Customer Reviews for

Hush: An Irish Princess' Tale

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by JodiG. for TeensReadToo.com

What would you do if you were torn away from your life and everything you knew and forced into slavery? If you were taken to new places where people spoke different languages than you, how would you persevere?

Meet Melkorka, the oldest daughter of an Irish kin...
What would you do if you were torn away from your life and everything you knew and forced into slavery? If you were taken to new places where people spoke different languages than you, how would you persevere?

Meet Melkorka, the oldest daughter of an Irish king. As members of royalty, Melkorka and her brother, Nuada, and sister, Brigid, enjoy life at the top of the social structure. In Dublin, travelers from around the world gather to sell their wares. The "heathen" Vikings are among them. Melkorka wants nothing more for her birthday than to visit the stores in Dublin with her family and find the perfect brooch for her cape. The trip ends tragically when her brother is attacked in one of the shops. Although Nuada has survived, he is disfigured and, therefore, no longer able to be the future king.

Melkorka's father, the king, develops a plan for revenge against the Viking offenders. The plan involves luring a Viking ship to their town. Melkorka and her younger sister, Brigid, are sent away in the dark of night to assure their safety.

Before they can reach their destination, Melkorka and Brigid are abducted and taken aboard a ship bound for an unknown destination. Although her instinct is to announce her royal status and demand to be treated as such, Melkorka succumbs to the hints from Brigid and the word she has heard her mother utter so often, "Hush." She becomes silent, refusing to speak to her abductors, the other prisoners, or even to scream at the horrors she sees inflicted upon others.

While Brigid manages a daring escape, Melkorka remains captive, forming silent bonds with those she is held prisoner with and captivating one of her abductors. Her silence becomes her strength, an unbreakable and enticing gift. But how will a princess adapt to life as a slave? Will she ever escape or will she remain silenced forever?

HUSH is based on an Icelandic folk tale. Donna Jo Napoli has gone to great lengths to create a story for the princess/slave described in the tale. Her writing draws you into the story; you can almost feel the cold air from the deck of the Viking ship. This is an amazing tale of strength and perseverance in the face of insurmountable challenges. A highly recommended reading experience.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I am a historical fiction lover and I really enjoy a tale about princesses. This book sounded like a great read. I finished it in one day, but it was not what I expected. The beginning was very attention-grabbing, but towards the end of the book, it got really weird....
I am a historical fiction lover and I really enjoy a tale about princesses. This book sounded like a great read. I finished it in one day, but it was not what I expected. The beginning was very attention-grabbing, but towards the end of the book, it got really weird. The ending was pretty horrible. It was overall ok. I have read much better books.

posted by Anonymous on July 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by JodiG. for TeensReadToo.com

    What would you do if you were torn away from your life and everything you knew and forced into slavery? If you were taken to new places where people spoke different languages than you, how would you persevere? <BR/><BR/>Meet Melkorka, the oldest daughter of an Irish king. As members of royalty, Melkorka and her brother, Nuada, and sister, Brigid, enjoy life at the top of the social structure. In Dublin, travelers from around the world gather to sell their wares. The "heathen" Vikings are among them. Melkorka wants nothing more for her birthday than to visit the stores in Dublin with her family and find the perfect brooch for her cape. The trip ends tragically when her brother is attacked in one of the shops. Although Nuada has survived, he is disfigured and, therefore, no longer able to be the future king. <BR/><BR/>Melkorka's father, the king, develops a plan for revenge against the Viking offenders. The plan involves luring a Viking ship to their town. Melkorka and her younger sister, Brigid, are sent away in the dark of night to assure their safety. <BR/><BR/>Before they can reach their destination, Melkorka and Brigid are abducted and taken aboard a ship bound for an unknown destination. Although her instinct is to announce her royal status and demand to be treated as such, Melkorka succumbs to the hints from Brigid and the word she has heard her mother utter so often, "Hush." She becomes silent, refusing to speak to her abductors, the other prisoners, or even to scream at the horrors she sees inflicted upon others. <BR/><BR/>While Brigid manages a daring escape, Melkorka remains captive, forming silent bonds with those she is held prisoner with and captivating one of her abductors. Her silence becomes her strength, an unbreakable and enticing gift. But how will a princess adapt to life as a slave? Will she ever escape or will she remain silenced forever? <BR/><BR/>HUSH is based on an Icelandic folk tale. Donna Jo Napoli has gone to great lengths to create a story for the princess/slave described in the tale. Her writing draws you into the story; you can almost feel the cold air from the deck of the Viking ship. This is an amazing tale of strength and perseverance in the face of insurmountable challenges. A highly recommended reading experience.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Awesome

