Customer Reviews for

Hybrids

Average Rating 3.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    It's Okay

    This book to me is OK. Story was good, kinda got weird, and I had to re-read a couple of times cause it would jump to something else and kinda loose ya.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    Not what I expected

    I have enjoyed so many of Whitley's books in the past. He is couragous and intelligent - so i was very excited about reading Hybrid. For me, the blood, gore and graphic descriptions made it impossible to continue reading. Admittedly my tolerance for graphic horror is low, it just shuts down my connection to a most likely intreguing story. Sorry Whitley, i really wanted to 'get' what you were saying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Read for the action...and that's it

    I loved the book for the action. The utter chaos and graphic depictions in the book are rather hard to swallow at times so it might not be for the feint of heart. It’s a typical story plot where you have elements of aliens and the government going hand in hand. So, don’t expect anything new or different. I’d have to say there’s two memorable moments that got to me in this book: San Francisco gone absolute amok, and the part with the hybrids and that village. The latter creeped me out. I’d have to give the author major props for writing descriptive settings that make the hair on the back of your neck rise. Besides the action, well, writing wise it doesn’t do much, and sometimes when you think you’re on a roll to something in the plot, it stops abruptly and the rhythm of the book is all gone. It may not make a difference to some, but it makes the reading haphazard and uneven. Characters in the story aren’t that much to be fully attached to, and really they’re just there for the plot. The little romance going on between the two main characters was a bit leaning towards the cheesy side, the book could have done without that. Don’t expect too much from this book. To me, it was just a decent quick read (sort of like the Hollywood movies you watch just for the special effects, not for the storyline) the creepy factor makes it a good read otherwise, you could give it a pass if it’s not your thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Kathrine

    Hello may i join

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Blade

    Thx

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Never and ever

    Never drinks blood from his hand. Ever turns to a red wolf.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Kekoa

    K

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Emily

    Ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Kody

    Is there a place for bios? I like to have bios.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Nicole

    Heyy of course you can join.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not at all what I expected.

    I regret buying this book. It stinks

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hybrids is a cautionary tale

    In an underground top secret laboratory in New Mexico, years of research by Dr. Thomas Turner and aliens from space proved futile; the visitors finally left. Turner with other human scientists continued the effort until a breakthrough occurred. The team using alien developed gene-splicing technology and theory has created biomechanical hybrids.

    However, Turner and the researchers make a major error as this new species as a machine has no human rights. However, their human side demands these inalienable rights, which are denied them. Thus the new species plans to sit atop the food chain. The scientists fail to prevent the takeover of the lab and soon Homo sapiens are in peril. When the. President learns what has happens, he fumes at his helplessness. Only Mark and Gina, who were the Adam and Eve of the lab, but unaware of their origins, can prevent a pandemic disaster, but those who must reveal the truth to the pair wonder whose side they will be on.

    Hybrids is a cautionary tale that feels somewhat flat because the key players including the title characters never come across as more than caricatures from a B movie. The story line is exciting from start to finish with the loyalty of Adam and Eve uncertain for much of the plot. However, the cast, especially the lab rats, Turner and the government officials never seem fully developed.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1