Customer Reviews for

Hush

Average Rating 3.5
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

refreshing stand alone thriller

Forty-four year old marketing consultant Lake Warren has recently divorced her spouse Jack. However, he sues for full custody of their young children. Her divorce lawyer Robert Kotchkiss empathically tells her that to insure Jack has nothing even remotely scandalous ...
Forty-four year old marketing consultant Lake Warren has recently divorced her spouse Jack. However, he sues for full custody of their young children. Her divorce lawyer Robert Kotchkiss empathically tells her that to insure Jack has nothing even remotely scandalous that will give him an issue to hammer her within court; he goes so far to state to her don't date .

Lake is providing her consulting services to the Park Avenue Fertility Center where she meets Los Angeles based medical consultant flirtatious Dr. Keaton. Ignoring her lawyer's admonition for now as the kids are away and thinking spontaneous sex before becoming a nun, she and Keaton make love in his penthouse where she falls asleep. When she awakens with a nasty headache she finds Keaton dead. Fearing that the cops will consider her as a person interest, which is the perfect issue for Jack to use against her, she investigates who murdered Keaton. However, her fear factor explodes when she realizes someone is stalking her.

With the Blond investigative reporter Bailey Weggins taking a well deserved respite, Kate White provides a refreshing stand alone thriller of a woman trying to cover her indiscretion which leads to deeper and deeper troubles for her. Fast-paced once the heroine turns to amateur sleuthing while Archer the detective knows she is concealing something. Fans will appreciate this fine suspense filled tale of a woman in peril depending on no one but herself to find the killer in order to extract herself from the cops accusing her and ultimately a stalker watching her for who knows what

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pass

After recently finishing great a page turner by J. Patterson, I wanted to read something just as exciting & intriguing. This book came recommended so I bought it. In one word it was disappointing. The characters are under-developed & the plot dragged on with needless i...
After recently finishing great a page turner by J. Patterson, I wanted to read something just as exciting & intriguing. This book came recommended so I bought it. In one word it was disappointing. The characters are under-developed & the plot dragged on with needless informtion. The double storylines of dead lover/mystery @ the clinic got old. Many supporting characters came & went & the heroine fell flat for me. Save your $$ people. This book was a bore.

posted by 7664205 on August 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    page turner

    I found this to be a very interesting book. It definitely kept my interest right up until the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A real page-turner

    I don't read many mystery/thriller books, (mostly because I don't like the whole women-in-jeopardy-thing) but once I picked up Kate White's Hush, I found I couldn't put it down.

    Lake Warren (why do they always have names like that?) is going through a bitter divorce, and now her soon-to-be ex is suing for full custody of their two children. She runs her own small marketing firm, and she is in the middle of working on a big presentation for a hot-shot fertility clinic.

    She makes the mistake of sleeping with one of the playboy doctors at the clinic who ends up murdered after their tryst. If she tells the police she was there, she could lose custody of her children. Instead, she decides to find out who the murderer is. Oh yeah, and someone is calling her and leaving frightening messages on her phone. Is it her ex-husband or the real murderer?

    There is also something odd going on at the clinic. Was the doctor killed by a jealous husband, because of gambling debts, or did he find out something illegal was being done at the clinic?

    The author does a good job creating characters with believable motivations. Any mom can relate to panicking at the thought of losing her children, and making bad decisions because of that fear.

    White also paces the action in the novel so well, it's a real page turner. Lake gets herself into more than a few jams, and your pulse will race as she extricates herself. I will say that one of those jams involving water was a little over the top for me, but it was scary.

    The mystery of who killed the doctor keeps you guessing right up until the end, and I have to confess I was surprised. The setting of Manhattan is used to good effect, you really get a good sense of the city.

    If you're looking for something to take you out of your day and you have a few hours on your hands, pick up Hush. Just remind yourself to breathe while you're reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    Kate White's best yet!

    I have read all of Kate White's fiction and enjoyed the light, easy reading that they provide. This book was my favorite so far as her writing here is a little more sophisticated and less "trendy" in its descriptions of time, place and people. It was a perfect beach read and I finished it in a few days as I was always interested and eager to find out what happened!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hush

    Hush is the first book by Kate White that I have had the pleasure of reading. Let me tell you, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I love it when an author writes a smart heroine. I love it when an author works in hot button issues into their plots. I love it when an author shocks me with the "whodunit". Kate White has done all of that with her new book.


    Hush was a fast paced, on the edge of your seat, heart racing kind of thriller. There were some twists and turns throughout the whole story to keep you guessing. And the end? I sooooo didn't see that coming!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Hush - A Page Turning Thriller For a more in depth review, plea

    Hush - A Page Turning Thriller

    For a more in depth review, please visit my blog, Chorley Chronicals!! 




    I just stumbled upon Hush by Kate White while browsing my online library, and I am certainly pleased that I did! I would more so give this book a 3.5 rating, rather than a solid 4, but since I can't give half stars, the book wasn't so horrible that I couldn't give it the higher star. The only reason I would rate it the 3.5 was that some of the things that the main character Lake did, just absolutely drove me batty, leaving me screaming at her while listening!!




    That being said, I certainly wouldn't mind trying out another book by Kate White, because I felt like she wrote a good, solid mystery and suspense novel! Although I did have conflict with some of her character's actions, I did enjoy the cast of characters that were in the book! I also enjoyed the plot of the story and just the whole story line in general.




    The narrator, Aimee Jolson, did a great job of keeping me entertained throughout and followed the highs and lows of the book nicely! She was a smooth, crisp, clean reader that was pleasant to listen to. I wouldn't hesitate to listen to another book narrated by her!




    Overall, I did enjoy Hush, and my only real complaint about the book was some of the, "What were you thinking" moments that I found throughout, especially the beginning of the book! However, I think that part of it made the story what it was! I will seek out other books by Kate White and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others that they read Hush!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    As a fan of Bailey Weggins mysteries by Kate White, I was excite

    As a fan of Bailey Weggins mysteries by Kate White, I was excited to read something with a new character. In Hush we are introduced to Lake Warren, a marketing consultant facing a divorce with a custody battle erupting, lust for a man she barely knows, tested friendships, lies and secrets that put her life in danger.  As the story unfolded I learned one of the reservations I had for
    (no spoiler here) was for a good reason, but the rest of the pages had my mind going back and forth.  A great who done it. Perhaps Ms. Warren will meet up with Bailey in a future book? Now that would be a killer duo.  So yes, if you like mysteries
    with twists and as always a bit of risky romance pick up Hush and enjoy.  I have read all Fiction work by White except for the 6th in the Bailey Weggins mysteries; So Pretty it Hurts which is definitely next on my list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Great Read

    It was my first book by this author and I found it very easy to read and hard to put down. It kept me thinking "who done it" thru the whole book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    good

    i really enjoyed this book! very hard to put down and u played the who did it til the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    A "can't put down" book!

    Kate White had a way of ending a chapter that made you need to continue reading into the next chapter throughout the book!! Great!! My Book Club friends and I enjoyed it very much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    HUSH

    This was my first Kate Whit Novel.I first read a little piece of this book in the Cosmo magazine. I was very intrigued so I wen and brought it. I loved the book! I found my self laughin out loud at one point and then i would gasp like OMG!!! It was jusy a really good book from cover to cover!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2