    THIS BOOK IS SO FASCINATING! Read it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2008

    Recommended

    Hush was a very interesting novel. I was not the least bit disappointed until the end (which made me almost cry). But certainly not every book can have a happy ending, just as reality doesn't always have a happy ending. The ending aside, I loved the book and would recommend it to those with a strong tollerance for sadness. Also, it has some intense moments, so probably not advised for young readers.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    I am a historical fiction lover and I really enjoy a tale about princesses. This book sounded like a great read. I finished it in one day, but it was not what I expected. The beginning was very attention-grabbing, but towards the end of the book, it got really weird. The ending was pretty horrible. It was overall ok. I have read much better books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    Some disturbing content

    This was a well written book with excellent character development. But I would not recommend it to young readers because of some disturbing things that happened to the main character and her fellow captives. The horrors of slavery are made very clear. There is no happy ending to this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Proud irish princess-a silent concubine

    If you absolutly hate sad endings than you will hate this book.It is briliantly writen and a wonderful story with unforgetable characters.However i personaly hated the ending.I thought it was sad and depresing,but thier are some that might consider the ending as only semi-sad and still enjoy it. This story had me going the entire time I was reading it(last year on thanksgiving)and I was forever hoping for a happy ending so it was a big blow for me to discover that it wasnt what i was hopping for so fervently.

    This book is about a young irish princess,who is taken abourd a slave ship with her sister. She and her sister deside not to talk so as to make thier origens a secret.Her sister manages to escape but she cant. Eventualy she is sold to a man as a concubine(hore basicaly except they dont have a choice). During the tale I kept waiting for her to somehow make it back with her family. I was disapointed. i wouldnt recomend this book to everyone. But like I said before it is briliantly writen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2008

    It was soooo depressing!!:(

    After reading all the reviews i was really excited about reading this book, but after reading it i was very disappointed. It was so depressing with the abuse and all what the princess went through.I dont recommend this book, unless you like depressing books.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2008

    The best, delightful book you could ever find

    One of the things I love about this book is the way it is written. Suspenseful till the last page, as the words just seem to slide off the page. You might think I'm lying however, this is book is a must-read and reading it for yourself might prove what I'm saying true. Never mind the book, just looking at the author's name you know what's instore for you. When a book like this is written, it deserves a round of applause, for the book as well as the wonderful author who wrote it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    What would you do if you were torn away from your life and everything you knew and forced into slavery? If you were taken to new places where people spoke different languages than you, how would you persevere? Meet Melkorka, the oldest daughter of an Irish king. As members of royalty, Melkorka and her brother, Nuada, and sister, Brigid, enjoy life at the top of the social structure. In Dublin, travelers from around the world gather to sell their wares. The ¿heathen¿ Vikings are among them. Melkorka wants nothing more for her birthday than to visit the stores in Dublin with her family and find the perfect brooch for her cape. The trip ends tragically when her brother is attacked in one of the shops. Although Nuada has survived, he is disfigured and, therefore, no longer able to be the future king. Melkorka¿s father, the king, develops a plan for revenge against the Viking offenders. The plan involves luring a Viking ship to their town. Melkorka and her younger sister, Brigid, are sent away in the dark of night to assure their safety. Before they can reach their destination, Melkorka and Brigid are abducted and taken aboard a ship bound for an unknown destination. Although her instinct is to announce her royal status and demand to be treated as such, Melkorka succumbs to the hints from Brigid and the word she has heard her mother utter so often, ¿Hush.' She becomes silent, refusing to speak to her abductors, the other prisoners, or even to scream at the horrors she sees inflicted upon others. While Brigid manages a daring escape, Melkorka remains captive, forming silent bonds with those she is held prisoner with and captivating one of her abductors. Her silence becomes her strength, an unbreakable and enticing gift. But how will a princess adapt to life as a slave? Will she ever escape or will she remain silenced forever? HUSH is based on an Icelandic folk tale. Donna Jo Napoli has gone to great lengths to create a story for the princess/slave described in the tale. Her writing draws you into the story you can almost feel the cold air from the deck of the Viking ship. This is an amazing tale of strength and perseverance in the face of insurmountable challenges. A highly recommended reading experience. **Reviewed by: JodiG.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2014

