Customer Reviews for

The Husband

Average Rating 4
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

What Would You Do For Love?

I've always thought of Dean Koontz as the master of psychological suspense. His novels are aways full of weird and over the top characters that he makes believable and then he puts them in situations which are weird and over the top and makes them believable. This ti...
I've always thought of Dean Koontz as the master of psychological suspense. His novels are aways full of weird and over the top characters that he makes believable and then he puts them in situations which are weird and over the top and makes them believable. This time around Dean changes things up a bit. He takes an average Joe and puts him in a seemingly no win situation. Mitch Rafferty, owner of a two man landscaping business gets the phone call no husband would want. Someone has his wife. That's the bad news. The worse news is, the someone wants $2 million in 60 hours. He doesn't have that kind of money and they know it. Still, they're convinced he'll find away to get the funds. If he loves his wife. He loves her. No question. The kidnappers tighten the screws from that moment on by first killing someone 'innocent' so Mitch will know they mean business. Things go down hill for our hero from there. One of the things I really liked about this story was how Dean shows two people who were raised in the same dysfunctional environment could respond to that upbringing in totally different ways. You'll have to read the book to find out what I mean. I try to never include plot spoilers in my reviews. I gave a rating of 5 stars because I loved the story. Koontz in one of my all time favorite novelists. I dream of one day writing my own novels half as well as he does. However, this novel wasn't without its problems for me. One, the scenes with the wife when she's held captive just didn't work for me. When I read the sections with Mitch it was like I was right there with him. Almost like what happened to him happened to me. With those sections devoted to his wife I felt somehow distant from the situation. I don't know why. I don't believe this is the desired affect Dean meant. The second thing I didn't care for was just a pet peeve of mine and it didn't really take away from the story. Most stories have this same element in them. I've just never understood why. Here's what I'm talking about. The novel is 68 chapters. In chapter one Mitch learns of his wife's kidnapping. From chapter two on Mitch is doing everything he can to get her back. After all that can happen happens, we come to chapter 68. It's 3 years later and everything is normal again. What's the rub for me? Mitch did some pretty terrible and even illegal things in an attempt to get his wife back. Seemingly, there were no repercussions for his actions. I know one would say he was justified, but I'm just not sure how the law would take this in the real world. Maybe that's the point. It's not real life, it's a novel. And a great thrill ride it is. Pick up a copy and see what you think. I believe you won't be disappointed.

posted by Anonymous on August 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

not impressed

I have read all of dean koontz books and this one was not up to parr. I wonder if he is getting mellow with his writing over the years.

posted by Anonymous on December 31, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    I'm so confused. I have been a Dean Koontz fan for years, ever since I first found Strangers in my high-school library. There had NEVER been a book that I didn't like, until the release of VELOCITY. I actually, almost, nearly, dare I say it?--hated that book. Then along comes THE HUSBAND, and I wanted so badly to love it like I loved previous books like WATCHERS, ODD THOMAS, and PRODIGAL SON. Alas, it was not to be. <BR/><BR/>The premise of thrusting an ordinary man (a gardener/landscaper) into unbelievably horrific circumstances was a good one. Unfortunately, I couldn't "like" the characters. Said gardener was bland and boring; his wife (who has been kidnapped) seemed to be little more than an afterthought. The "extra" characters in the book didn't seem to flesh anything out at all. To be honest, I didn't finish the story, although I did flip to the last chapter to see how it ended. <BR/><BR/>Overall, it was okay, but I long for the days of more supernatural magic that Mr. Koontz's early books brought.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2007

    Pretty Weak Overall

    Great pemise and cover description to get you excited to buy the book but thats where the excitement ends. Not at all on the level of Grisham and Patterson

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2006

    Koontz descriptive flare missing

    I have read many of Mr. Koontz's wonderful novels over the years, and I found this to be lacking in his usual masterful use of language. Most of this book was dialog, resulting in very short and clipped paragraphs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    Disappointing

    I enoyed the plot, but everything is detached, nothing seemed to mesh together, and the incessant horticulture references were annoying. How can anyone not know their brother is pure evil? Why would a brother throw another brother under the bus? It seemed the explanation of the family dynamic should of been in the beginning, it would have made for more interesting reading. The New Mexico references were not only annoying, but odd and made no sense. Koontz, you do better with horror than mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very Slow Read

    This book started off to a decent start, then slowed down A LOT. It finally got good in the last few chapters. I didn't really enjoy this book like I expected to.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not What I Expected

    I have seen the name of Dean Koontz on many books and figured I'd give one a shot. Picked up The Husband since its premise looked promising. Was immediately drawn into the plot: husband (Mr. Average Man) must ransom wife for an exhorbitant amount of money. What to do? How to save the love of his life? Little did I know that the best of the book would be contained in the first one hundred pages.

    Midway through the story I became caught up in wonderfully descriptive passages like "agitated spiders plucked silent arpeggios from their silken harps" which seemed incongrous when placed next to the thoughts of Mr. Average Man Husband. I felt the sharp, short sentences that heightened the story's suspense were being abruptly interrupted by these wordy descriptions.

