Customer Reviews for

The Hypnotist

Average Rating 3.5
( 270 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

The best surprise of the year!

Picture opening the cover then being in the climax of the story! That's what you get in the Hypnotist. Raw emotion, courage, mayhem and that's all in chapter one.. so keep reading I wait up for you, because I have'nt slept in days any way....

posted by AJAR on June 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Get Free Discount Code , $40-$10 Code , 20% off one item Code! Get Website: BnBooks.tk

Get Free Discount Code , $40-$10 Code , 20% off one item Code! Get Website: BnBooks.tk

posted by Disbn on June 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    The best surprise of the year!

    Picture opening the cover then being in the climax of the story! That's what you get in the Hypnotist. Raw emotion, courage, mayhem and that's all in chapter one.. so keep reading I wait up for you, because I have'nt slept in days any way....

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Worth $12.99!!

    Erik Maria Bark and Joona Linna are the two protagonists in this exciting murder/kidnapping potpourri of a novel. Erik is the doctor who is a hypnosis specialist and Joona Linna is the detective who dedicates himself to solving the murder/kidnapping mystery. This book is 477 pages, so, it's a pregnant novel. This novel begins with a gruesome murder in Tumba, Sweden involving the Ek family. The father was murdered in the gym locker room and the killer murdered the mother and daughter at their home. The little five year old daughter had her body severed. The slaughter of the Ek family was gruesome. The 15 year old son, Josef Ek, survived about 100 knife wounds but lives. There is later a kidnapping involving the son of Erik and Simone Bark, Benjamin. Benjamin suffers from a rare blood disorder and his parents are in a frenzy to find the kidnapper. "The Hypnotist" is a hard core thriller and the book does not let up on the suspense. You will be in a race to finish the ending. I read this book in two days!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Soooo goood!

    Absolutely loved this book. So much easier to read than "The Girl Who" books (and I adored them). Swedish thriller/crime authors are great and this book had the perfect mix of everything a good thriller should have. Twists and turns, just when you think you've figured it out, you find out you're wrong! Finished it in one day, couldn't put it down.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Request

    For the sake of others who have not read the book, would the reviewers please not describe everything that happens??

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Great Book

    This book is the best mystery book I have ever read! I am a good predictor but this book has baffled me every time because there are so many mysteries that keep you sitting on the edge. I have even been so anxious I wanted to pull over when driving and continue. I love reading on my Nook because it enables me to look up definitions as I read. I hate I can not share as you can a book! This book would make an excellent movie. You will defintely want to research von williebrand disease before reading....or not! Marie of Florida

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Loved this book

    Started it on a cross-country flight yesterday, had to finish it today.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    Its very good dawg!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2014

    This is definitely a page turner of a book.  It captivated my in

    This is definitely a page turner of a book.  It captivated my interest immediately and I couldn't wait to get back to the book each and every night until it was finished.  I am convinced this was a truly great thriller.    Two mysteries are contained within the pages....Who killed the three family members?    And who kidnapped the hypnotist's son?




    I really liked that most of the chapters were short and then quite unexpectedly, there would be a longer chapter.  The characters were shaped and well developed.  Joona  Linna was a Swedish Detective
    with an obsessive need to hear the words, "you are right".   Erik Maria Bark was a psychiatric hypnotist researcher who depended on too many pills to aid his sleep and had a sobering relationship with his wife, Simone or Sixan.    She leaned more on her father for help than she did her husband.   It was all quite understandable as I journeyed from beginning to end.   With the odd assortment of patients Bark dealt with it was indeed a psychological thriller and had this reader gripped and breathing heavy throughout the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Great Read

    Once I got used to the foreign street names it was a non stop read. Love the character Detective Joona and already bought another Lars Kepler book.
    Great story line, easy to follow. Really enjoyed this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Great book, very intense. Have just started another Kepler book;

    Great book, very intense. Have just started another Kepler book; The Paganini contract, so far, great book as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2012

    Recommended

    Another great book from Sweden. If you enjoy Jo Nesbo, Camilla Lackberg or Roslund & Hellstrom you will enjoy Lars Kepler.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Couldnt Wow

    Couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    highly recommended

    this was a well written murder mystery, that kept you guessing almost until the very end. With a second sub mystery the book never got boring. A nice change from your standard murder mystery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    SPELLBINDING!

    This was a great read! Couldn't put it down; engrossing. Stayed up way late reading, had to make myself stop so I could function at work! I think it was easier reading than the Steig Larson series, yet just as exciting. Story is exciting and intriuging:kidnapping,infidelity,psycologically compromised characters, savvy police detective,victimized doctor. Characters are believable and real. I hope there will be more to come.
    Absolutley recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Great

    Could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A MUST READ!

    I literally could not put this book down! Has you going in one direction and then totally twists the story! Well done! Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    Great - plan to read all night.

    This is truely a "can't put it down" novel, so plan to read all night. I hope that this will become a series featuring the two lead characters, a doctor and a Swedish police officer. If you enjoyed the Stieg Larsson books, you'll love this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This has to be one of the best books I have ever read. So suspenseful and just kept you interested from the very first page. Anyone how loves mysteries and suspense should read this book. Cannot wait to read more books from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Terrific

    After enjoying all the "Dragon" books and getting acquainted with Sweden..it was great excitement to plunge into this book...and it didn't disappoint..terrific read..could not put it down!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Keeps you guessing....

    ...and never lets up! After readinng this excellent translation of a Swedish mystery, I tried to retell the gist of the story to my husband and rrealized the involved nature of the novel made it almost impossible to tie all the characters and plotlines together in a cohesive, understandable whole. However, that said, the storyline flowed well and I found myself looking forward every day this week to returning to the book. The last one hundred pages were awesome and pulled everything together. I highly recommend this novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4