Customer Reviews for

The Husband

Average Rating 4
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

What Would You Do For Love?

I've always thought of Dean Koontz as the master of psychological suspense. His novels are aways full of weird and over the top characters that he makes believable and then he puts them in situations which are weird and over the top and makes them believable. This ti...
I've always thought of Dean Koontz as the master of psychological suspense. His novels are aways full of weird and over the top characters that he makes believable and then he puts them in situations which are weird and over the top and makes them believable. This time around Dean changes things up a bit. He takes an average Joe and puts him in a seemingly no win situation. Mitch Rafferty, owner of a two man landscaping business gets the phone call no husband would want. Someone has his wife. That's the bad news. The worse news is, the someone wants $2 million in 60 hours. He doesn't have that kind of money and they know it. Still, they're convinced he'll find away to get the funds. If he loves his wife. He loves her. No question. The kidnappers tighten the screws from that moment on by first killing someone 'innocent' so Mitch will know they mean business. Things go down hill for our hero from there. One of the things I really liked about this story was how Dean shows two people who were raised in the same dysfunctional environment could respond to that upbringing in totally different ways. You'll have to read the book to find out what I mean. I try to never include plot spoilers in my reviews. I gave a rating of 5 stars because I loved the story. Koontz in one of my all time favorite novelists. I dream of one day writing my own novels half as well as he does. However, this novel wasn't without its problems for me. One, the scenes with the wife when she's held captive just didn't work for me. When I read the sections with Mitch it was like I was right there with him. Almost like what happened to him happened to me. With those sections devoted to his wife I felt somehow distant from the situation. I don't know why. I don't believe this is the desired affect Dean meant. The second thing I didn't care for was just a pet peeve of mine and it didn't really take away from the story. Most stories have this same element in them. I've just never understood why. Here's what I'm talking about. The novel is 68 chapters. In chapter one Mitch learns of his wife's kidnapping. From chapter two on Mitch is doing everything he can to get her back. After all that can happen happens, we come to chapter 68. It's 3 years later and everything is normal again. What's the rub for me? Mitch did some pretty terrible and even illegal things in an attempt to get his wife back. Seemingly, there were no repercussions for his actions. I know one would say he was justified, but I'm just not sure how the law would take this in the real world. Maybe that's the point. It's not real life, it's a novel. And a great thrill ride it is. Pick up a copy and see what you think. I believe you won't be disappointed.

posted by Anonymous on August 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

I'm so confused. I have been a Dean Koontz fan for years, ever since I first found Strangers in my high-school library. There had NEVER been a book that I didn't like, until the release of VELOCITY. I actually, almost, nearly, dare I say it?--hated that book. Then along...
I'm so confused. I have been a Dean Koontz fan for years, ever since I first found Strangers in my high-school library. There had NEVER been a book that I didn't like, until the release of VELOCITY. I actually, almost, nearly, dare I say it?--hated that book. Then along comes THE HUSBAND, and I wanted so badly to love it like I loved previous books like WATCHERS, ODD THOMAS, and PRODIGAL SON. Alas, it was not to be.

The premise of thrusting an ordinary man (a gardener/landscaper) into unbelievably horrific circumstances was a good one. Unfortunately, I couldn't "like" the characters. Said gardener was bland and boring; his wife (who has been kidnapped) seemed to be little more than an afterthought. The "extra" characters in the book didn't seem to flesh anything out at all. To be honest, I didn't finish the story, although I did flip to the last chapter to see how it ended.

