Customer Reviews for

Hybrid

Average Rating 3.5
( 144 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

RATING:4.5! A HEART PUMPING DEBUT MEDICAL THRILLER/SUSPENSE!HYBRID BY BRIAN O'GRADY...

HYBRID by Brian O'Grady is an interesting compelling debut medical suspense/thriller set in Hondurans and Colorado. What an intense,compelling thriller of suspense,evil,drama, a virus that is not only lethal but evil also and what ifs.... The list of characters include....
HYBRID by Brian O'Grady is an interesting compelling debut medical suspense/thriller set in Hondurans and Colorado. What an intense,compelling thriller of suspense,evil,drama, a virus that is not only lethal but evil also and what ifs.... The list of characters include..Dr.Phil-the coroner with Asperger's syndrome,Father John- whose will,and faith will be tested,Rodney-a homicide detective who sees things others can not,Greg-Amanda's father-in-law,whose morals will guide other in the storm and of course there is Amanda,the Red Cross worker whose whole life changes in an instant.She now can sense things,use her mind to do things,including dark and sinister things,all while trying to resist the pull of violence. But someone has entered her mind who is out to destroy humanity.Whose bloodlust and evil impulses is after Amanda,who virologists suspect her immunity may be their only way to defeat this virus that is worst than lethal it is pure evil. "Hybrid" is an high octane,action packed,heart pounding,intense story that will keep you turning pages and a thriller that will be hard to put down. This book will appeal to any suspense,thriller and medical thriller readers.This is an author to watch out for in the future.What an engaging debut medical thriller.This book was received for the purpose of review from Meryl L. Moss Media Relations, Inc. and the publisher and details can be found at Fiction Studio and My Book Addiction and More.

posted by AAR on June 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Good read - until the end

I really enjoyed the book. Couldn't put it down. Until the end. It felt like the author just stopped wanting to write and ended the story.

posted by JCS53 on February 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    RATING:4.5! A HEART PUMPING DEBUT MEDICAL THRILLER/SUSPENSE!HYBRID BY BRIAN O'GRADY...

    HYBRID by Brian O'Grady is an interesting compelling debut medical suspense/thriller set in Hondurans and Colorado. What an intense,compelling thriller of suspense,evil,drama, a virus that is not only lethal but evil also and what ifs.... The list of characters include..Dr.Phil-the coroner with Asperger's syndrome,Father John- whose will,and faith will be tested,Rodney-a homicide detective who sees things others can not,Greg-Amanda's father-in-law,whose morals will guide other in the storm and of course there is Amanda,the Red Cross worker whose whole life changes in an instant.She now can sense things,use her mind to do things,including dark and sinister things,all while trying to resist the pull of violence. But someone has entered her mind who is out to destroy humanity.Whose bloodlust and evil impulses is after Amanda,who virologists suspect her immunity may be their only way to defeat this virus that is worst than lethal it is pure evil. "Hybrid" is an high octane,action packed,heart pounding,intense story that will keep you turning pages and a thriller that will be hard to put down. This book will appeal to any suspense,thriller and medical thriller readers.This is an author to watch out for in the future.What an engaging debut medical thriller.This book was received for the purpose of review from Meryl L. Moss Media Relations, Inc. and the publisher and details can be found at Fiction Studio and My Book Addiction and More.

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    Good read - until the end

    I really enjoyed the book. Couldn't put it down. Until the end. It felt like the author just stopped wanting to write and ended the story.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hybrid

    Amanda Flynn is the only survivor of virus outbreak in the jungles of Honduras. But after being held a prisoner for three month, she disappears of the grid. She also has some new found powers that can only be attributed to the disease. But she is not the only one; there is another hell-bent on destroying not only her but many others.

    Brian O'Grady's novel is a medical thriller (he does give some graphic detail of the virus and its effects), but it is also paranormal and political thriller! With this said, he had written an action packed, intense story that may seem like science fiction, but is so much more. I read it in one weekend.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ho-dee-hum

    It's a good idea and starts with a nice pace, but I soon found my mind wandering. But at this price it's worth a shot. You might like it. Just not my cup of tea, I guess.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    where is the next Brian O'Grady Book?

