Customer Reviews for

Husband-Coached Childbirth (Fifth Edition): The Bradley Method of Natural Childbirth

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great book for pregnant women and their partners

This book was written for a pregnant woman's partner to read during her pregnancy. However, as a pregnant woman I found it very informative and motivational as well. It gives excellent advice on how best to pursue a natural child birth with little to no medical interv...
This book was written for a pregnant woman's partner to read during her pregnancy. However, as a pregnant woman I found it very informative and motivational as well. It gives excellent advice on how best to pursue a natural child birth with little to no medical intervention. It is empowering to the new mother, but also to her partner. It offers detailed advice as to what the partner can do to help support, comfort and motivate his/her partner during pregnancy, childbirth and afterwards. The name "Husband-Coached" may seem a little off-putting to anyone going through childbirth with a partner that is not technically their "husband", but the ideas are universal and can be applied regardless of what you officially call your partner!

posted by 194936 on March 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not what I thought

I thought this book would be a "how to" guide for pre-, during, and post- labor relaxation techniques. There is some of that in here, but most of it was propaganda and stories...so it wasn't all that useful to me. Evidentally there is another book or manual similar to...
I thought this book would be a "how to" guide for pre-, during, and post- labor relaxation techniques. There is some of that in here, but most of it was propaganda and stories...so it wasn't all that useful to me. Evidentally there is another book or manual similar to this one that may have better information about the techniques, but I am not willing to spend money on that one after being burned by this one.

posted by 2668947 on May 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    The original was much better.

    The information is the original is still important, even though the language is outdated. This version revised by the Hathaways, is terrible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    Not what I thought

    I thought this book would be a "how to" guide for pre-, during, and post- labor relaxation techniques. There is some of that in here, but most of it was propaganda and stories...so it wasn't all that useful to me. Evidentally there is another book or manual similar to this one that may have better information about the techniques, but I am not willing to spend money on that one after being burned by this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2010

    Not reader friendly

    I bought this for my husband... He uses it as a coaster on his bedside table. I think it could have been written in such a way that would capture father readers better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book for pregnant women and their partners

    This book was written for a pregnant woman's partner to read during her pregnancy. However, as a pregnant woman I found it very informative and motivational as well. It gives excellent advice on how best to pursue a natural child birth with little to no medical intervention. It is empowering to the new mother, but also to her partner. It offers detailed advice as to what the partner can do to help support, comfort and motivate his/her partner during pregnancy, childbirth and afterwards. The name "Husband-Coached" may seem a little off-putting to anyone going through childbirth with a partner that is not technically their "husband", but the ideas are universal and can be applied regardless of what you officially call your partner!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Must Read for Husbands/Coaches supporting Natural Births

    Having read other Bradley books in preparation for our first born, I bought this book for my husband at about 28 week pregnant, hoping to get him to start researching/preparing. Two chapters in, he stayed home from work one day b/c he couldn't stop reading. He was so inspired, he began calling midwifes and obstetricians, searching for someone that was pro-Bradley, as we had become disillusioned with our existing OB and feared that we would get pressured into a high intervention birth at the hospital at which she delivers. Largely b/c of this book and how it fired up my husband as my advocate, we switched to a fantastic midwife at 30 wks pregnant, switched hospitals, and now are completely relaxed about our impending birth in about 6 weeks. Also b/c of this book, my previously complacent husband now calls me at work to remind me to shut my office door and do my "birth exercises." I highly recommend this book for any couple that is determined to have a natural childbirth. Knowing that I have an invested, educated, excited husband-coach beside me, I don't fear the pain of childbirth at all. This book has made us a strong team, thrilled about the natural childbirth we are planning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Very helpful information.

    Not as good as a class, but very helpful information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    Bradley is still the best!

    I used "Husband-Coached Childbirth" when I was pregnant in 1978 and 1982. It helped me find what I needed to give my children the best possible start for life. Now my daughter is pregnant and I bought the new edition for her and her husband. We all have a much better understanding why it is so important to have a truly natural birth when possible and a relaxation technique to help it happen. If you only read one book on childbirth, make it this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2008

    A reviewer

    I believe in knowing your options for everything, and if you don't just accept the norm for childbirth, this book will help you know your options. An extremely informative and well-written guide to the options of childbirth.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2008

    Prepared me for birth

    This book prepared us for the 18 hours of labor that I went through with my first baby. I knew what to expect and how to work through it. It's not a method widely used in my area and a nurse commented on how well I did in labor and wanted to look more into Dr. Bradley's method. The key is to actually practice relaxation and breathing long before the day you go into labor so that his method comes naturally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    PLEASE!

    I went through 15 hours of unmedicated labor with my daughter. Once that pain hits you, you completely forget everything you supposedly learned. You ignore everyone around you. Most of all, the whole notion of being told to 'relax' through a contraction is total B.S. It is IMPOSSIBLE to relax while going through that much pain. I think Bradley is full of it. It's great in theory but the only thing that helped me was BREATHING, BREATHING, BREATHING...and back massage. 'Relax.' Riiiiiiiight. I'd love to see Dr. Bradley himself try to give birth using his method!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2007

    Insightful Truths Why All Can Give Birth Naturally

    Dr. Bradley tells couples exactly what both the pregnant mother and the expecting father should be doing in preparation for labor and how to achieve a natural, normal birth experience. Dr. Bradley focuses on the father in this book entitled Husband Coached Childbirth because Dr. Bradley's years of experience in obstetrical practice taught him that no person's presence in the labor room is more important than the laboring mother's husband. If the husband is her emotional rock and support outside of childbirth, then he should be the #1 support person during childbirth, too. Dr. Bradley advises husbands how to fulfill their important role by giving husbands the understanding they need about childbirth so they can properly assist their pregnant wives during pregnancy and during labor and delivery! Dr. Bradley shares insightful knowledge on how to have a natural, normal birth that every couple, CBE, doula, midwife, OB should follow. This is an excellent read and unmatched resource for all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2006

    Great Book

    I think this book was excellent. It is geared towards the father, and even if women are the ones giving birth, the fathers want to be a part of that, and Dr. Bradley did a wonderful job with this. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in a more natural childbirth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2001

    Helpful

    This book is the classic Bradley intended it to be. His focus on natural birth is admirable. I did have a problem with the constant focus on DAD. Hello? It's the MOM who's giving birth!! Dad has never given birth and never will. Otherwise, the book is to be recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2000

    Absolutely the Best Way

    My husband and I used this Bradley book back in 1966 before birthing as a couple was accepted. My husband and I both read the book. It changed all our plans for birthing and over the years we had 4 wonderful birthing experiences- shared, full of joy, and without pain for me. My copy is now in tatters from being read and re-read. A marvelous guide for couples that wish to have birthing as a shared experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1