Overall, it was okay, but I long for the days of more supernatural magic that Mr. Koontz's early books brought.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 215 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted November 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    I'm so confused. I have been a Dean Koontz fan for years, ever since I first found Strangers in my high-school library. There had NEVER been a book that I didn't like, until the release of VELOCITY. I actually, almost, nearly, dare I say it?--hated that book. Then along comes THE HUSBAND, and I wanted so badly to love it like I loved previous books like WATCHERS, ODD THOMAS, and PRODIGAL SON. Alas, it was not to be. <BR/><BR/>The premise of thrusting an ordinary man (a gardener/landscaper) into unbelievably horrific circumstances was a good one. Unfortunately, I couldn't "like" the characters. Said gardener was bland and boring; his wife (who has been kidnapped) seemed to be little more than an afterthought. The "extra" characters in the book didn't seem to flesh anything out at all. To be honest, I didn't finish the story, although I did flip to the last chapter to see how it ended. <BR/><BR/>Overall, it was okay, but I long for the days of more supernatural magic that Mr. Koontz's early books brought.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2008

    What Would You Do For Love?

    I've always thought of Dean Koontz as the master of psychological suspense. His novels are aways full of weird and over the top characters that he makes believable and then he puts them in situations which are weird and over the top and makes them believable. This time around Dean changes things up a bit. He takes an average Joe and puts him in a seemingly no win situation. Mitch Rafferty, owner of a two man landscaping business gets the phone call no husband would want. Someone has his wife. That's the bad news. The worse news is, the someone wants $2 million in 60 hours. He doesn't have that kind of money and they know it. Still, they're convinced he'll find away to get the funds. If he loves his wife. He loves her. No question. The kidnappers tighten the screws from that moment on by first killing someone 'innocent' so Mitch will know they mean business. Things go down hill for our hero from there. One of the things I really liked about this story was how Dean shows two people who were raised in the same dysfunctional environment could respond to that upbringing in totally different ways. You'll have to read the book to find out what I mean. I try to never include plot spoilers in my reviews. I gave a rating of 5 stars because I loved the story. Koontz in one of my all time favorite novelists. I dream of one day writing my own novels half as well as he does. However, this novel wasn't without its problems for me. One, the scenes with the wife when she's held captive just didn't work for me. When I read the sections with Mitch it was like I was right there with him. Almost like what happened to him happened to me. With those sections devoted to his wife I felt somehow distant from the situation. I don't know why. I don't believe this is the desired affect Dean meant. The second thing I didn't care for was just a pet peeve of mine and it didn't really take away from the story. Most stories have this same element in them. I've just never understood why. Here's what I'm talking about. The novel is 68 chapters. In chapter one Mitch learns of his wife's kidnapping. From chapter two on Mitch is doing everything he can to get her back. After all that can happen happens, we come to chapter 68. It's 3 years later and everything is normal again. What's the rub for me? Mitch did some pretty terrible and even illegal things in an attempt to get his wife back. Seemingly, there were no repercussions for his actions. I know one would say he was justified, but I'm just not sure how the law would take this in the real world. Maybe that's the point. It's not real life, it's a novel. And a great thrill ride it is. Pick up a copy and see what you think. I believe you won't be disappointed.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2008

    Could have been better

    This book started off so wonderfully intense and became mediocre in the end. Koontz spends too much time describing the unnecessary. I hoped for something great , but did not get it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    not impressed

    I have read all of dean koontz books and this one was not up to parr. I wonder if he is getting mellow with his writing over the years.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2008

    It's not 'The Good Guy'

    Love the story idea, but wish another author had written the book. Koontz has a tendency to go on and on. He did so much of that in this book, I fell asleep twice.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2007

    Pretty Weak Overall

    Great pemise and cover description to get you excited to buy the book but thats where the excitement ends. Not at all on the level of Grisham and Patterson

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2006

    Koontz descriptive flare missing

    I have read many of Mr. Koontz's wonderful novels over the years, and I found this to be lacking in his usual masterful use of language. Most of this book was dialog, resulting in very short and clipped paragraphs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Exciting

    So this book took me less than three days to read! Would of been much faster but real busy i had to write a review because my friend and i decided to read the same book '
    One part of the book made me say oh my god outload on the bus many eyes looking at me
    That day i knew i was reading a fab book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Great book

    Koontz is always good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Hey, pretty good.

