Customer Reviews for

Hush, Hush (Hush, Hush Saga #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4251 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2856)

4 Star

(836)

3 Star

(314)

2 Star

(135)

1 Star

(110)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

137 out of 144 people found this review helpful.

Dark and sexy

First off, the storyline. Many people have said this is too similar to Twilight. But c'mon people, this is about fallen angels, not vampires. Stop complaining and realize that the majority of paranormal YA fiction out there is incredibly similar. The plot of Hush, Hush ...
First off, the storyline. Many people have said this is too similar to Twilight. But c'mon people, this is about fallen angels, not vampires. Stop complaining and realize that the majority of paranormal YA fiction out there is incredibly similar. The plot of Hush, Hush was gorgeous. It seemed to be very well thought out and the pacing was perfect. Ms. Fitzpatrick kept feeding you tidbits of information at just the right time in order to keep the plot moving, but still suspenseful. The idea itself is little known to me; I haven't read any other books about fallen angels, so I was instantly intrigued. I found everything to be exactly as I would have wanted it. A dark, mysterious plot with plenty of wonderful characters.

Let me just say, the characters were divine. I'm so happy to have a strong female character instead of a spineless girl who can't do anything for herself *cough*Bella*cough*. Nora, although she falls for Patch, still has a sense of who she is and doesn't give up her entire life for him. Now let's talk about Patch. There's so much to say. At first I couldn't stand him and his arrogance, but I warmed up to him quickly. His attitude and charm grew on me. Plus, his innuendos in Biology had me smirking the entire time. I know, he's a bad boy, but how could you not be attracted to him? I mean seriously, I even got little flutters in my stomach at some of the things he said, and he's a fictional character. That says a lot about Becca Fitzpatrick's characterisation skills. Oh, and the chemistry between Nora and Patch is hotter than the sun. I could put an ice cube on Hush, Hush and it would melt.

Finally, the ending. This is the first in an incredibly long time...The ending was absolutely perfect! I literally swooned at the final line. I don't know how much will change from the ARC to the hardcover, but I hope not too much! I felt satisfied with what I had learned by the end of the book, but I was left with just enough of a cliffhanger that I can't wait to devour more of Becca's work. Her debut novel is by far my favorite book of 2009. Well done Becca on a perfectly devised novel that exudes darkness and sexual tension.

posted by mckenziet on November 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

as shallow as puddles.

While this book was good on a purely shallow level, I felt that it wasn't as appealing as the cover and even the summary made it seem. Patch was interesting in his own way, but the development of his character was so spotty that I never considered him as an interesting ...
While this book was good on a purely shallow level, I felt that it wasn't as appealing as the cover and even the summary made it seem. Patch was interesting in his own way, but the development of his character was so spotty that I never considered him as an interesting love interest. Nora, for me, was ruined from the very beginning by virtue of having the name Nora. (In my mind, Nora is a name reserved for boring people and fat cats.) Other than that, she was flat and rather boring. The sheer blindness of her best friend, Vee, with whom she shared nothing and seemed not even to be friends with, was also less than pleasing. It seemed to me that the book promoted the very aloneness of her character, that she really had no one - she tells, after all, absolutely no one about her escapades with Patch.

posted by 995749 on January 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 836 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 42
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent read

    I loved reading this wonderful book!

    63 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent debut novel

    Hush, Hush is a debut YA novel that I read courtesy of B&N First Look Book Club.

    Nora is a sixteen year old student in Coldwater, Maine. Nora's mom travels a lot, taking a job after Nora's father was murdered and Nora has become very independent. Nora's best friend is Vee, the yin to Nora's yang. They are also biology lab partners until the teacher decides to come up with a new seating chart. Now Nora is sitting next to Patch. Patch has dark eyes, is very mysterious, and seems to know a lot about Nora, things she has never told anyone. They are required to work on a project together and Nora has to track Patch down to get him to participate. This takes Nora way out of her comfort zone, but she really needs to get good grades. And she seems very drawn to Patch. Yet, when she's not looking for him, he keeps showing up. But strange things start happening to Nora. She thinks she is being followed. She is in a car accident while trying to avoid an attacker, but when she goes to Vee's house, there isn't any sign of the earlier damage. What's more, Nora thinks that Patch is projecting thoughts into her mind. Nora doesn't know who to trust or what to think. Is Patch a stalker or protector, good guy or bad guy? Answer- read it and find out!



