BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hush, Hush (Hush, Hush Saga #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4230 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2840)

4 Star

(834)

3 Star

(313)

2 Star

(134)

1 Star

(109)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

132 out of 139 people found this review helpful.

Dark and sexy

First off, the storyline. Many people have said this is too similar to Twilight. But c'mon people, this is about fallen angels, not vampires. Stop complaining and realize that the majority of paranormal YA fiction out there is incredibly similar. The plot of Hush, Hush ...
First off, the storyline. Many people have said this is too similar to Twilight. But c'mon people, this is about fallen angels, not vampires. Stop complaining and realize that the majority of paranormal YA fiction out there is incredibly similar. The plot of Hush, Hush was gorgeous. It seemed to be very well thought out and the pacing was perfect. Ms. Fitzpatrick kept feeding you tidbits of information at just the right time in order to keep the plot moving, but still suspenseful. The idea itself is little known to me; I haven't read any other books about fallen angels, so I was instantly intrigued. I found everything to be exactly as I would have wanted it. A dark, mysterious plot with plenty of wonderful characters.

Let me just say, the characters were divine. I'm so happy to have a strong female character instead of a spineless girl who can't do anything for herself *cough*Bella*cough*. Nora, although she falls for Patch, still has a sense of who she is and doesn't give up her entire life for him. Now let's talk about Patch. There's so much to say. At first I couldn't stand him and his arrogance, but I warmed up to him quickly. His attitude and charm grew on me. Plus, his innuendos in Biology had me smirking the entire time. I know, he's a bad boy, but how could you not be attracted to him? I mean seriously, I even got little flutters in my stomach at some of the things he said, and he's a fictional character. That says a lot about Becca Fitzpatrick's characterisation skills. Oh, and the chemistry between Nora and Patch is hotter than the sun. I could put an ice cube on Hush, Hush and it would melt.

Finally, the ending. This is the first in an incredibly long time...The ending was absolutely perfect! I literally swooned at the final line. I don't know how much will change from the ARC to the hardcover, but I hope not too much! I felt satisfied with what I had learned by the end of the book, but I was left with just enough of a cliffhanger that I can't wait to devour more of Becca's work. Her debut novel is by far my favorite book of 2009. Well done Becca on a perfectly devised novel that exudes darkness and sexual tension.

posted by mckenziet on November 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

as shallow as puddles.

While this book was good on a purely shallow level, I felt that it wasn't as appealing as the cover and even the summary made it seem. Patch was interesting in his own way, but the development of his character was so spotty that I never considered him as an interesting ...
While this book was good on a purely shallow level, I felt that it wasn't as appealing as the cover and even the summary made it seem. Patch was interesting in his own way, but the development of his character was so spotty that I never considered him as an interesting love interest. Nora, for me, was ruined from the very beginning by virtue of having the name Nora. (In my mind, Nora is a name reserved for boring people and fat cats.) Other than that, she was flat and rather boring. The sheer blindness of her best friend, Vee, with whom she shared nothing and seemed not even to be friends with, was also less than pleasing. It seemed to me that the book promoted the very aloneness of her character, that she really had no one - she tells, after all, absolutely no one about her escapades with Patch.

posted by 995749 on January 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 4249 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 213
  • Posted November 10, 2009

    Dark and sexy

    First off, the storyline. Many people have said this is too similar to Twilight. But c'mon people, this is about fallen angels, not vampires. Stop complaining and realize that the majority of paranormal YA fiction out there is incredibly similar. The plot of Hush, Hush was gorgeous. It seemed to be very well thought out and the pacing was perfect. Ms. Fitzpatrick kept feeding you tidbits of information at just the right time in order to keep the plot moving, but still suspenseful. The idea itself is little known to me; I haven't read any other books about fallen angels, so I was instantly intrigued. I found everything to be exactly as I would have wanted it. A dark, mysterious plot with plenty of wonderful characters.

