Customer Reviews for

The Husband

Average Rating 4
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

What Would You Do For Love?

I've always thought of Dean Koontz as the master of psychological suspense. His novels are aways full of weird and over the top characters that he makes believable and then he puts them in situations which are weird and over the top and makes them believable. This ti...
I've always thought of Dean Koontz as the master of psychological suspense. His novels are aways full of weird and over the top characters that he makes believable and then he puts them in situations which are weird and over the top and makes them believable. This time around Dean changes things up a bit. He takes an average Joe and puts him in a seemingly no win situation. Mitch Rafferty, owner of a two man landscaping business gets the phone call no husband would want. Someone has his wife. That's the bad news. The worse news is, the someone wants $2 million in 60 hours. He doesn't have that kind of money and they know it. Still, they're convinced he'll find away to get the funds. If he loves his wife. He loves her. No question. The kidnappers tighten the screws from that moment on by first killing someone 'innocent' so Mitch will know they mean business. Things go down hill for our hero from there. One of the things I really liked about this story was how Dean shows two people who were raised in the same dysfunctional environment could respond to that upbringing in totally different ways. You'll have to read the book to find out what I mean. I try to never include plot spoilers in my reviews. I gave a rating of 5 stars because I loved the story. Koontz in one of my all time favorite novelists. I dream of one day writing my own novels half as well as he does. However, this novel wasn't without its problems for me. One, the scenes with the wife when she's held captive just didn't work for me. When I read the sections with Mitch it was like I was right there with him. Almost like what happened to him happened to me. With those sections devoted to his wife I felt somehow distant from the situation. I don't know why. I don't believe this is the desired affect Dean meant. The second thing I didn't care for was just a pet peeve of mine and it didn't really take away from the story. Most stories have this same element in them. I've just never understood why. Here's what I'm talking about. The novel is 68 chapters. In chapter one Mitch learns of his wife's kidnapping. From chapter two on Mitch is doing everything he can to get her back. After all that can happen happens, we come to chapter 68. It's 3 years later and everything is normal again. What's the rub for me? Mitch did some pretty terrible and even illegal things in an attempt to get his wife back. Seemingly, there were no repercussions for his actions. I know one would say he was justified, but I'm just not sure how the law would take this in the real world. Maybe that's the point. It's not real life, it's a novel. And a great thrill ride it is. Pick up a copy and see what you think. I believe you won't be disappointed.

posted by Anonymous on August 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

I'm so confused. I have been a Dean Koontz fan for years, ever since I first found Strangers in my high-school library. There had NEVER been a book that I didn't like, until the release of VELOCITY. I actually, almost, nearly, dare I say it?--hated that book. Then along...
I'm so confused. I have been a Dean Koontz fan for years, ever since I first found Strangers in my high-school library. There had NEVER been a book that I didn't like, until the release of VELOCITY. I actually, almost, nearly, dare I say it?--hated that book. Then along comes THE HUSBAND, and I wanted so badly to love it like I loved previous books like WATCHERS, ODD THOMAS, and PRODIGAL SON. Alas, it was not to be.

The premise of thrusting an ordinary man (a gardener/landscaper) into unbelievably horrific circumstances was a good one. Unfortunately, I couldn't "like" the characters. Said gardener was bland and boring; his wife (who has been kidnapped) seemed to be little more than an afterthought. The "extra" characters in the book didn't seem to flesh anything out at all. To be honest, I didn't finish the story, although I did flip to the last chapter to see how it ended.

Overall, it was okay, but I long for the days of more supernatural magic that Mr. Koontz's early books brought.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2008

    Could have been better

    This book started off so wonderfully intense and became mediocre in the end. Koontz spends too much time describing the unnecessary. I hoped for something great , but did not get it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2007

    not impressed

    I have read all of dean koontz books and this one was not up to parr. I wonder if he is getting mellow with his writing over the years.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2008

    It's not 'The Good Guy'

    Love the story idea, but wish another author had written the book. Koontz has a tendency to go on and on. He did so much of that in this book, I fell asleep twice.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2006

    I Wish I Had Loved It

    I'm so confused. I have been a Dean Koontz fan for years, ever since I first found STRANGERS in my high-school library. There had NEVER been a book that I didn't like, until the release of VELOCITY. I actually, almost, nearly, dare I say it?--hated that book. Then along comes THE HUSBAND, and I wanted so badly to love it like I loved previous books like WATCHERS, ODD THOMAS, and FRANKENSTEIN. Alas, it was not to be. The premise of thrusting an ordinary man (a gardner/landscaper) into unbelievably horrific circumstances was a good one. Unfortunately, I couldn't 'like' the characters. Said gardner was bland and boring his wife (who has been kidnapped) seemed to be little more than an afterthought. The 'extra' characters in the book didn't seem to flesh anything out at all. To be honest, I didn't finish the story, although I did flip to the last chapter to see how it ended. Overall, it was okay, but I long for the days of more supernatural magic that Mr. Koontz's early books brought.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Alright already..

