BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hyperion (Hyperion Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 237 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(148)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

Great book, really well written, interesting characters. However, don't be fooled into thinking this book stands on it own, it doesn't. At page 560 you'll realize that nothing will be resolved and apparently you'll need to read the sequel to get some semblance of a ...
Great book, really well written, interesting characters. However, don't be fooled into thinking this book stands on it own, it doesn't. At page 560 you'll realize that nothing will be resolved and apparently you'll need to read the sequel to get some semblance of a complete story.

posted by Anonymous on July 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

How Could All The Reviews Be Wrong?

I am a long time SF reader who has always held Hugo award authors with the highest esteem. With this in mind I druged through the story line of Hyperion expecting that with the very next page I would be hooked. Unfortunately I completed the entire book with the though...
I am a long time SF reader who has always held Hugo award authors with the highest esteem. With this in mind I druged through the story line of Hyperion expecting that with the very next page I would be hooked. Unfortunately I completed the entire book with the thought that how could my taste be that differnt from the multitude of other SF readers?.. Up to now I have never been disappointed by those books that have been bestowed the winner of the Hugo Award. Sadly, I now view the Hugo Award in a slightly different light.

posted by Anonymous on October 5, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    Great book, really well written, interesting characters. However, don't be fooled into thinking this book stands on it own, it doesn't. At page 560 you'll realize that nothing will be resolved and apparently you'll need to read the sequel to get some semblance of a complete story.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2002

    Have a copy of the sequel ready!

    Hyperion is an enticingly original sci-fi story with parallels to Chaucer's Canterbury Tales and to the life of John Keats. Allusions to the passion-indeed to the life force-of John Keats are seeded throughout the story in the most intricate manner. However, setting aside Simmons' background in English literature, Hyperion is a book that every science fiction lover should read. Enthrall your imagination while 7 pilgrims on a mission to visit the deadly Shrike relate their stories one-by-one. Simmons displays amazing creative talents as he endears each character (even the most annoying of them) to the fascinated readers. The turn of events is completely unexpected. Simmons keeps you guessing until the very end. Unfortunately, he doesn't end the story here, though. In order to find out what happens to the new found friends, the reader must buy the next book in the series: The Fall of Hyperion (which DOES finish the story). Despite the disappointment and frustration I felt at the end when I had to get my boyfriend to fly a copy of the sequel to me from half-way across the country, I understand the reason for Simmons' unsatisfying conclusion-the ending of the story IS another story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book

    Just an FYI this was spilt into two books when it was originally published so you have to read this one and Fall of Hyperion to get the full story.

    This was a very good book. I enjoyed the characters and the story. It does get tedious at times but I found if I pushed through those things were really good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Isis bio

    Daughter of :Ares
    Look: gold brown hair
    but always wears sunglasses so no one can se her eyes

    Personality: rude sarcastic snaps back so dont try her
    Update soon...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Good retelling of Chaucer

    Using the format of Canterbury Tales, but set in a very believable future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    Back into SciFi

    Started this on a friends recommendation and have been very into reading it since starting. Not quite finished yet. Well written, very edgy and interesting, thought the religious aspects might annoy me but it's been well handled. Long live the shrike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Unique and interesting

    I really enjoyed the style of this book. The characters are explained by telling their own stories like "The Canterbury Tales". The story develops and the mystery of the problems to solve are gradually exposed.

    Well paced plot, characters with depth, at times very moving as it pulls you in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Recommened

    Good si fi

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Great book but it doesn't have an ending.

    I loved this book even though the author changes who is narrating the story many times during the course of the book. Usually I find this disconcerting in a novel, but the author did a great job in employing different narrative styles to give each character their own voice when telling their respective stories. My main complaint with this book is that it doesn't end. I can only assume it is continued in the sequel. This is most annoying. I don't like spending time and money on a novel only to be put off at the denouement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    Highly recommed

    My first book by the author had me hooked for the series and then Illium works transcended that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3