    Let me just say, the characters were divine. I'm so happy to have a strong female character instead of a spineless girl who can't do anything for herself *cough*Bella*cough*. Nora, although she falls for Patch, still has a sense of who she is and doesn't give up her entire life for him. Now let's talk about Patch. There's so much to say. At first I couldn't stand him and his arrogance, but I warmed up to him quickly. His attitude and charm grew on me. Plus, his innuendos in Biology had me smirking the entire time. I know, he's a bad boy, but how could you not be attracted to him? I mean seriously, I even got little flutters in my stomach at some of the things he said, and he's a fictional character. That says a lot about Becca Fitzpatrick's characterisation skills. Oh, and the chemistry between Nora and Patch is hotter than the sun. I could put an ice cube on Hush, Hush and it would melt.

    Finally, the ending. This is the first in an incredibly long time...The ending was absolutely perfect! I literally swooned at the final line. I don't know how much will change from the ARC to the hardcover, but I hope not too much! I felt satisfied with what I had learned by the end of the book, but I was left with just enough of a cliffhanger that I can't wait to devour more of Becca's work. Her debut novel is by far my favorite book of 2009. Well done Becca on a perfectly devised novel that exudes darkness and sexual tension.

    132 out of 139 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Better Than the Twilight seiries!!!

    I fell upon this book just by chance; read some of the reviews and said "Heck why not". The best 'Heck-why-not' decision I ever made! I read the online chapter and was hooked immediately. I ordered the book online but couldn't wait to read the rest, so I also ordered it on my BlackBerry. I stayed up until 4am reading every single page. Needless to say I had a wicked migraine the next day from the small print on my phone, but it was more than well worth it! Becca Fitzpatrick is a genius! Angels? A brilliant idea! There are so many twists and turns that you are able to keep up with. Becca pulls you into the story begging for more. Nora (one of the main caricatures) is not the whiny little girl like in another book and is strong willed but when Patch is close to her, making her pulse race. She looses all self control. Ha! What girl wouldn't with a guy like that! Becca physically describes the caricatures just enough, letting your mind fill in the blanks. Becca is focused in writing a excellent action packed book that is also filled with just the right amount of tense sensual and erotic moments (Written with class). If at all possible you would have to FORCE yourself to put this book down, I could not. This is a MUST read! I am Hoping and Praying Becca writes a sequel, since there are so many unanswered questions, again making you beg for more! I will urge my friends and all whom I know to read "Hush Hush", Facebook, Twitter...however I can promote it. It's a book of writing perfection! Excellent Work Becca Fitzpatrick.... I applaud you....*** Clap-Clap-Clap***

    65 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent read

    I loved reading this wonderful book!

    63 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2009

    I LOVE IT

    I Bought this book two days ago and finished it in just that time i couldnt put the book down, I loved the twilight series but this book touches on a different idea of love. Werewolves and vampires are sexy but when an angel is involved it gets even more interesting. Patch is my favorite character its good to see people are open minding about giving what some people call a demon, a heart and love its a great way to play on religion and lets young adults look into a new view of romance and fantasy cause lets face it deep down every woman loves a bad boy. And the way it played with the fallen angel powers some might not understand why Nora did the things she did with Patch but you have to remember when someone has the ability to make you feel or change your mind its easy to see why Nora did things with Patch when she was afraid, I mean who wouldnt Patch was like chocolate so good but so bad for you lol.

    48 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT!

    I loved this book. I was hooked from the very first few pages and read 300+ in one sitting. I would have finished but it was 4 a.m. and I just couldn't keep my eyes open any longer. The book only got so-so reviews, but I think these people were nit-picking every little thing and comparing it to Twilight. Yes, Twilight was an amazingly good story, but they can't ALL be "Twilights". This is Becca Fitzpatrick's first book and I thought she did an amazing job. I can't wait til the sequel comes out!

    41 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent debut novel

    Hush, Hush is a debut YA novel that I read courtesy of B&N First Look Book Club.

