Customer Reviews for

Hybrid Theory

Average Rating 5
( 209 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(180)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is a pretty good album.

    For those who like angst-ridden screams and in-your-face raps, this album is for you. Mike and Chester do a great job blending in with the tunes and beats of the album. There is also variety. Not all songs are the same like some rock bands like Rage Against the Machine. One song may be heavy and energetic like Papercut, and then another song may be more somber like In the End. This album really compares to teenage angst and anger so this may be best for teenagers. If you happen to be a fan of the rap and metal fusion, this album is absolutely a plus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good CD

    Fits well with other NU METAL bands, but something stands out. how can you not become addicted to papercut, it just feels so god-like in the beginning

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Linkin park rocks

    Linkin park is such a cool band. this is the only cd i've heard but i love it and i reeeeeeally recomend it. My favorite is In The End but i like the others alot to. Peace out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the autopsy report for: Linkin Park - Reanimation

    you know about this? if not, it is basically an album of remixes of songs from the album Hybrid Theory....I know what you are thinking...just an attempt to cash in on the best selling album of 2001...right? Heh. heh.....that was my thought exactly....but, my brother really wanted it so I got it for him and it kinda sparked my interest as i was sampling through the tracklisting..... Jurassic Five, Acelayone, Pharoah Monk and Black Thought all appearing as guest mc's raised my eyebrow before I ever played a track...as for the songs themselves....they are all different sounding, they did a really good job of giving each track a new identity even if this new identity will probably be more appealing to your suburbian hiphop gangsta than the angst-filled metal kid....guitars getting scratched into techno/hip-hop backbeats..vocals gettin sampled in, in a hit and run manner, guest mc's flow , tweaked melodies, new lyrics and altered intent makes this release tower over it's big brother ''hybrid theory'' and worth a little attention from you sometime this summer. P.S.: I feel it should be noted that this review has been written by someone who was not and still is not a linkin park fan....I have no intention of running out and buying the next new linkin park album, nor will i even bother downloading it....i feel that this release will probably end up being an anamoly in their discography, but one I am not embarrased to say i own...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Linkin Park for the Masses

    Linkin Park¿s debut album has not only become popular among rock/alternative listeners, but has gained the appeal of many other fans of other genres such as rap and hip-hop. The album consists of emotionally-driven performances that combine rock and hip-hop influences to form a unique sound that Linkin Park can call their own. Hybrid Theory consists of great memorable tracks throughout the album¿tracks that listeners will not get tired of listening. In addition to its number one single, ¿In the End,¿ the album contains many other hits such as ¿One Step Closer¿ and ¿Crawling,¿ for which the band has won a Grammy for the Best Hard Rock Performance. Not only has Linkin Park gained a vast fan base with its hits, but their unique mix of style and beats has given rise to other new artsists following the alternative/hip-hop sounds of Linkin Park. I believe the collaboration of lead vocals Chester Bennington¿s sexy soft and screaming hard voice and rapper Mike Shinoda¿s smooth vocals make this unforgettable album a must-buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    They are the best Nu-Metal (rock) band

    In the beginning there was rock and cutting edge metal then came hip hop, no one ever thought the two would meet, but they didn't know Hybrid Theory (Linkin Park's original name)and from the streets Linkin Park and many other groups started a new genre of music which united rock and hip hop, but Linkin park also added amazing djing skills by Joseph Hahn to there hybrid of great music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Rock for the More ''Pure''

    I have loved boy bands for a long while, but when Linkin Park came out I threw in towel and became a true fan. Linkin Park is the kind of cd for everyone, and it has great songs! Crawling, In the End, and One Step Closer are some of the best rock songs I've ever heard!! The Linkin Park men have a unique sound that keeps you wanting more and more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    best debut album this year

    even though this is only linkin parks first album it is up their with all the best, all the greats, it is captivating and well worth buying im keeping this short and sweet because the music you will hear will say everything

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cecilia from Malaysia

    after i heard ''crawling'' and look thru the lyrics of almost all the songs of the album online, i decided to buy the album. absolutely fantastic. definitely worth listening to. the lyrics are great, just drive deep into my heart, especially ''crawling'' and ''papercut''. and the music is awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    i think there

    i think linkin park is the best band ever! i listen to there music all the time ! i even got to go backstage at there concert! brookie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2