Customer Reviews for

Hush Little Baby

Average Rating 5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A beautiful reworking of the lullaby classic.

    I sang the lulluaby this book is based on to my children when they were small. A friend gave me this book when my first grandchild was expected five years ago (for my grandma library). I was delighted, since the focus is on beautiful things in the natural world and not on material possessions. The illustrations are delightful. My granddaughter loves it. I have been tucking it in with gifts for expectant parents or new arrivals.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    Sweet Lullaby

    Sylvia Long has created a non-materialistic spin to the original storyline. Very easy to sing or read. Very soothing words. Very sweet and peaceful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    A Favorite with Babies, Toddlers and Preschoolers

    Like the song Hush Little Baby, this book is meant to be sung to a child. However, there's a world of difference between these new lyrics and the original ones in which "Mama" continually buys things for her child. This "Mama" shares her love and the beauty of nature with her child. My grandsons, ages 3 and 4 are crazy about this book and sing it every night at bedtime. They have known the lyrics since they were two. It's a wonderful book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    Wonderful book

    My mother got this book for my daughter and I read/sing it to her every night. I love that story is about the wonderful things in nature and a mother's love.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great bedtime book

    We read to our boy every night and this is a great book for those nights when he is not so tired. It lets me sing him a well known song to help calm him with pictures he can watch as I sing. Plus, I can never remember all the verses on my own anyways. I use this book a lot and recommend it to anyone with a young child.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    Perfect for shower gifts (& for you & your child too).

    Great focus on spending time with your child doing everyday activities. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Precious Thoughts

    Hush Little Baby is a precious storybook, especially as a bedtime story. The illustrations are simply adorable and the tale is soothing and supporting. What a wonderful show of love for parent to child.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    Twin's favorite nite-nite book

    We love this book! My 3 1/2 year old twin boys and I sing the story together every night. The words are comforting and the classic sing-song melody is soothing. Hush Little Baby has given us a special way to end each day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2003

    FANTASTIC

    What a wonderful book! My 7 year old picked this book out of his school library, and 'A Note from Sylvia Long', is what caught his eye (and the cover, he says)...reading through this book with him, we were able to feel the warmth in the words. He truly appreciated the message the book gave him. He and I have shared many of these moments together, and we look forward to sharing them with his brother/son #2 in the future. This book is truly one we will enjoy for years to come. Thank you Sylvia!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2002

    Our favorite book!

    This is the cutest book ever! The illustrations are wonderful and the updated poem a joy to read/sing. Thank you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2002

    What really comforts children

    Thank you, Sylvia Long, for new words with which parents can share the tender moments before going to sleep. It IS the beauty in nature and the warmth of a parent's love that truly comforts and calms us. What an improvement over encouraging children to escalate their desires for material things to be satisfied and comforted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2000

    My favorite childrens book EVER!

    I love reading this book to my 2yr old daughter. We received it as a gift when she was born, and I have read it to her ever since. I love that the 'gifts' are gifts of love, not material possessions. This is a book I often buy as a gift for new parents. Just a wonderful book w/ great illustrations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2007

    A Twist On A Classic Lullaby

    A nice update to the classic 'Mockingbird' lullaby.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1