cant even say how much I recomend this to everyone! And im only Twelve!!!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Best book ever !!

    I love this book , at first i pick out this book because i had to read a book , but then it turned out i realy love the book and instead of being a chore it became a privilege .

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    An Amazing and Inspiring Read

    I loved this book a lot. I know sign language, so i was quite pleased that it was included in this book. Sukari is plain adorable. Now i want a chimpanzee as a pet! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    MUST READ

    A must read for all ages. A good but powerful ead that will trigger in all readers

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Awesome book for anyone

    At an old book fair when I was ten my friend got me this book. I didn't pick it up for two years. Then I started to read and I could not put it down. The story draws you in from the moment you start. It is very unique to see from the perspective of a deaf - especially if you're not. You fall in love with Sukari the moment that you meet her- if you like raisins you'll like Sukari. Charlie is a man that is filled with genorosity and has a huge heart. Joey is absoultly filled with spunk and is very mature for being a 14 year old. Anyone would enjoy this story

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Really good!

    Love it. Made me cry a little. Definatly worth it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Description is wrong

    This is the real over view: joey willis is used to being left out of the conversation thouggh shes been deaf since the age of six she has never been aloud to learn sign language . Everything changes when she meets dr. Charles mansell and his baby chimpanzee sukari . Her new freinds use sign language to comunicate and joey secretly learns to sign. Spending time with charlie and sukari she has never been happier but as joeys world blooms with possiblities charlie's and sukari's choices begin to narrow - untill sukaris very survival is in doubt. Read this book you will be sure to love it :D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Read it in....

    I read this in sixth grade its a must read dont judge abook y its cover.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Amazing book

    This book is amazing and i highly recomend reading it!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    I love this book!!! I got it from a friend and have loved it eve

    I love this book!!! I got it from a friend and have loved it ever since.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    An amazing read

    The best book. If you are deaf you will love the heartwarming story. Joey is awesome and so are Charlie and Sukari (the chimpanzee).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Awesome

    I loved this book everyone should read it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Wow

    I don't about you but this book is absolutly amazing in so many different ways.I mean you would look at the cover of this book and think it is a boring amd horrible book but thats the thing its not.It is just amazingly unbelievable and interesting it just keeps you wanting o read more like watching the movie Twillight.The w the author wrote this book just pulls you in and gets you ito reading the book even more.Think about how creative or what this author was thinking about wjen she wrote this book or what even gave her the idea of such a topic.I don't know but all I can say is just wow!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    You dont read, you may as well not read at All

    This is the best book I ever read. I sad this title and it pulled me in, I read the back of the book, I was dragged in, I read the first page, I was completely inside of the book. I couldnt put this thing down, I read it over and over and over for two weeks (so for me, I read that 3 or 4 times). Then I learned the sign language, and went to another book. 3 months later, I read it AGAIN!!! This is how good the book is.

    I am 16, Loved the book. I recommened it to my grandmother, so loved it too. This book is for ALL ages. and it should be part of the curriculum in school!! AMAZING BOOK!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    I think you guys should read it!!

    If you like nonfiction books you're going to like Hurt go Happy by Ginny Rorby. This book is about a girl that is deaf and she is left out of the conversations. Joey, the main character who is deaf since she was six years old. the evens takes place whe she runs away from home. Joey finds a guys with a monkey on his shoulder. The monkey has a name also and his name is Sekira. Sukira is always sorcastic to Joey when it comes to questions and answers. The setting takes place in Fort Bragg, California. Joey doesn't have any friends because she can't speak or hear anybody and nobody knows the sign language. This makes novel different from other novels we had read is because Joey and Luke go to the woods and find a mushrooms for their mom. When Joey goes to school she supposed to wear hearing ad. Her teachers even reminds her to wear the hearing ad and she won't do it, because she is afraid that somebody is going to make fun of her. suprising moments when the monkey, Sukari knew the sign language. The monkey is good at being sarcastic to Joey.
    The thing that drew me to the novel is I wanted to read something that was really different from other novel that I had read. Then,a I remember I had a book about a girl who was deaf. Mind racing I got hooked on the book, it really drew me in. After that, I just started reading it. The meaning of the book is that Joey is trying to tell her mom that she is really interested in taking the sign language class. Her mom thinks that she doesn't need to take it because she is the only one in the school who is deaf.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING BOOK !!!!!!

    AWESOME BOOK MUST READ !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Great read It's been 3 days since I read the book and I'm still

    Great read
    It's been 3 days since I read the book and I'm still emotionally invested in Joey and Sukari's story. Everyone should read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Awsome Book : )

    My teacher is reading this book to me and it is so beautiful I love it. : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2010

    Omfk. This is what I call truly amazing. (;

    This book was incredibly heartwarming, and saddening at the same time. The emotions that were put in the story were strong and reeled me in. Sukari and Joey were incredibly well developed characters. I LOVED IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2010

    Pace aplenty and strong characters: don't miss it.

    Watcher of the Dead demonstrates the fine and avid intensity and the plethora of interesting characters striving to overcome and find their way as well as learn from past mistakes that were so appealing in her earlier works in the series. Every character that is followed, and there are 5 or 6, is important and involved in moving forward important events. The twists and turns in the plot (not knowing what is really going to happen), the depth and originality of the characters with very real but understandable character flaws/limitations, draws you along for an epic ride.

    I would recommend reading the first three before this one, but there is an introductory couple of pages laying out the story previous. In all honesty, it is in some respects similar to a beginning to a whole new story in that all the characters you have known go through dramatic and climatic development.

    Everyone is important; there are not good guys and bad guys, simply wiser/stronger men/women rising to the challenge and weaker/lost ones losing their way or having already lost there way. The work demonstrates an awareness of the inevitability of loss (death and destruction) and the consistent formation of group thinking (with all its hope and identification and use)as well as its shortsightedness. An entire world full of mysterious and important events/characters walking outside the periphery (both historically and within the world at present) is felt as to inform further unfolding within the story.

    A worthy read of epic fantasy and a book any fan of Brandon Sanderson or Robert Jordan would more than enjoy, they would rather be thrilled by.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2