Customer Reviews for

Hush Money (Talent Chronicles)

Average Rating 4.5
( 484 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(261)

4 Star

(136)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Three cheers for Superhero romance!

You remember the early seasons of Smallville, back when Clark was mooning over Lana, they were all still in high school, and every week was an episode about stopping some isolated problem and the important thing was keeping his secret? If you're like me and really miss ...
You remember the early seasons of Smallville, back when Clark was mooning over Lana, they were all still in high school, and every week was an episode about stopping some isolated problem and the important thing was keeping his secret? If you're like me and really miss those days, Hush Money is absolutely for you. In a market that's positively flooded with stories about teen vampires or fairies, Bischoff provides a refreshing and absolutely believable world about teenagers with superpowers. Chloe Sullivan would have plenty of fodder for her Wall of Weird--in the best possible way!

In this debut novel, heroine Joss must come to question the deeply ingrained secret keeping behavior she's always lived by in order to do the right thing and help a friend who's being blackmailed by the class bully. Joss was so three-dimensional, I swear she had a locker next to mine in high school. She shared my disgust of the pink and girly, and she has this great crush on borderline bad-boy Dylan (who is exactly the right mix of rebellious and nice guy). I can't wait to see what Joss and her friends get up to in the next installment!

An absolute must read from this up and comer in the YA genre.

posted by kaitnolan on October 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

waste of money

I can't believe they sale this as a teen book. I didn't even finish the book because of the language. It's too bad they don't give ratings to books like they do movies. If you use that kind of language in a movie it would be rated "r". I would hope that people with a li...
I can't believe they sale this as a teen book. I didn't even finish the book because of the language. It's too bad they don't give ratings to books like they do movies. If you use that kind of language in a movie it would be rated "r". I would hope that people with a literary background would have a better vocabulary than this. I know I would not let my teenage daughter read this. So disappointed!

posted by 5531573 on January 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    MUST READ. seriously. if you loved Heroes (the tv show) then this series will definitely spark your interest!

    I love this series. It's so intersting, the idea of people with Talents. I love how creative Susan Bischoff is with her writing. Joss is a very relatable character. As for the critics concerned with the language, I can say one thing; any young adult/teenager who goes to school hears WAY worse. I think the way she used the language made the book more real than most sugarcoated young adult novels. It's a very entertaining read and I definitely recommend it to any reader!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Great book

    I really liked this book. It took me about 20 pages to get into it. It has a weird beggining,but other then that it was really good. It has action and romance. I loved the book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Its a good very teeny bopper book.

    I liked this...the idea of having talents seems cool. I'd loved to see how these talents develope over time.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Good

    Enjoyable read, exciting and adventurous and funny and all that good stuff. One thing i was confused about was *spoiler alert* when the NIAC agents are in Kat's house and all the Talents try to escape. Maybe the author was trying to portray the craziness of the moment but it only succeeded in confusing the heck out of me. Overall though it was a fun read and ill be looking into the second book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Good book

    Ok i LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!! I love how i finally found a book that has people with powers yet romance. BUT i dont think all that cursing and other STUFF is not neccesary. I am just in elementary school so i dont need that information yet!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    suprisingly enjoyed

    I was actually surprised by this book. It sort of snuck up on me and I really liked the characters as a whole. It was a bit shallow at times, but I still really enjoyed it and will be reading the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Great!

    I love the book it has the trouble us teens go through everyday with more crap added! The only thing i hated is how they leave u hanging at the end..... and how it says The End.... overall good book with cuse words... the say f**k a lot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    X-men Meets Smallville Meets Awesome

    Hush Money is the very promising debut of Susan Bischoff's Talent Chronicles series, a YA urban fantasy series that - rather refreshingly - avoids any mention of vampires or sparkling (because teens are interested in more than just blood-sucking).

    High school girl Joss has done everything in her power to go unnoticed. She eats alone, carefully controls her grades, and doesn't even think about talking to her crush. Because Joss has a terrible secret: she's has a Talent. and kids with psychic abilities tend to mysteriously disappear. Then new girl Kat joins the school, and puts herself into harm's way whilst rescuing Joss from the school bully. In a world in which psychic abilities are punishable by imprisonment, Joss must choose between keeping her secret and doing what's right to save a friend.

    Susan Bischoff has played her cards right: she has managed to write a captivating, engaging tale perfect for teens as well as all of us who. errr. aren't quite teens any more. In a YA market over-saturated with the same old stories, Hush Money is a breath of fresh air and more besides: it is a fast-paced, engaging introduction to the Talent Chronicles series which will leave you hungry for the sequel.

    What truly sets Hush Money apart from its contemporaries are the characters. You've got the high school loneliness and angst of early Smallville, the large crew of cool X-men like-powers, but most importantly you have teenagers who are three-dimensional believable people. Joss and her crush Dylan are the protagonists, with the story alternating between their points of view, but the strong character depth extends beyond the main players, creating a fully-fleshed setting which you'll enjoy sinking into. Furthermore, there is none of this "we were destined to be together" malarkey - in true awkward teen style, the romance is light-hearted, bumbling, and achingly sweet.

    The plot had a good mixture of high school drama and larger overpowering (governmental) threat, and while the issue is partially resolved, Susan Bischoff has planted many small seeds which will lead to a gripping, addictive series. After all, while Hush Money is dedicated to introducing the characters, world and dangers, the novel hints that there will be far more at stake in times to come.