    Some really good twist and turns and scary because this or something close could Happen !!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Good Read

    I picked this up as a Free Friday selection. It was so engrossing I finished it in one day. I loved the references to Colorado and Atlanta as I have lived in both places. Looking forward to reading the sequel, Amanda's Story.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Better than Patient Zero

    I accidentally place my review under Amanda's Story, which I have not read yet. But Hybrid is an excellent story line and should be good for a couple of off shoots.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    After reading the reviews I was expecting a great book...Very di

    After reading the reviews I was expecting a great book...Very disappointed.I am a huge medical thriller fan.This book starts off great and then starts going off in so many different directions it quickly becomes boring.It is just not very focused.Good idea.Bad presentation.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Boring

    Very boring. There were a few good parts but mostly it read like a chemistry textbook. Dry and boring. I struggled to get thru it, determined to see why it was a 'national bestseller' but i never saw it. There was no real ending, no real resolution as to what happened and why, it just ended. I would not recommend this to anyone. It is terrible.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Worth the purchase

    I really enjoyed this book and the many different charectors. Father Oliver was my favorite, i just wish the ending was stronger. It was a wonderful read up until the end. The last chapters felt rushed and fell flat. The begining and end were exciting and kept the reader on edge. Over all I would suggest this as a must read. Thank you for this book i really enjoyed the adventure.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Le Friday Freebay

    So far so boring. Ive read the first hundred or so pages and its not really my kinda book. Viruses an junk dint really appeal to me so better luck next week I suppose.

    4 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Not bad

    Several previous reviewers state that there are too many characters (therefore hard to keep track) and that the narrative is disjointed and hard to follow. There are two major, three minor, and a few supporting characters. Either I'm a genius who's able to juggle an enormous cast or others need to read more complex novels and develop their memory-retention capabilities. The narrative flowed fairly smoothly; I didn't have a single problem following the plot. That being said, the original idea for the plot is excellent but could have used a re-write or two to help with flow and character development. My personal peeve was the lack of contractions; writing out the words made conversations sound stilted. All-in-all, pretty good with a lot of potential. Why were the terrorists Muslims? No other bad-guy stereotypes out there?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Please, get better!

    I've been reading this every night since it posted as a FreeFriday book...AND I'M ONLY AT 169!!! It normally only takes me a couple of hours to read a book this size. I don't know what it is, but this book is painfully slow. I fall asleep every time! Very frustrating. If I wasnt so stubborn, I'd quit. Hope that it gets better. The idea behind the story is good; hence two stars.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Too many characters, not enough development to care.

    Starts out exciting and quickly gets bogged down. This book switches between about 20 peoples' points of view by the time you get halfway in. What should be main chars never get fleashed out as a result. Interesting bits glossed over in favor of throwing in another handful of people who don't do anything to add to the story. Could not finish.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    This isn't a "real" rating, but I have to comment on t

    This isn't a "real" rating, but I have to comment on the cover: uuh, national bestseller? Though not bad for an indie writer, the number of ratings here, Amazon, and Goodreads would suggest otherwise...

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2014

    Good Sci-Fi Based in Reality

    I enjoy sci-fi that is at least based in reality. This was an interesting read, that kept me reading. There were characters that you wanted to find out a bit more about and a basic story line that you could follow. Overall, a pretty good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    GOOD IF YOU LIKE SCIENCE FICTION

    TOO MUCH VIOLENCE

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Good read

    It took me a little while to get into it, but it turned out to be a great story that held my attention.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2014

    Medical jargon overload

    I enjoyed the story and even had a pang of sympathy for Rider. However, there were many instances of medical explanation for a supposedly ficticious virus. Also, there were too many names. While the president was simply the president, every other officer, assistant, and passer by was labeled with a name. This made categorizing important characters from ensemble members more difficult and affected the enjoyment of the novel.

    No sexual content. Some harsh language but no overly crass. Very discriptive, harsh violence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    1 star

    1 star - I am being generous. I ended my torture on page 57, I could not continue reading the book that was disjointed, no character development, to many characters and no idea what is going on and why. The people who gave a rave review could not have read this book or were friends & family. I don't even know if an editor could fix this book. First eliminate half the characters, cut section of this book, re-write section and develop the characters and what the theme of this book. It would be easier to start over.
    I'm glad this was free I would be upset if I spent money on this book.
    I cannot recommend this book and it is going to be deleted as soon as i finish this review

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8