    Donna Jo Napoli  takes a heart breaking theme and makes it beaut

    Donna Jo Napoli  takes a heart breaking theme and makes it beautiful in &quot;Hush&quot; With such dark themes as sexual slavery, it's hard to imagine how that would be possible, but she turns the story into one of self-discovery, triumph, and sacrifice. Well done, Napoli!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    This book fascinated me as Melkorka fascinated her captors. I wa

    This book fascinated me as Melkorka fascinated her captors. I was held captive the entire read, and left the Icelandic world with the sense that it would be a sin to make a peep.

    A magical tale.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Its amazing!

    All i have to say is that the ending made me cry and the story is beautiful

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Hush

    An amazing book. Always kept me wondering what was going to happen next.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    I couldn't put this book down! i love the pacing, and all the tr

    I couldn't put this book down!
    i love the pacing, and all the troubles the main character go through, its very intriguing!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    My top 5

    The second I started reading this story I couldn't put it down! No exaggeration. Every chapter was so interesting and had me hanging with each word on what would happen next and the story truly touched my heart. It was very sad but not overwhelmingly depressing, for me personally I felt very hopeful after the ending. Donna Jo Napoli is a truly gifted writer! I have yet to be disappointed with anything she writes but this is the best story of hers I have read yet!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cool

    Hush is a good book about two Irish princess' who must leave their hometown for a few days to escape possible kidnapping. The sad thing is they end up getting kidnapped anyways! It turns out that the people who are kidnapping them are... Slave Traders! The two girls have to "keep their mouths shut" or else people will know where they are from. They must also not interact so that the traders don't find out that their sisters. Hush is Cool.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    A Magnificent Piece of Our Time

    Hush is one of the greatest historical fiction novels that I have ever read. Set during the Medieval ages, Napoli creates a world that realistically portrays sea travelers, the barbarism of the Vikings and Medieval slavery. This is a wonderful read for women of any age. It has many lessons to tell the reader.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The reason?

    How do I describe my feelings for this book? Hush, was an eye opener for me in more than one way. Usually, when I read I tend to pride on those lovey, romantic scenes or the promise of tomorrow with a happy ending; but what I was instore for from the very first page of this book took me by shock. Hands down I love this book without a second guess...yes, I would have prefered a better ending but then again that is what makes this story one of a kind.
    As many author tend to follow the crowd of the people (in my believe) Donna Jo Napoli holds you with suspence that last up until the last page. Heartbreak of the everlasting pain thats lives within the story, the stain of lost but only one moment of love and joy! Donna, speaks the truth in this book, not all thinks can have a blissful ending but some just hold a greater meaning.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    This book was very well written. Its still very sad though, as it is no fairytale and there is no prince coming to save this princess. It isn't conclusive at all, and the only resolution is the transformation the narrator makes from a snotty princess to a daring heroine. Overall, this is a resonant story of survival and brutality that will make you bite your lip in frustration. A real love-it-or-hate-it novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    good book

    i thought this book was pretty good. At some parts of the book it was pretty sad and kind of disturbing, but all in all it was a good book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3