    I wrote a pretty scathing review of 'Lightning,' also by Dean Koontz a little while ago. I hated that book. But now let's talk about some good Koontz, shall we? I read this book in about a week (which may not seem like a too short of a time, but to me it is, I'm a slow reader.) And I loved every minute of it. Well sort of. The beginning was epicly epic, the plot of the novel exploded in your face, there was no way NOT to read the rest of it after the first one hundred pages (Which I read in one night). The one hundred pages after that were also very good, but not as good, they seemed to stall (As many of Koontz's books do at some point) a little bit, but were very enjoyable. The last hundred pages are why this book is recieving a 4/5 instead of a 5/5. They weren't bad at all, but they weren't very great either. It seems to slow down muchos, and get bogged down in the details (Another very common attribute of Koontz's writing) The pages which chronicled the standoff between Mitch and the bad guy were, to me, the most boring part. Koontz has many trademarks in his books, one of them is dogs, another is a way too keen sense of plants, another is the desert...Oh god, it was hard to read those pages. For some reason I can't hear Koontz talk about the desert and not cringe a little. He describes it in such boring detail, he doesn't really bring anything new to the table. Not like Stephen King, who I'm sure would find some way to make the desert interesting. But other than getting slow and over detailed in a few points the book was very good, very fast, a thrill ride. I liked it a lot. The ending was good, it was happy, as most of Koontz's endings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Excellent book !

    Absolutely loved it ! Could not put it down !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Lot's of Suspense

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Koontz is usually very intense, but this time it had just the right amount of suspense. It is one of those books that you can't put down, although there was something slightly familiar about it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    Page turner

    Kept me reading non-stop. Good book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Kept Me READING

    This book had a great. story with some. twists. i really enjoyed it..

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    Good story

    I liked this book, It is an easy read and kept me reading way to late a few times. 5 stars

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    Disappointing

    I enoyed the plot, but everything is detached, nothing seemed to mesh together, and the incessant horticulture references were annoying. How can anyone not know their brother is pure evil? Why would a brother throw another brother under the bus? It seemed the explanation of the family dynamic should of been in the beginning, it would have made for more interesting reading. The New Mexico references were not only annoying, but odd and made no sense. Koontz, you do better with horror than mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    The Husband

    This book is very well written. The author keeps your attention by adding new people and new twists. Its also romantic. Mitch is willing to do anything to get his wife back, even if it means murder. I think anyone would enjoy this book. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    Dean does it again

    never have I read a book that moves so intensely fast (in a good way!). Not once did I read something that made me say "meh, he could have left that out." This is a must-read for all Koontz fans :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very Slow Read

    This book started off to a decent start, then slowed down A LOT. It finally got good in the last few chapters. I didn't really enjoy this book like I expected to.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not What I Expected

    I have seen the name of Dean Koontz on many books and figured I'd give one a shot. Picked up The Husband since its premise looked promising. Was immediately drawn into the plot: husband (Mr. Average Man) must ransom wife for an exhorbitant amount of money. What to do? How to save the love of his life? Little did I know that the best of the book would be contained in the first one hundred pages.

    Midway through the story I became caught up in wonderfully descriptive passages like "agitated spiders plucked silent arpeggios from their silken harps" which seemed incongrous when placed next to the thoughts of Mr. Average Man Husband. I felt the sharp, short sentences that heightened the story's suspense were being abruptly interrupted by these wordy descriptions.

    As the story progresses we find Mr. Average Man Husband going through great lengths to save his wife. There are some fine characters introduced along the way but we never really get to know them: Iggy, Detective Taggart, Daniel and Kathy, Julian Campbell. I would have enjoyed seeing more depth in these characters as they seemed to have much more to offer. Although we are given to glimpses of Holly's (the kidnapped wife) internal musings these, too, seem superficial.

    The ending of the book seems rather contrived to me. As the suspense builds and we reach the climax, there is a sudden let down at the end - rather like someone who has been in a race that is suddenly called for rain.

    I will give another of this author's works a chance to impress but certainly don't recommend The Husband unless you've read everything else Mr. Koontz has written.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 215 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11