BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Hymn Before Battle (Human-Posleen War Series #1)

Average Rating 5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2004

    GREAT BOOK

    This is a great book. Military tactics, love, mayhem, and butt kicking all in one. I LOVE THIS BOOK

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2003

    Great Read

    This was a fun book to read. A lot of character development with a wise-guy hero and a lot of action. Especially enjoyed the tongue in cheek humor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Hymn Before Battle

    Great book. Could not put it down. Slam bang action. Great caricatures. solid writing. Cant wait to read the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2000

    Tour de Force by New Military SF Author

    A Hymn Before Battle is an excellent first try from a new military SF author. Combining action, aliens, and a modicum of commentary on military and political realities, it proved to be a real page-turner. For the first time ever, I actually forked over hardcover prices for a brand new author! And might I add - worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2000

    Remarkable!!!

    I couldn't believe this is a first book! You fit right in, cheering for our hero, Mike. John Ringo's experience as a real soldier shows as he brings this first contact story to life. The good new is that the aleins are friendly, the bad news is that the Posleen, the bad guys, are headed straight for Earth. I usually keep my eyes open for books from my favorite authors, Lois Bujold, Harry Turtledove, David Weber, Larry Niven, etc. Well, now I've added a new favorite. I can't wait until the sequel comes out!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2000

    Who Needs Clancy?

    There are very few authors who make my 'Must buy now!' list. Only two -- Clancy and Bujold -- write military fiction. Well, there is now a third, John Ringo. What's truly amazing, he's an even better storyteller in person than he is on the page. And what he puts on the page is some of the best writing about soldiers, combat and political finagling behind the scenes that I have ever read. It's not all battle cries and explosions. It's about how a man tells his wife and two small daughters that he has to put on the uniform, take up the weapons and go out to fight to defend them. It's about how that man has to fight institutional inertia and petty power-plays to try to make sure the lives of the people under his command don't end with governmental form letters, coldly telling parents that their son or daughter will never be coming home, again. It's about how that same man comes to realize that sometimes, to defend that which is worth defending, lives must be risked, perhaps lost -- including his own. For waiting in the wings are the strange, enigmatic allies whose true motives are hinted at, but still unknown. If you like a story about people overcoming their own doubts and fears, here it is. If you like characters so real, so human, you could be standing in their skins, you have them. If you like multi-layered plots with mysteries to solve, buy this one. Read it. Then read it, again, because you'll find other layers, other nuances to savor. In an author's interview, John Ringo said he wrote this book for the soldiers and the people they defend. As both a veteran and one of those defended, I say, 'Thank you, John. You did us all proud.' And I can hardly wait to see what he comes out with, next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2000

    A great first novel

    ...But you're not going to believe it's a first novel. Humanity is an alien federation's only hope to stop the rampaging Posleen. Mike O'Neal finds himself on a development team to adapt alien technology to war uses. Later, he gets a close-up view of the Posleen. I found this to be a very enjoyable novel. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1