    I am not a big reader of YA, nor am I a big reader of paranormal, but I loved this book. It was excellent, very well-written. I read this over a period of two nights (and was late to work those two mornings) but I just could not put this down. It had lots of twists and turns and great characters. Nora and Vee are perfect teen detectives as they try to solve the mystery of Patch and who is trying to kill Nora. This is not just for teenagers, this is a great book for anyone who loves a mystery and is willing to suspend belief just a little bit. I highly recommend it.


    http://bookmagic418.blogspot.com/

    27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Hush Hush

    Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick is an intense and exciting read for teens. Hush Hush is a love story betwwen a young girl and a fallen angel. This book was edgy, exciting and kept me reading nonstop. I liked that this was a love story not envolving vampires or ware-wolfs (I am getting sick of it) the Angel thing was diffrent and I liked that. This is a good book for teens or young adults who just want to read it is not all musy love it does have its fair share action and I recommend this book with high praise.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fun and entertaining

    Due for release just before Halloween, this debut novel is geared towards the teen/young adult crowd. High school sophomore Nora Grey is disappointed in biology class when she has to sit next to the myserious transfer student, Patch. Soon she begins to feel a dangerous attraction towards him; and the more she finds out about him, the more her mind tells her she should stay away. Then there's the new student Elliot, who seems to have a thing for Nora. Her best friend Vee encourages her to pursue Elliot, but Nora is drawn towards Patch...despite the mounting evidence that he may have sinister designs for her.

    I wasn't sure what to think when I picked up this book. I almost never read paranormal-type books, and it's even rarer that I read books aimed towards the teen crowd. I thought I'd end up reading just a few chapters, and then setting the book aside for a more adult one. Much to my surprise, I ended up being very drawn in by this book, and not only finished it but finished it in just two days:-). There's plenty of action here, with a little mystery thrown in to keep you reading. And the attraction between Patch and Nora certainly throws off some sparks. Overall, this was a fun and entertaining teen read, and I am interested in reading the sequel when it comes out.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    This book was a lot better than I thought it would be. I only read it because there was nothing else to read, but when I did I was really into it. Very good. A little slow at first but still awesome. Can not wait for the next book. Gotta love Patch! Such a bad boy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent story, cant wait for the sequel!

    This was better than Fallen, but very similar. This one was hard to put down. Full of intensity the whole way through. A great love story! Very romantic and kept me on the edge of my seat. If you like dark romance stories, like Twilight or Fallen, you will love this!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    I thought this book was very good I enjoyed it alot. It had kind of a dark mysterious theme to it and some point you didn't know which character to believe I liked it alot I hope a second book comes around.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I might (gasp) like Patch more than Edward Cullen...

    Oh yeah, I said it. The plot line is kind of weak, but fallen angels are definitely the new vampires. The interaction between the two main characters is not as intimate as I'd hope for, but Patch is the best kind of bad boy. In comparison to THE Edward Cullen, he seems to have a bit more edge/personality. But his super heroism might not be as sexy as Edwards. I do hope for more romance between Nora and Patch. The best friend is annoying/endearing, and the end scene is pretty good. Hope the second book is exciting!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Overall a very good book!

    Fantastically modern with a fantasy twist! The charcters internal motives and contrasting personalities gave the story edge and made you want to turn the page. A slightly insecure female role combined with the archetypal bad boy creates a story that thrills and captivates from the start.I must admit I am slightly biased to things in the supernatural genre but this was a great book. Coming from someone who doesn't like to read (Picky reader, but who isn't?). A definate page turner and a great escape from all things vampire. Fallen Angels are the most interesting subject in a long time! There were a few slow points but what book doesn't have some? For every fan there is always a critic but I am definately a FAN (im)patiently waiting for the sequel!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    Loved!!

    4.5 Stars

    I really loved this book and I was really excited to read it! Patch is amazing! He is also a jerk, dark and mysterious which will make anyone swoon :) must read!

    *if you like this book check out Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins and The Collector by Victoria Scott. Both amazing and in my top five along with Hush, Hush :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Satisfying.

    WARNING: Spoilers ahead! I'll try to shade some things because I know how frustrating it feels to know what's going to happen in the book even before I've even read the whole.book.

    When I started reading this book, I thought it was boring and was going no-where. But as soon as Patch's character came in, the book started getting better and better.

