Customer Reviews for

The Husband Habit

Average Rating 3.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Love2 read

Love all her books

posted by 2295902 on September 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

50/50

I gave this book only 3 stars for a number of reasons. For one, jm not big on third person writing. Becasue of this, i think it lacked a few details in certain areas which annoyed me. Also this book speaks of a man who was in the air force. Clearly the author was agains...
I gave this book only 3 stars for a number of reasons. For one, jm not big on third person writing. Becasue of this, i think it lacked a few details in certain areas which annoyed me. Also this book speaks of a man who was in the air force. Clearly the author was against the war in iraq(as im sure we all were) but reading it in this book, somehow didnt feel right. I dont know how to explain it but it was just maybe a bit much on how against the military the charecters were. It was an okay read. It didnt really keep me intrested and at times i forgot that i had book to finish up. I wouldnt not reccomend this book but it wouldnt be one of the books on the top of my list either. I also thought the ending would have been a little longer or had a diffrent outcome.

posted by 11114501 on February 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    The story starts off with Vanessa meeting a man for the first ti

    The story starts off with Vanessa meeting a man for the first time ever after months of correspondence via online dating. After making a quick remark about the stick-figured woman on the bathroom door being sexually biased because of the triangle-shaped skirt (chill out, girl, it’s just a sign,) Vanessa goes into a frenzy trying to make herself look “good” for a stranger; and, when she does meet him, she gets a little too “friendly” and becomes naïve at the assurance that “he is her soul mate.” (pg. 8) Oh, please.


    It was only after a horrific scene with an angry ex-wife that Vanessa realizes that she’s developed “quite the husband habit.” (pg. 17) Part of me actually thought that she deserved what she got for being so fast with men; on the other hand, I couldn’t help but wonder if her intentions were truly genuine.


    One thing that bothered me about Vanessa was how adamant she’d be about taking things slow—gardening, cooking, biking, walking, and generally living—but, for some reason, she refused to do the same with men. The character also spent too much talking about her New Mexico house and her food. We get it, she loves them. Can we move on now?


    Overall, the writing reads as if you were being preached to. I didn’t feel like I was a part of the story, or even a spectator of it. At times, the author went off on a tangent to insert a personal commentary or opinion that had virtually nothing to do with the story. Also, there were a lot of fragments—too many words and phrases that were segregated from each other and stationed in their own sentence that made for some pretty tedious reading. Additionally, the POV was constantly changing. One minute, the story is being told in the third person, and the next, the first person takes over in the voice of Vanessa. I really wish the author would’ve kept this consistent.


    If you ask me, I think this book required more effort. I would’ve liked to have seen Vanessa in her dating journey and how she came to develop this “husband habit” just so I could’ve known her better. Maybe if I’d gotten to know her better, I would’ve cared more for Vanessa and the rest of the cast instead of thinking that they all could’ve used more renditions of clearly drawn attributes. The best part about this book was chapter one, where the reader becomes introduced to Vanessa’s “husband habit,” even though the history of it was never specified.


    In conclusion, this was just a boring and disappointing book that I had higher hopes for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Love2 read

    Love all her books

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    If you like snotty...

    There is no question the book is well written and the author is literate. I still did not like the book. The "heroine" was snobby and self-entitled just because she grew her own garden and could cook. She was judgmental because the character meant to be her male counterpart in the book wasn't in the right attire/background at their initial meeting or had the right bumper sticker on his truck. The way she blanketed a snap judgment over him (REPEATEDLY throughout the book) just because he had served in the military was annoying. I'm sorry, I was unaware that the people serving our country had joined simply because they wanted oil. Of COURSE there are things that were NOT immediately revealed to them regarding missions they are assigned to. It was frustrating the way she repeatedly harped on people who were in the military. It was ignorant to blanket a judgment like that regarding anyone's reason for enlisting. It was offensive and annoying.

    The banter flailed, and I couldn't ascertain how some of Vanessa's remarks were described as witty enough to impress anyone.

    The unnecessary drama at the end of book just made the book all that more infuriating. She's supposedly in love with this guy, and finds supposedly incriminating evidence about a past relationship he had, and instead of confronting him or asking him about it like the adult she's supposed to be (you'd think if she was smart enough how to use the word neophyte - which I don't care about, but apparently, the character Vanessa does - she'd know what the phrase "act like an adult" means, and then DO it), she abruptly decides the relationship is over and goes home to sulk in her bathtub. There were some points the author made in the book that were truly enlightening, but there weren't enough of them to ever convince me to buy another one of her books again.

    I don't mind when romance books are predictable (because we're obviously not reading these books because we don't want to see people in love and happy at the end). But when drama is added JUST so there's drama, and idiotic lines like "There's nothing hotter than a messed-up soldier...." litter the book, and the character is a snob just because she has a developed vocabulary and is uptight enough that she has to coordinate a soundtrack based on what she's cooking overwhelm the book, that just equates to a huge waste of time and money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Not worth the money

    The book is not badly writen but the content is terrible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    50/50

    I gave this book only 3 stars for a number of reasons. For one, jm not big on third person writing. Becasue of this, i think it lacked a few details in certain areas which annoyed me. Also this book speaks of a man who was in the air force. Clearly the author was against the war in iraq(as im sure we all were) but reading it in this book, somehow didnt feel right. I dont know how to explain it but it was just maybe a bit much on how against the military the charecters were. It was an okay read. It didnt really keep me intrested and at times i forgot that i had book to finish up. I wouldnt not reccomend this book but it wouldnt be one of the books on the top of my list either. I also thought the ending would have been a little longer or had a diffrent outcome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!!!!

    Loved this book.... the characters and the plot I stayed up all night just to finish it and when I got to the end was so upset that it was over... Cant wait for the next one :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    Sophisticated and intriguing with the right touch of romance...

    I wonder who was the inspiration for Paul's character because he sounds scrumptious! :D I love the author's tone in this book. It makes the characters seem like someone you could know without over exaggerating a chick lit. I could see this story on a made-for-TV movie or even an Indy movie. The book design is beautiful! Well worth the purchase. WTG Alisa! I would have loved to see an epilogue that included Vanessa's menu from her party. Maybe add it to the author's website? It's a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Loved the book

    I loved this book, hope she writes more. Cannot get enough

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very good

    it shows that you just have to take things slow and just lets things happen on its own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    Great read by the pool

    I may be a bit bias because she is my favorite author but this is my favorite new book. This book is definitely read by the pool or beach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2