Customer Reviews for

The Husband

Average Rating 4
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

What Would You Do For Love?

I've always thought of Dean Koontz as the master of psychological suspense. His novels are aways full of weird and over the top characters that he makes believable and then he puts them in situations which are weird and over the top and makes them believable. This ti...
I've always thought of Dean Koontz as the master of psychological suspense. His novels are aways full of weird and over the top characters that he makes believable and then he puts them in situations which are weird and over the top and makes them believable. This time around Dean changes things up a bit. He takes an average Joe and puts him in a seemingly no win situation. Mitch Rafferty, owner of a two man landscaping business gets the phone call no husband would want. Someone has his wife. That's the bad news. The worse news is, the someone wants $2 million in 60 hours. He doesn't have that kind of money and they know it. Still, they're convinced he'll find away to get the funds. If he loves his wife. He loves her. No question. The kidnappers tighten the screws from that moment on by first killing someone 'innocent' so Mitch will know they mean business. Things go down hill for our hero from there. One of the things I really liked about this story was how Dean shows two people who were raised in the same dysfunctional environment could respond to that upbringing in totally different ways. You'll have to read the book to find out what I mean. I try to never include plot spoilers in my reviews. I gave a rating of 5 stars because I loved the story. Koontz in one of my all time favorite novelists. I dream of one day writing my own novels half as well as he does. However, this novel wasn't without its problems for me. One, the scenes with the wife when she's held captive just didn't work for me. When I read the sections with Mitch it was like I was right there with him. Almost like what happened to him happened to me. With those sections devoted to his wife I felt somehow distant from the situation. I don't know why. I don't believe this is the desired affect Dean meant. The second thing I didn't care for was just a pet peeve of mine and it didn't really take away from the story. Most stories have this same element in them. I've just never understood why. Here's what I'm talking about. The novel is 68 chapters. In chapter one Mitch learns of his wife's kidnapping. From chapter two on Mitch is doing everything he can to get her back. After all that can happen happens, we come to chapter 68. It's 3 years later and everything is normal again. What's the rub for me? Mitch did some pretty terrible and even illegal things in an attempt to get his wife back. Seemingly, there were no repercussions for his actions. I know one would say he was justified, but I'm just not sure how the law would take this in the real world. Maybe that's the point. It's not real life, it's a novel. And a great thrill ride it is. Pick up a copy and see what you think. I believe you won't be disappointed.

posted by Anonymous on August 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

I'm so confused. I have been a Dean Koontz fan for years, ever since I first found Strangers in my high-school library. There had NEVER been a book that I didn't like, until the release of VELOCITY. I actually, almost, nearly, dare I say it?--hated that book. Then along...
I'm so confused. I have been a Dean Koontz fan for years, ever since I first found Strangers in my high-school library. There had NEVER been a book that I didn't like, until the release of VELOCITY. I actually, almost, nearly, dare I say it?--hated that book. Then along comes THE HUSBAND, and I wanted so badly to love it like I loved previous books like WATCHERS, ODD THOMAS, and PRODIGAL SON. Alas, it was not to be.

The premise of thrusting an ordinary man (a gardener/landscaper) into unbelievably horrific circumstances was a good one. Unfortunately, I couldn't "like" the characters. Said gardener was bland and boring; his wife (who has been kidnapped) seemed to be little more than an afterthought. The "extra" characters in the book didn't seem to flesh anything out at all. To be honest, I didn't finish the story, although I did flip to the last chapter to see how it ended.

Overall, it was okay, but I long for the days of more supernatural magic that Mr. Koontz's early books brought.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 90 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    amazing

    my teacher told my friend and i about this book. he said it was awesome and i agree. i had a hard time putting it down. definitely the best book i've ever read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2007

    Fast paced, compelling read

    I loved this book, from start to finish I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2007

    A Great read with several twists!

    This book is great because you can think of yourself as the main character. What would you do to get your wife back even though you as a regular guy do not have 2 million dollars. Would make a great movie. I could not put it down because it keeps you wondering who the bad guy(s) are. I consider this one in the top 3 of Koontz's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    One of the Best Written by the Best!!

    The 'Husband' is a page turner. This book had me from page one. It broke my heart to lay this book down until I finished it. I will read this one again and again. I highly recommend this book to Mystery Lovers, Especially Dean Koontz Fans. This is definitely one of the best books he has ever written, with the exception of 'Intensity' of course!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2006

    Koontz is out of his 'box' and I'm Loving it!!

    Having read every single Dean Koontz book ever written, I've come to expect great reads from Mr. Koontz. I even bought the primer to find books published under his pseudonyms. I love his style and this bad boy was really different. I just loved it! This book rocks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2006

    Wonderful!

    I love this book! I have read Dean Koontz for a long time now and have a copy of every one of his books. I love how he is taking charactures and making them 'real' in the sense that you go along with them in the short time frame that he has alloted for the story to take place. (Odd Thomas does this as well) Dean is a writer to be applauded for the work he has achieved over the years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    Another bestseller!!!

