Customer Reviews for

The Hypnotist

Average Rating 3.5
( 267 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

The best surprise of the year!

Picture opening the cover then being in the climax of the story! That's what you get in the Hypnotist. Raw emotion, courage, mayhem and that's all in chapter one.. so keep reading I wait up for you, because I have'nt slept in days any way....

posted by AJAR on June 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Intriguing but flawed

I am a fan of police/detective mysteries, and this one had me interested from the beginning. Unfortunately I could not overlook several logical flaws that I came across. The most annoying was the bizarre behavior of the retired policeman father-in-law of the protagonist...
I am a fan of police/detective mysteries, and this one had me interested from the beginning. Unfortunately I could not overlook several logical flaws that I came across. The most annoying was the bizarre behavior of the retired policeman father-in-law of the protagonist who not only decided to do his own investigation without the help of those already involved but also to include his daughter in several incredibly dangerous situations. This along with a couple of others had me disengaged by the end. Stieg Larsson's writing is superior by far.

posted by kimiko56 on July 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Mediocre at best...

    The Hypnotist by Lars Kepler is a bestselling novel of suspense set in Sweden. The story revolves around Detective Joona Linna and Dr. Erik Maria Bark and his wife and son. Early in the book, a triple homicide is discovered and there is one surviving witness. However, the boy has suffered severe trauma and is in a state of shock. Linna convinces Dr. Bark to hypnotize the boy in order to find the murderer before he strikes again. Dr. Bark has sworn never to practice hypnosis again, but eventually agrees in the hopes of saving a young woman's life. When Dr. Bark breaks his promise and they hypnotize the boy, a chain of terrifying events begins to take place. This novel has joined the ranks of bestselling crime novels from Scandinavia. I found that the plot of the story had great potential but the writing was lacking. It felt like the book was just dragging along. I lost interest early on, but continued reading in the hopes that the storyline would begin to pick up. It did eventually, but not to the point I had hoped. The characters of Joona Linna, Erik Maria Bark, Simone, and the other major players were well developed, but some aspects left the reader asking questions. For example, the reader learns early on that Linna is a driven detective that will not let a case go unsolved. The reason behind this is a sense of personal guilt over something that happened in his past, but the reader never gets to find out what that secret is. Other aspects of the writing were lacking as well. The plot of the novel was interesting but the way the story unfolded was very predictable and all of the "twists" were able to be foreseen. The ending of the story is also lacking - it does not give the reader any type of closure. It leaves the characters and their relationships with one another in limbo with no resolution. I found this novel to be mediocre at best. The plot definitely had potential, but the writing was lacking and the book could have been so much more. I bought this book after reading the other reviews and the description, but I wish I would have saved my money for something worthwhile. This is a book worth reading for fun and for fans of Scandinavian crime fiction such as Steig Larsson's Millennium Trilogy, but I would recommend that you borrow it and not waste your time and money buying it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Intriguing but flawed

    I am a fan of police/detective mysteries, and this one had me interested from the beginning. Unfortunately I could not overlook several logical flaws that I came across. The most annoying was the bizarre behavior of the retired policeman father-in-law of the protagonist who not only decided to do his own investigation without the help of those already involved but also to include his daughter in several incredibly dangerous situations. This along with a couple of others had me disengaged by the end. Stieg Larsson's writing is superior by far.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Cannot recommend

    Tiresome and boring with terribly drawn characters and the dumbest police detective I have ever seen. After "The Man from Beijing," the tattooed girl trilogy, "The Snowman" and now "The Hypnotist" I am swearing off all Scandinavian writers. Scandinavians must all be psycho homicidal nut-cases.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    The hypnotist is too long; page after page without action, and overfilled with character buildup and then redundancy of character studies

    If you like a fast moving action packed mystery, like Jo Nesbo's Harry Hole or Lee Child's Jack Reacher, you won't find it within the Hypnotist. This book is twice the length necessary to make it a good story, instead, the authors chose to use lots of fluff and filler. Not the worst book I've read and certainly not the best either.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    definitely not Stieg Larsson

    Hard to follow at times! Characters were not well developed! I almost quit two thirds of the way through this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    ?!

    Dont know y somwon made this ?????????!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    A real disappointment

    To compare this book with the Stieg Larsson trilogy is to insult the late Mr. Larsson. The story line was poorly constructed and delivered without a consistent thread. It was as if there were two writers who were compiling their singular versions of the same story into one somewhat haphazard format. Wait! There are two writers responsible for this mess. Well, that explains it. There are plenty of good books out there; this is just not one of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    Not a Winner for me

    Personally, I am sorry the critics compared these authors to Steig Larsson and Roslund and Hellstrom in order to sell the book. What starts out as a strong read dwindles into every character and every subplot having the same sexual references applied to them. For me, it was like the authors were stuck on two or three words that they just couldn't get off of. Sad and Disappointing. Anonymous

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Dislike

    Dislike

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Not recommended

    I had high hopes for this book based on the number of good reviews. However, I found the book to be boring and poorly written. I failed to develop an attachment for any of the characters, nor did I believe the events involving the main murder suspect could have possibly happened given his physical condition. If your looking to read a good police procedural by a Swedish author, I would suggest Henning Mankell & his Kurt Wallander series. Mankell is not for everyone, but his books are far better written and more interesting than "The Hypnotist".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2