Customer Reviews for

Hybrid

Average Rating 3.5
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

RATING:4.5! A HEART PUMPING DEBUT MEDICAL THRILLER/SUSPENSE!HYBRID BY BRIAN O'GRADY...

HYBRID by Brian O'Grady is an interesting compelling debut medical suspense/thriller set in Hondurans and Colorado. What an intense,compelling thriller of suspense,evil,drama, a virus that is not only lethal but evil also and what ifs.... The list of characters include....
HYBRID by Brian O'Grady is an interesting compelling debut medical suspense/thriller set in Hondurans and Colorado. What an intense,compelling thriller of suspense,evil,drama, a virus that is not only lethal but evil also and what ifs.... The list of characters include..Dr.Phil-the coroner with Asperger's syndrome,Father John- whose will,and faith will be tested,Rodney-a homicide detective who sees things others can not,Greg-Amanda's father-in-law,whose morals will guide other in the storm and of course there is Amanda,the Red Cross worker whose whole life changes in an instant.She now can sense things,use her mind to do things,including dark and sinister things,all while trying to resist the pull of violence. But someone has entered her mind who is out to destroy humanity.Whose bloodlust and evil impulses is after Amanda,who virologists suspect her immunity may be their only way to defeat this virus that is worst than lethal it is pure evil. "Hybrid" is an high octane,action packed,heart pounding,intense story that will keep you turning pages and a thriller that will be hard to put down. This book will appeal to any suspense,thriller and medical thriller readers.This is an author to watch out for in the future.What an engaging debut medical thriller.This book was received for the purpose of review from Meryl L. Moss Media Relations, Inc. and the publisher and details can be found at Fiction Studio and My Book Addiction and More.

posted by AAR on June 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Good read - until the end

I really enjoyed the book. Couldn't put it down. Until the end. It felt like the author just stopped wanting to write and ended the story.

posted by JCS53 on February 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    RATING:4.5! A HEART PUMPING DEBUT MEDICAL THRILLER/SUSPENSE!HYBRID BY BRIAN O'GRADY...

    HYBRID by Brian O'Grady is an interesting compelling debut medical suspense/thriller set in Hondurans and Colorado. What an intense,compelling thriller of suspense,evil,drama, a virus that is not only lethal but evil also and what ifs.... The list of characters include..Dr.Phil-the coroner with Asperger's syndrome,Father John- whose will,and faith will be tested,Rodney-a homicide detective who sees things others can not,Greg-Amanda's father-in-law,whose morals will guide other in the storm and of course there is Amanda,the Red Cross worker whose whole life changes in an instant.She now can sense things,use her mind to do things,including dark and sinister things,all while trying to resist the pull of violence. But someone has entered her mind who is out to destroy humanity.Whose bloodlust and evil impulses is after Amanda,who virologists suspect her immunity may be their only way to defeat this virus that is worst than lethal it is pure evil. "Hybrid" is an high octane,action packed,heart pounding,intense story that will keep you turning pages and a thriller that will be hard to put down. This book will appeal to any suspense,thriller and medical thriller readers.This is an author to watch out for in the future.What an engaging debut medical thriller.This book was received for the purpose of review from Meryl L. Moss Media Relations, Inc. and the publisher and details can be found at Fiction Studio and My Book Addiction and More.

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hybrid

    Amanda Flynn is the only survivor of virus outbreak in the jungles of Honduras. But after being held a prisoner for three month, she disappears of the grid. She also has some new found powers that can only be attributed to the disease. But she is not the only one; there is another hell-bent on destroying not only her but many others.

    Brian O'Grady's novel is a medical thriller (he does give some graphic detail of the virus and its effects), but it is also paranormal and political thriller! With this said, he had written an action packed, intense story that may seem like science fiction, but is so much more. I read it in one weekend.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    where is the next Brian O'Grady Book?

    Some really good twist and turns and scary because this or something close could Happen !!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Good Read

    I picked this up as a Free Friday selection. It was so engrossing I finished it in one day. I loved the references to Colorado and Atlanta as I have lived in both places. Looking forward to reading the sequel, Amanda's Story.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Worth the purchase

    I really enjoyed this book and the many different charectors. Father Oliver was my favorite, i just wish the ending was stronger. It was a wonderful read up until the end. The last chapters felt rushed and fell flat. The begining and end were exciting and kept the reader on edge. Over all I would suggest this as a must read. Thank you for this book i really enjoyed the adventure.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Great read! Read Great read

    Love the story very much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2014

    Good Sci-Fi Based in Reality

    I enjoy sci-fi that is at least based in reality. This was an interesting read, that kept me reading. There were characters that you wanted to find out a bit more about and a basic story line that you could follow. Overall, a pretty good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Loved it.

    This was a great read. A good plot and I would not mins seeing a second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2014

    VERY GOOD BOOK EXCITING and compelling! Has a verisimilitude whi

    VERY GOOD BOOK EXCITING and compelling! Has a verisimilitude which covers Science Fiction and medical fiction and can be believable in both generas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2014

    Very good, very hard to put down.

    this story kept me interested all the way through. Well written with good detail in both scenes and character development. I learned to love the heroes and hate the villains (as it should be). I'd read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is a good read form my normal list of writers.

    it's a good read. A chance on add another writer to my list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    A Fascinating Medical Tale

    The author is a doctor, so he knows the possibility of manufacturing different viruses which can kill large numbers of people, or keep a person safe from various mutations. Ironically, the woman who is a hybrid, has her husband and son die in an automobile accident. If you like medical thrillers, this is for you. It might be a good choice for a book club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Great Beach Read

    I read it on a beach and thoroughly enjoyed the characters and the plot. The characters are developed slowly which helps the plot move along as the history and dynamics between characters becomes clearer. What takes place in Colorado in the story today was set in motion years ago.

    After reading about the virus in World War Z, this story made me suspect every virus to have a corrupting nature. After vacation, one of our local coffee shops was shut down because of a nasty viral outbreak. I don't think anyone developed any telepathic powers, however, or became violent like the characters in Hybrid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Good dan brown-esque thriller

    This book reminded me of Dan Brown's writing style. How it switched from each character's pov. Could benefit from have a second ed published. But other than that it was pretty decent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Great read

    Fast paced action packef

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Good read

    It took me a little while to get into it, but it turned out to be a great story that held my attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Good plot

    This was a good read for a free book. It was suspenseful and contained mercifully few errors to detract from the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Exciting, enjoyable and thought provoking

    The author raises the question, how close to reality is the subject matter of air born disease or virus that could very possibly decimate world population. Many thanks to the to Mr. Grady for a very enjoyable read.

    J M Lydon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    .

    .

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2