    This book is one of the best ones from Dean Koontz that I have seen since I started reading his books. He always gives new thrills. The books are so realistic. Everything that happens in his books could happen in real life. Excellent book. Excellent Author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    Another great book

    I like any and everything by Koontz. My first read was 'Odd Thomas' which I dearly loved. Then I read all his others. The guy can't miss! He's a genius at taking an every-day situation and turning it into a nightmare that will get your pulse racing. Problem is, it's hard to tell you how great this book is without giving away the story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2006

    Great charactors-really human

    I've read every Dean Koontz book I can find. His charactors are so real. This book was no exception. The only draw back I can find is the fact that I finish the book to quickly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2006

    He aint heavy he's my brother,bullcrap.

    This was a pretty good read. I read the book in two days,a thriller from the opening scene to the end. When you think you got something solved a new twist develops.This would make a good movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2006

    Koonts Scores

    Grabs you from the first page to the last. A winning plot with twists to hold you all the way to the end. Koont's fans will not be disappointed, first time readers will want more after this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    Dean Koontz Rockz!

    I read a lot and tell people often what's good out there and what's garbage. You mention Dean Koontz and they say 'He writes horror'. Not anymore. His last few novels (not including his Frankenstein series) have been over-the-top thrillers. I have been reading Koontz for almost 20 years and never disappointed. Unlike some authors who churn 2 -3 books out a year, Koontz takes his time and produces a novel that stays with you long after your done reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2006

    Dean Koontz is the man...

    I have been reading his material for at least 20 years. I have noticed how his writing has changed and am very impressed. He has moved from a more supernatural flair to everyday life issues. He is my absolute favorite author and has created another masterpiece in The Husband. The twists and turns in this novel keep you from being able to put it down. I finished it in 2 days. Thank you Dean Koontz for another wonderful ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2006

    More of a comment...

    I read it last weekend. Started saturday, and it was painful to put down. I finished it sunday. It was fast paced and fun to read. I really enjoyed it and am missing it now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A WINNER FROM KOONTZ AND NARRATOR HOLTER GRAHAM

    It's a sunny day in Southern California, a perfect day for planting impatiens, which is precisely what gardener Mitchell Rafferty is doing when his cell phone rings. Suddenly the sunshine vanishes and the day turns dark, very dark when he hears the voice of his wife: Mitch, I love you,' Holly said. 'Hey, sweetie.' 'Whatever happens, I love you.' She cried out in pain. A clatter and crash suggested a struggle. Alarmed, Mitch rose to his feet. 'Holly?' Some guy said something, some guy who now had the phone. Mitch didn't hear the words because he was focused on the background noise. Holly squealed. He'd never heard such a sound from her, such fear. She was silenced by a sharp crack, as though she'd been slapped. The stranger on the phone said, 'You hear me, Rafferty?' 'Holly? Where's Holly?' In answer to that question he's told that she'll be returned to him when he hands over 2 million dollars. Just to make absolutely sure that Mitch clearly understands who he's dealing with he's told to look across the street at the man walking a dog. Within a split second that man is shot dead. Of course, he's warned not to contact the police but to simply do as he's told. How's that for early in a first chapter? Leave it to Koontz to have listeners glued to their audiobooks, trying to imagine how Mitch is going to save his wife. Initially he obeys orders and will have nothing to do with the police, but as luck would have it there's a suspicious detective who keeps getting in the middle. Actor/producer Holter Graham has a deep pleasant to the ear voice. He perfectly reflects Mitch's fear and dogged determination thus reeling in listeners as tension mounts. Highly recommended. - Gail Cooke

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2006

    An 'In-the-moment' thrill ride!

    No writer is better at putting the reader right in the middle of the story than Dean Koontz. Mitch Rafferty owns a two-man landscaping business. He isn't rich by any means, yet his wife is kidnapped and the kidnappers tell him that if he doesn't pay them two million dollars within 60 hours, she will die horribly. Once the terms have been set, your mind will be clicking, wondering where in the world Mitch is going to get two million bucks! The story unfolds at breakneck speed. Mitch races to meet the kidnappers' demands while obstacles present themselves left and right. In the process Mitch learns how very capable he is and to what lengths he will go to save his wife, Holly, who is one heck of a heroine, by the way. Most of all Mitch learns just how much strength of will he possesses. This is another Koontz tale in which the human spirit triumphs. I loved it. Wish it had been longer. Well, I had to get one gripe in...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2006

    Couldn't put the book down...

    I had the book for two days and just finished it. I couldn't put it down! He is an amazing writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2006

    A renewed Koontz Fan

    Having loved Intensity, I later found many of Koontz's books a bit too improbable for my taste with somewhat supernatural themes. HOWEVER, with The Husband, I found the old Koontz style I personanlly like. I could not put this book down, literally taking it whereever I went. I even would gasp out loud at parts and then have to explain to my husband what was going on. A MUST READ for Koontz as well as fans of a great suspense, hold your interest book lovers, ...a well written page turner summer treat...go buy it NOW!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2006

    Good Book!!

    Dean Koontz has always been one of my favorite authors. However, his more recent books(not including the Odd Books) have mostly been poor. This book is excellent. I recommend to anyone who likes fast paced reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2006

    A page turning thrill a minute

    The Husband is Dean Koontz at the top of his game. The twists and turns are a thrill a minute, but are never far fetched or out of context for the characters. Devote a pleasurable five to six hours to this novel. You won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 90 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5