    In my opinion, Patch's character wasn't portrayed that well, and was very confusing. But that's a good addition to the story's plot and Patch's past & character; him being mysterious, shady, and dark was really good.

    Now to Nora... I wasn't a very big fan of Nora. Honestly, I don't eveen know why. To me, her character (other than the blood in her veins...) was boring and not so different from amy other teenager. But I really like how Patch managed to 'fall in love' with her during his mission (to kill her)....

    The plot was really good. But the down side was that I expected mostly all the things that were going to happen in the book. Relationships, past relationships, and personality discoveries, etc. etc. were a bit obvious. (BUT, that's just me, so I don't know about you.)

    Haha, if I keep going, then I'll probably tell you everything that happened in the book. I totally recommend for you to get this book if you are fond of books that have a mix of romance, mystery, and dark paranormal events. It took me half a day to finish this book, and I couldn't put it down. Good luck. ;)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Hush, Hush

    A little creepy at times but overall very good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Hush, Hush book summary and review

    Hush, Hush is about a 16 year old girl named Nora who gets parterned with Patch in biology. It seems that as soon as Patch comes into her life everything goes outta wack. She starts seeing things that arent there and expirience things that dont really happened. Elliot transferred to her school. On the outside he seems nice but she uncovers his dark secrets. Patch comes across as dark and dangerous with a mysterious past himself. Hush, hush is easy to read and has a great story line and for those of you twilight fans you will love this book. It has romance, mystery and science fiction all wraped in one. The charaters are likable as is the story. My only concern about this book is some of the parts are a lot like the book twilight. Other than that this book is great. Its the newest sci-fi romance novel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    I enjoyed the storyline about fallen angels, their special abili

    I enjoyed the storyline about fallen angels, their special abilities and Nora's journey. I felt like this was a page turner as I could not put it down until I knew that everything works out at the end. I look forward to reading more of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Hot and sexy

    It was pretty good tho im going to b honest and say the only thing tht kept me going for thz book was patch
    Everything else was good too the heroine was not the worst and the wrighting style and technique was eddictive and intreging
    I give it a solid four stars =)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Stupid girl

    I love the plot and i am fighting laughter so i dont wake my parents. It is driving me crazy though of the fact that i just predicted the last sence, and all though it was funny, it had to be down right humiliating for the main character. I didnt really feel thatbad for her though, i almost think she deserves it. I think they annoying counceler is in on something, but then again it may just be because i hate the thought of telling a stranger about your life, and hate the fact that they take notes and pretend they know you and understand hoe you feel. I also wouldnt think to highly of elliot if i were you

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Engaging YA Paranormal

    Hush, Hush was a farely good read. The cover was what caught my attention in the first place. It is gripping and eye catching. Being the first fallen angels type of book I have read, I did not know what to expect. The actual plot and story idea was enticing and definitely kept me interested. It wasn't one of those stay-up-late, fervently-reading-to-the-end type of books for me, but those are hard to come by. Fitzpatrick continuously keeps the reader interested through excellent writing and surprising events.

    Nora's character was overall well developed. She wasn't my favorite character of all time but still fun to read. The decisions on Nora's part are not thought through and more often than not end up being very unwise decisions. However, if she didn't make these sort of decisions then the majority of the events would not take place and the story line would not exist-which is becoming a staple in YA literature.

    My favorite points in the book where characters are concerned include the interactions between Patch and Nora. The relationship is difficult to explain because it is such a different relationship than I have read before. It wasn't a bad different nor was it a good different-just a surprising different. Some portions of the book were very unrealistic, but they are easy to overlook with the whimsically dark feeling of the storyline.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Awesome book!

    Just to start off, let me say that I read this book in one day!! I couldnt put it down except to eat and use the restroom! Haha. I really loved this book because it had romance, suspence and action. When i read the summary it sounded alot like another Twilight wannabe book. Dont get me wrong, i like Twilight, but this book totally exceeded my expectations and was nothing like Twilight! Twenty times better than Twilight, exceptionally well written and a must read for the star-crossed-lovers/supernatural-beings/super-sexy-teen-romance novel lovers community! ;) --M.M.E.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Mysterious and sexy!

    Only at like chapter 11 but thus boohas me on the edge of my seat, cant stop reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Shut up.

    January 15 & 16, shut your mouths. Twilight was good; this was amazing. Who cares if it's kind if like Twilight. That just makes the people who loved Twilight read this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 836 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 42