    Nora is a sixteen year old student in Coldwater, Maine. Nora's mom travels a lot, taking a job after Nora's father was murdered and Nora has become very independent. Nora's best friend is Vee, the yin to Nora's yang. They are also biology lab partners until the teacher decides to come up with a new seating chart. Now Nora is sitting next to Patch. Patch has dark eyes, is very mysterious, and seems to know a lot about Nora, things she has never told anyone. They are required to work on a project together and Nora has to track Patch down to get him to participate. This takes Nora way out of her comfort zone, but she really needs to get good grades. And she seems very drawn to Patch. Yet, when she's not looking for him, he keeps showing up. But strange things start happening to Nora. She thinks she is being followed. She is in a car accident while trying to avoid an attacker, but when she goes to Vee's house, there isn't any sign of the earlier damage. What's more, Nora thinks that Patch is projecting thoughts into her mind. Nora doesn't know who to trust or what to think. Is Patch a stalker or protector, good guy or bad guy? Answer- read it and find out!



    I am not a big reader of YA, nor am I a big reader of paranormal, but I loved this book. It was excellent, very well-written. I read this over a period of two nights (and was late to work those two mornings) but I just could not put this down. It had lots of twists and turns and great characters. Nora and Vee are perfect teen detectives as they try to solve the mystery of Patch and who is trying to kill Nora. This is not just for teenagers, this is a great book for anyone who loves a mystery and is willing to suspend belief just a little bit. I highly recommend it.


    http://bookmagic418.blogspot.com/

    27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than Twilight? That's a definite YES.

    As an obsessive Twilight fan, I find this completely hard to say. Hush Hush is very suspenseful! It kept me on my toes the whole entire novel, wondering what would happen next. Right when you think one thing is going to happen, the unexpected does. I would strongly recommend this to anyone who read the Twilight Saga and loved it. You'll be wondering this whole book, and there'll be a nagging voice because of the suspension. Garunteed.You're in for a ride!

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    as shallow as puddles.

    While this book was good on a purely shallow level, I felt that it wasn't as appealing as the cover and even the summary made it seem. Patch was interesting in his own way, but the development of his character was so spotty that I never considered him as an interesting love interest. Nora, for me, was ruined from the very beginning by virtue of having the name Nora. (In my mind, Nora is a name reserved for boring people and fat cats.) Other than that, she was flat and rather boring. The sheer blindness of her best friend, Vee, with whom she shared nothing and seemed not even to be friends with, was also less than pleasing. It seemed to me that the book promoted the very aloneness of her character, that she really had no one - she tells, after all, absolutely no one about her escapades with Patch.

    19 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Meh.

    This was just a silly book. it was ridiculous. I mean really, there were some happenings in this book, that were really crazy, and the characters didnt even react to them! They just accepted it! What is that? Oh, you can talk to me in my mind? no that isnt creepy or anything, i'm just gonna act like this is normal, and talk back. Then there was the whole scene where Patch was trying to be all cool in suave during health class, but guess what? He came of as a tool. This book was trying to be something it wasnt, which was new and exciting. It was dull, and stupid. If you're gonna put in some cool new situations, THEN AT LEAST HAVE YOUR CHARACTERS REACT!!! ugh. A monumental waste of time. seriously, if you want a good read, where the characters actually interact to their surroundings, and not just to each other in a really stupid fashion, then check out the books I recommended.

    18 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wow.

    This book was so great. After I read the reviews and such, I automatically went and bought the digital version. I could not look away from my computer screen (which made my dad really upset since I stayed up all night and fell asleep at least three times in school the next day). I'd recommend it to anyone. Patch is my favorite character out of any book EVER. I'd say he totally beats Edward and Jacob in those silly Twilight books that almost everyone is crazy about. Plus, the cover was so beautiful and really fits the story, unlike some other covers that authors put on their books. Becca Fitzpatrick, good job.

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I liked it so much, actually ready to read in again.

    this is a dark and passionate book. I could not put it down it took me maybe 2 days to read. the characters are great and mysterious. i cant wait to read the next instalment.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    There is a new Bad Boy in town!

    Fantastic book! I highly recommend it to fans of the Twilight series and Shiver. The characters and plot are original and keep you guessing until the climatic end. If you like Bad Boys then you will LOVE Patch. He is sexy, seductive and mysterious. Edward Cullen has some competition.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Want some Cheese with those fries?