    As the story progresses we find Mr. Average Man Husband going through great lengths to save his wife. There are some fine characters introduced along the way but we never really get to know them: Iggy, Detective Taggart, Daniel and Kathy, Julian Campbell. I would have enjoyed seeing more depth in these characters as they seemed to have much more to offer. Although we are given to glimpses of Holly's (the kidnapped wife) internal musings these, too, seem superficial.

    The ending of the book seems rather contrived to me. As the suspense builds and we reach the climax, there is a sudden let down at the end - rather like someone who has been in a race that is suddenly called for rain.

    I will give another of this author's works a chance to impress but certainly don't recommend The Husband unless you've read everything else Mr. Koontz has written.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2007

    Boring / Mundane at Best

    Although this was considered a New York Times best seller, I put it down after the first chapter and will donate it to the Veteran's D.A.V. thrift store. The author may be a prolific writer, but the contents doesn't have anything beneficial in my opinion. I'm glad the person who gave this to me as a gift didn't pay much for it. Perhaps the author can write about something that is interesting instead of material that is boring. I'm just being forthright here and my intention is not to be disparaging. If I couldn't get beyond the first chapter, what does that mean?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Average Thriller

    Simply put - this novel would barely make a less-than-decent cable network movie. Starts out great, with loads of promise, but gets lost in making the protagonist a stud hero. Imagine Jim from the office (John Krasinski)becoming Det. John McClaine (Bruce Willis) from Die Hard.....quite a leap. Also, the writing style of Koontz is basic and offers nothing that sets him apart from mundane authors. Expected far better than what this turned out to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2011

    Disappointing

    Two weeks after reading I hardly remember the book. This a sure indicator that it is sub-par. Not recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2007

    Koontz lover

    This book started out in typical Koontz fashion--I couldn't put it down. However, as others have said, it seemed that he just rushed through the last half of the book, and I found myself bored and skipping entire pages just to see if the ending redeemed the book, which, unfortunately, it did not. Not one of his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2007

    started off great

    I have always been a huge fan of dean koontz books even though I haven't read him in a few years. the beginning pulled me in, but I defnitely was disappointed with the last half. So many things seemed underdeveloped and the ending was upon you all of a sudden. it wouldn't stop me from reading more of his books, but I miss his writings from the past.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2007

    Not Koontzs best effort

    Dean Koontz obviosly lacked effort to produced this quickly... Sad, really, for his astounding reputation...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2007

    Could have been better...

    This was actually my first Dean Koontz novel, and while I had heard about what a great author Koontz is, I was disappointed after reading this book. The story was okay, but the ending was extremely lacking. It seemed like Koontz was in a rush to get it over with, while the reader is left wanting a more proper closure with a little more details. Could have been much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2006

    I expected more

    After finishing this book I was somewhat disappointed in the end. I expected more from a DK read. I will admit, I haven't read a DK book in a long time, and if this book is any indication of the newer titles, I'm disappointed¿ as I said ¿I expected more¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2006

    disappointing

    Love DK books, but this one wasn't his best. Kept me interested until the middle and then just fell apart. Seemed like he had a deadline to meet or something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2006

    Disappointing and loooooong...

    I kept waiting for this book to get better, so continued reading it. But halfway through, just couldn't wait for it to be over so that I could move onto something else. Too unbelievable, and I can't imagine how this story could have a happy ending for all of the crimes Mitch committed. It would have been interesting to have a chapter with the police reaction to the entire scenario.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    Husband -- A little dry

    Dean, you are the man, always said it, always will, but I thought the Husband ran out of gumption towards the end of the book. Certainly not your best work, and certainly better than some.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2006

    Like love, wonderful and unreasonable

    How far would I go for love? I've never asked myself the question, either afraid or all to aware of the answer. Koontz makes Mitchell, his main protagonist, confront this question. It all starts off innocuously enough with a garden scene, and then Mitchell receives a phone call. Someone has kidnapped his wife and will only return her in exchange for an exorbitant amount of money Mitchell doesn't have. To prove his malevolent intentions the kidnapper concludes the call by telling Mitchell to watch the man across the street ¿ who dies shortly thereafter of a bullet from a sniper's rifle. From this beginning Koontz uses his usual tricks and turns to keep us in suspense as we learn with Mitchell how far he is willing to go for love, what he will accept to do in order to get his wife back and return to his until then perfect life¿ Not my favorite Koontz, but the hook is the premise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    Koontz fan from way back

    I have read every DK book he has written, but after 87 pages of this one, I put it down for good. Just not up to his best efforts. I don't know where he is going with this story, but I don't think I'll be going there with him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2006

    whats going on in your head dean koontzs???

    i was reading this book and every page dean was on he was explaning every little thing. the dog the blood he left nothing for you to think about and want to come back it was like him fussing at you the hole time.dig deeper dean i know you have it in you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2