    My only nitpick? While I enjoyed the alternating points of view - particularly because they were so distinct, and true to each character - the initial few pages felt a little forced. Joss' use of 'like' felt a little contrived, a little "trying too hard to be a teenager". but either the voice improved, or the story sucked me in soon after, because it didn't bother me throughout the rest of the novel.

    Overall, Hush Money is just the tip of what might become a very huge iceberg. Be careful if you skim past this novel, because even with the smallest scratch you might find yourself sinking right in. That's where you'll find me, waiting for the sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    A good read

    This was a pretty good book. A little slow in the beginning so I didn't read it as fast as I would have. Glad I stuck with it cuz it picked up in the second half and we see some cool Talents. Ended a little abruptly, there are exerpts from other authors in the back which is what threw me off. Still, looking forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Extremely good YA paranormal romance. Kids with supernatural tal

    Extremely good YA paranormal romance. Kids with supernatural talents,
    and how they deal with these talents while trying to finish high school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Really Good Read

    It toke me about till page 50 to actually start loving the book. Its has some romance, but its more of a action book. I reccomand this book to any teen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Enjoyable

    Want more information on the "Talents" new concept for a series. Will get the next in the series after it's release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Finished in one day!"!

    Great story line. I lived all the characters especially joss's crazy dad. It was soo refreshing to read a great fiction/fantasy book that is not about Vampires

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    Great Read!

    Thought the book was great. It had a lot of momentum from start to finish. Characters were believable & endearing. Can't wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    cool.

    it had a great plot, a strong storyline, and managed to hold my attention throughout the book. overall a fantastic read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    READ IT

    This book was awsome!! i didnt think it would but it turned out amazing. cant wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A really enjoyable paranormal romance

    Hush Money is the first novel in a new series, The Talent Chronicles. It is set in a world people with supernatural abilities, known as "Talents", are taken and forced into government prisons. These prisons are vaguely veiled as state-run schools that are supposed to help teach the Talented to control their abilities. Being an unregistered Talent is illegal, so those with them live in a constant state of fear, not knowing who to trust. Because of that, Joss has spent her entire life having to guard herself against anything and anyone that might expose her family's secrets.

    I really liked the premise of this book, teenage heroes with superhero-style powers. The characters were extremely well-developed, completely three-dimensional in their believability and relatibility. Thanks to her lifelong habit of distancing herself from her peers, Joss was socially awkward and the internal dialogue the author used for her only helped to further that trait. As a reader, I could feel her angst over normal teen girl issues, her stress about being different and having to hide so much of herself. Dylan, the bad boy with a heart, was the perfect counterpoint to Joss. He was a little dark and brooding, with a penchant for trouble. But he was also a good person at heart, one who was caught up in something bigger than he was, not noticing until it had gone too far. Too many times, the supporting characters tend to get a little neglected in character development, but this was definately not the case in this book. As the story unfoded, the reader gets to know each of them, understanding them and how they got to the place that they are within the plot.

    The plot was decently paced, never dragging for me or going so fast as to become confusing. The unexpected twists and turns, and the occasional dark drama here and there, kept me intrigued. I enjoyed the entire novel, with only the ending causing me any pause. It was good ending, with the proper amount of questions answered and left unanswered. But it felt a little rushed, a little abrupt, but that could also very well have been my complete interest in the story and what happens next to Joss, Dylan, and their friends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    Definitely keeping this series on my favorites list!

    Although it is a bit like X-men, I enjoy the world this author has created. The characters have some true development, and the plot carries well. My only complaint, really, is when I read the words 'The End.' I am yearning to find out what happens to these characters! A VERY good buy for 99 cents!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended

    I really liked this book, read it in one sitting. Basically these kids have to hide their "Talent" (aka Powers) for fear of being put in a State School if their discovered, but of course no one ever hears from kids again once they go there. I really liked the main character, Joss, who struggles to maintain the invisibility she's worked so hard to achieve through her Dad's training. As well as just about all the side characters, except Marco who you love to hate and can't wait for him to get what's coming to him. If you liked books like 'The Darkest Powers Trilogy' by Kelley Armstrong, 'Unwind' by Neal Shusterman, and 'The Replacement' by Brenna Yovanoff than I think you would really like this book as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    An original YA read- Will recommend and buy from this author again.

    I really enjoyed this book! I WILL be buying further works from this author. It IS self published, but it is a well edited, cleanly written Young Adult novel sitting at just under 200 pages. The premise is fresh, with characters that are both flawed and realistic, and I especially connected to the main character, Joss. Well done! The author wrote well enough that I had definite opinions about whether or not I liked most characters, and every event was well set up, so nothing appeared out of place or haphazard. It's pretty clear that the author put a lot of time and effort into cleaning up their manuscript.

    I did not find even as many typos and word usage errors as I find in traditionally produced books, so I was impressed. I hope to see this author further, and if they are putting out queries, and you're an agent... BITE and ask for an excerpt! Even if their draft is rough, they clean up to a professional level!

    My only complaint is a personal opinion that the ending seemed a bit... well, I just didn't agree with the conclusion being a real conclusion. I understand WHY it ended that way, but I'm a bit more murderous than the author allowed the book to be at the end. HOWEVER, this is a YOUNG ADULT novel, so the ending that I feel would have made more sense would NOT fly in that market.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7