    Let me start by saying I had some high expectations when beginning this book. It's ranked pretty high on the best seller list and had so many great reviews, so when my friend announced she had a copy, I had to read it.

    Hush, Hush had many downfalls, including the comical storyline, which was to say the least, predictable and cheesy. Best friend Vee was a total moron with a lack of ability to make reasonable decisions, but she was the writer's scapegoat towards leading the story along. Nora, the main character, was too trusting lacking a backbone and common sense, namely when it came to Patch.

    Patch, Nora Grey's biology lab partner,was a very unlikeable character to me and the narrator herself. Throughout the story she vents that she doesn't trust him, and can't stand him. She feels uncomfortable when she's around him, and sensing this, Patch throws out some cheesy innuendo's to unnerve her further. It's unimaginable to me that she could fall in love with someone who she can't trust, makes her skin crawl, and later betrays her.. Much more to say, but wouldn't want to ruin the story for you.

    And while the writing wasn't absolutely terrible, it left a lot to be wanted. I craved for details, and dimension to the unbelievable, flat characters. To be ruthlessly honest, I think any kid in high school could whip out a story as good as this, if not better.

    So, Needless to say, I'll skip over the sequel, Crescendo. Lets hope your experience is better than mine, shall we?

    11 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2010

    Review on Hush Hush

    This book is dark and edgy and SUPER GOOD!!! You should not even think twice about buying this book and MUST READ BOOK!!!!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing to the extreme.

    This book was over all amazing. I couldn't stop reading it. I read it in just two days and I wanted more! I'm so excited to know that there is a second book coming out! I can't wait to read it! Becca Fitzpatrick is an AMAZING writer. This book made me fall in love all over again with Fallen Angels/Guardian Angels. :]

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Enjoyable!

    Becca Fitzpatrick has a hit in her debut novel, hush, hush! The contrast between the prolog, and the opening chapter is interesting and challenges the reader to search for the true meaning behind the characters. The mystery surrounding the characters is "hold onto your seat" quality and fast paced. Readers will turn the pages quickly in order to find out what is going to happen next! Teens and adults interested in fantasy and fallen angels will love this book! The cover is also amazing!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    Not worth it

    If you like incredibly cheesy poorly written teenage romance novels, this book is for you. Being a 17 year old girl, I've read my fair share of teen novels and although most can be cheesy there are some that are excellent (take Neal Shusterman's novels for example). If you are looking for something intellectually stimulating rather than a something written by a wanna-be Stephanie Meyer, its not worth your time.

    7 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    absolutely amazing!!!!!!!

    Don't listen to what anyone says negatively about this book. It definately DOES NOT encourage abusive boyfriends whoever said that, & it definately is NOT a waste of time or money. I read this book & all while reading I was definately on edge. If you want to read an exciting, thrilling, & exhilirating book about a girl who falls for a bad boy/fallen angel even though she hates to admit she is, then go buy this book NOW! You will not regret reading it!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    LOVED this!

    In a world of fiction swimming with vampires, Hush Hush is a breath of fresh air. Yes, it's still the touch of supernatural love, but I enjoyed every page of this book. I couldn't put it down! I finished it in a little less than a week. After you get through the first few chapters, you find it hard to stop turning the pages. The characters are fantastic and funny, the plot is interesting, the writing is good, and overall, the book is VERY entertaining and a great read. Can't wait for the sequel! Love, love, LOVED! I'd recommend this to anyone who was a fan of the Twilight series, but is way over it thanks to the overly obsessed ten year olds fawning over Robert Pattinson and Taylor Lautner.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Hush Hush

    Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick is an intense and exciting read for teens. Hush Hush is a love story betwwen a young girl and a fallen angel. This book was edgy, exciting and kept me reading nonstop. I liked that this was a love story not envolving vampires or ware-wolfs (I am getting sick of it) the Angel thing was diffrent and I liked that. This is a good book for teens or young adults who just want to read it is not all musy love it does have its fair share action and I recommend this book with high praise.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 4249 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 213