    I liked this book, first Koontz novel I've read, just wish he could have wrapped up the ending a chapter or two earlier. I got tired of the almost but not quite theme!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    Not one of his best, but still worth the read

    The book started off pretty well for me. I was highly intrigued from the get go. The thought that something like this could possibly happen somewhere in this crazy world is what kept me reading. 'I'm not big on the whole monsters, vampires or alien stuff' However, i agree with most of the other readers, the ending was terrible and very rushed! Even though it's not one of his best, i personally believe it's worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    The book itself is really good however, I don't know what Dean Koontz was thinking when he wrote the last 50+ pages. It's like he started getting bored with writing it and just wanted to finish it up as quickly as possible. There were so many different ways he could have wrapped this up, but chose to take the 'easy' way out and fast-forward to three years later. That doesn't sit well with me. I've invested in reading about these characters and then it just says OK,here's where they are three years later. Tell me HOW they got to that point. I'm a Koontz fan, but I agree with other reviews that he's more of a horror writer. Leave these types of books to Mary Higgins Clark and whatnot. Overall, I was disappointed, but I will admit that I couldn't put the book down throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    This audio book is poorly read

    A big fan of Dean Koontz, I loved the audio versions of 'Life Expectancy', 'Odd Thomas' and many others, however, the hackneyed job done by the untalented (or artistically misguided) reader, Holter Graham, completely distracts and disappoints this Dean Koontz audio fan. While I adored the tongue-in-cheek delivery of John Bedford Lloyd who read the unabridged CD of 'Life Expectancy', and was particularly fascinated with the oratory skills of David Aaron Baker who read 'Odd Thomas' - both readers who complimented Koontz' underlying storyline - I am very distracted by the deadpan, atonal, monotone and uncertainly paced oratory pacing of this reader, Holter Graham. I don¿t know what the publisher was thinking when it allowed Holter Graham to read the story into audio for ¿The Husband¿. Graham¿s atonal fits and starts for reading the story were particularly distracting. This morning, for instance, when we reached chapter 13, I was particularly distracted by the emphasis of the words ¿this estate¿ in a sentance - enough so to have to play the segment twice as I just couldn¿t reconcile the emphasis placed on `thisa (silence) state¿ when describing a passage discussing Mitch¿s entrance into stone gates at an estate. Completely derailed me from enjoying the story while I was driving to work. The recording of an audio reading continues to be short-changed by the publishers as they are either too cheap to pay for appropriate and consistent talent with excellent oratory skills, or they are trying to `dress up¿ the reading by the use of inappropriate or jarring mood music and other background noises. Please, please, please ¿ consider the importance of the oratory delivery skills when hiring someone to read a book into audio format. I, for one, very much resent spending $35 for a book that could be wonderful but which is irritating me endlessly because the person chosen for the reading has no oratory skills to match the skill of the writer. I am up to chapter 33 and still enjoying the underlying story, even if I can't enjoy the skills of the reader who is telling the tale. This is one Dean Koontz that I should have skipped on audio, that's for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2006

    Amazing story, Weak finish

    I think Dean Koontz is an amazing author who always delievers in his books (The Face, Odd Thomas, Life Expectancy, Velocity). I thought Dean was about to do it again in 'The Husband' and for a while it looked like he did...until I got to the end of the book. Dean leaves so much in the story left unexplained. What happened to Anson? What happened to the Julian Campbell? Detective Taggart? John Knox's body? He leaves everything up in the air and nothing really ties in together like you would expect an author like Dean Koontz to do. Maybe he is getting too old to realize this or maybe he was just lazy. Either way, a promising plot failed to deliver in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2006

    Very thrilling, but equally confusing

    Up front, I would have to say that I did enjoy this book overall, however I found it to be too inconsistent to give it a higher rating (although 3.5 stars would be closer to my real feelings). The only characters in the book that I could truly understand the motivations for were the title character and his wife. Everybody else in the book (with the possible exception of the police detective) seemed to me to have very unclear motivations in their actions. I also did not understand how the title character did not end up getting arrested (this IS a novel, not real life, but really). All in all, not great literature, but more then satisfying for a best-selling thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2006

    Not his best work

    The first half of this book was great!!! Very suspenseful and full of plot twists and surprises. However, the plot fizzles towards the middle, and leaves the reader wanting more of the excitement found in the beginning. After finishing the book, I was disappointed overall...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2006

    High Expectations Unmet

    A new Dean Koontz novel is an event. Considering this author's many bestsellers and his ability to raise and keep reader interest, The Husband, disappoints. Even if you put aside realism, which helps in many fast paced modern thrillers, the continual bad luck/luck breaks that befall hero husband, Mitch Rafferty, strain credibility. For example, Mitch's bad luck begins with a kidnapper's phone call informs him that his wife has been abducted and he can get her back for two million bucks. How is Mitch, a modest living 28-year old California landscaper, supposed to get his hands on such a windfall in a couple of days? Koontz fans will probably disagree with me, but it is more than a bit contrived when later in the book it's revealed that Mitch's older brother, Anson, is a multi-millionaire. Then, how Anson goes from a heroic figure to a malevolent creep in just a couple of chapters will have you shaking your head in disbelief. What disappointed me the most, however, was how Koontz wrapped up the book in the final chapter by skipping ahead three years and giving short shrift to important plot points by loosely tying them up. Finished?, yes. Satisfying?, no! You expect alot from this great author and it disappoints when his high standards are not met.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2006

    A Good Read, but fell towards the end

    The book started out really good and kept me captivated until Koontz got kind of ridiculous. The events that happened in the book were not realistic. The crimes the husband committed in the book would not have ended happily. More like behind bars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2006

    Needs a better ending.

    The book started off good. It had an Interesting story and a few good twists, but the end was predictable and kind of left you wanting for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2006

    Not one of his better books

    This book was good but it ended way too abruptly. It also had way too much descriptions of everything. I guess I expected it to be better since it was Dean Koontz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2