Customer Reviews for

Hush Little Babies: The True Story of a Mother Who Murdered Her Own Children

Average Rating 3.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

What has happened to our American Justice System

Don Davis did an excellent job presenting both sides of this nightmare. There are no "answers" only more questions. I put this book down really questioning our justice system.

posted by Anonymous on September 30, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed With This Book

I wanted to read a book about this crime that was unbiased-THIS WAS NOT IT!! The whole book has a "she's not guilty" spin. The author painted the police, investigators and prosecution (as well as prosecution witnesses) as incompetent, while attempting to draw sympathy f...
I wanted to read a book about this crime that was unbiased-THIS WAS NOT IT!! The whole book has a "she's not guilty" spin. The author painted the police, investigators and prosecution (as well as prosecution witnesses) as incompetent, while attempting to draw sympathy for the accused in every other sentence. Several times I wanted to stop reading, but I pressed on to the end (at which I found yet another list of reasons Darlie Routier is innocent). I love true crime stories, but I like to be presented with the evidence and then draw MY OWN conclusion-I don't care for books that make the decision for me.

posted by OneReadingMomma on February 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Hmmm?

    It almost seems that the author had already made the descision that she is innocent before all of the facts were out! Is this author somehow related to Darlie Routier? With the way this book is written, only someone with some type of personal connection to Darlie would say she is innocent right from the start! I enjoyed reading it though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed With This Book

    I wanted to read a book about this crime that was unbiased-THIS WAS NOT IT!! The whole book has a "she's not guilty" spin. The author painted the police, investigators and prosecution (as well as prosecution witnesses) as incompetent, while attempting to draw sympathy for the accused in every other sentence. Several times I wanted to stop reading, but I pressed on to the end (at which I found yet another list of reasons Darlie Routier is innocent). I love true crime stories, but I like to be presented with the evidence and then draw MY OWN conclusion-I don't care for books that make the decision for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2002

    What has happened to our American Justice System

    Don Davis did an excellent job presenting both sides of this nightmare. There are no "answers" only more questions. I put this book down really questioning our justice system.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Darling darlie

    She is definatley not. Well it has been 16 years and there havent been any other suspects or new clues. She is right where she belongs. Still in prison. Once again another clueless ignorant husband standing by his wife.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Very good

    Well written. kept my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    I read the book, but,

    I find this book to be very disturbing that a mother could be capeable of killing 2 of he own children in cold blood. Of course, the way it was written, seemed so one sided, im that many felt Darlie innocent, yet the jury felt differently. I personally will not judge Darlie, as that will be left to Darlie and God, when her actual judgement day arrives. That is the reason I gave this book 3 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    Mommy Dearest: Deceit Discovered

    Darlie Routier, a young, beautiful Texan woman, had a life of near perfection. She lived in luxury and was perceived as the perfect neighborhood wife and mother. The reality of Darlie¿s true feelings was revealed on the night of June 5, 1996. With her husband upstairs asleep with their baby boy Drake, Darlie brutally stabbed and murdered her two other children, 5-year-old Damon and 6-year-old Devon. After watching her children take their last breaths, the young mother was quick to fabricate a story about an intruder who came in through a window, stabbed her two boys, slashed her throat, and escaped without awaking her husband. The Dallas community mourned and sympathized with the young mother who, according to her story, was a victim of a brutal, unimaginable crime. However, once the police discovered her story didn¿t match the evidence, she became the main suspect, went through the grueling justice system, and was found guilty as charged for the murders of her children. The popular housewife would then be the seventh woman, in all of Texas, to be sentenced to death row to pay the ultimate penalty for her crimes. Darlie was sentenced to death by lethal injection for the murders of her two sons. Hush Little Babies was very intriguing. However, at times the book described the Routiers¿ previous life and other situation in too much detail, prolonging the trial scene to the very end of the book. As a result of too much detail, I would lose interest and would want to skip certain chapters of the book altogether. Pieces of the evidence provided by both sides were very questionable, and at times I myself wondered if Darlie did in fact commit the crimes. However, by the book¿s conclusion I was convinced she was guilty. I enjoy reading murder mysterious and would recommend this to anyone who enjoys stories involving suspense and justice.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2004

    I was in suspense each step of the way!

    Outstanding! I've read too many crime books to count, but this one takes the cake. It was an eyeopener that kept me eager to read what was on the next page. I couldn't put it down. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2003

    justice prevail

    although many question whether or not the mother is responsible for the death of her two small children i have no question in my mind to much evidence points in the direction of the mother she is the only killer that was in the house that night. on the other hand the author has done a good job of telling the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2003

    Did we put the wrong person behind bars ?

    This book made us question whether Darlie Lynn Routier really did commit that despicable act. We have to take into account that sometimes justice does not prevail. Could we live with the guilt of allowing an innocent to die just because there was no evidence pointing to an intruder in the house?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1