Customer Reviews for

Hush Little Baby

Average Rating 5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Loved this book

    Loved this book. First book read by this author and thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Grreat but disturbing

    One of those books you do not want to put down. An excellent inside view into domestic violence. Reminder of how easy it is to potray happiness while hiding tragic circumstances. A reminder not to judge.
    A quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Loved the book! What a great story! I could not put the book dow

    Loved the book! What a great story! I could not put the book down until I was done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Really enjoyed!

    Held my interest, couldn't put it down, hated for it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Hush Little Baby is one of the most intense books I have read.Th

    Hush Little Baby is one of the most intense books I have read.This book will have you so emotionally invested in the lives of the Kane family. The storyline is so intense and compelling, that it was impossible not to be vested in the character's lives. I found myself holding my breath as I was reading the hospital encounter between Jillian and Gordon.




    I look forward to reading more of Suzanne Redfearn's writing. It was a bold move to tackle domestic violence in her first book, and by gosh did it work for her. This is one of the best books that I have read this year. I am looking forward to her next read. I will have to highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I received this book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    I received this book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    I was so excited to receive Hush Little Baby by Suzanne Redfearn in the mail because guess what!  She autographed it for me!  Don't you love when authors autograph their books for you?  It's just a fabulous added bonus!

    Originally I was iffy about reading Hush Little Baby because for some reason I had it in my head that it was a chick lit book.  That is not the case at all!

    Hush Little Baby by Suzanne Redfearn is a thriller about a woman named Jill who has a seemingly perfect life.  She has two amazing kids, a fabulous job that she is very good at, and a handsome husband named Gordon.

    But looks can be deceiving, we all know that!

    Gordon is an abusive husband, both physically and emotionally.  Jill is too terrified to leave.  Or is she?

    What will happen if Jill leaves?  Gordon has threaten to kill her. . . will he do just that?  And what happens with their two kids?

    I really enjoyed reading Hush Little Baby.  I love how the ending doesn't wrap up as neatly as you expect it might.

    The only thing I really disliked, and this has stuck in my head because it bugged me, was that Jill compared the fear of leaving her abusive husband to the fear the people must have felt when headed towards certain death/genocide.  She wondered why people during a genocide went quietly to their deaths and didn't run or try to escape, and compared that to the paralyzing fear she felt when thinking of leaving her husband, who had threatened to kill her.

    Both situations are bad and both are inflicted upon people who have little to no say about how to respond.  However, something about comparing a physically abusive marriage to starvation/brutal death of masses such as during a genocide just rubbed me the wrong way.

    That was a very minimal comment, and it was the only time during the book that Jill, or the book itself, bothered me in any way.  In fact, it's probably a comment most people would never even notice, but being Jewish, it affected me.

    Also, Jill was kind of passive for a good chunk of the book.  Sometimes I wanted to shake her!  Even when she wanted to leave, it was more his doing than hers.  I can't say more without giving anything away.

    But luckily she wasn't a weakling for the entire book, she stepped it up and made decisions on her own, too, which I liked.  I love reading about strong women!

    Who is one of your favorite strong fictional women in literature?

    Thanks for reading,

    Rebecca @ Love at First Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    There are very few books that tug at my heart string while preve

    There are very few books that tug at my heart string while preventing me from turning the page. This debut novel, Hush Little Baby, by Suzanne Redfearn pulled me in from the opening pages. Domestic violence is a sensitive matter that should not be exaggerated, yet taken seriously. Fortunately, I am not a victim of domestic violence but am familiar with how it affects victims and brings shame to families. But this prior knowledge in no way prepared me for the story of Jillian Kane.

    You never know what goes on behind closed doors. To outsiders, Jillian had a picture perfect life: happily married, successful career and two children. In reality, Jillian hid bruises inflicted by her abusive husband for the past nine years. Of course she desperately wanted to flee. But she feared for her life and the safety of her young children.

    Hush Little Baby is what I call a reluctant read. The story is good but I was afraid of what I would read on the next page. Would the main character survive? Will she successfully escape the abuse? Will her children be okay? I just had so many questions that I was reluctant to read the answers to. I believe the author realized readers may have this same reaction and paced the events in the book well. I look forward to reading more of Suzanne Redfearn's writing. It was a bold move to tackle domestic violence in a debut book, and Suzanne pulled it off. Bookhearts, add Hush Little Baby to your reading lists or recommend to your book clubs.

    Literary Marie of Precision Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2013

    Loved this story of one brave mom-quick read and a great story.

    Loved this story of one brave mom-quick read and a great story. Hope there are more books in the works!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    I loved, loved, loved this book. I hope she writes another novel

    I loved, loved, loved this book. I hope she writes another novel soon. It's like Jodi Picoult combined with Gillian Flynn!!! An awesome combination of human struggle and suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1