Customer Reviews for

The Hypnotist (Reincarnationist Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Love every book in this series!!

    Wish there were more...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Engag­ing and Fluid

    "The Hyp­no­tist" by M. J. Rose is the third book in the fic­tional "The Rein­car­na­tion­ist" series. Each book, while part of the series, is free stand­ing.

    FBI agent Lucian Glass is inves­ti­gat­ing an art col­lec­tor who is destroy­ing expen­sive mas­ter­pieces and becomes involved in a strange case of hostage nego­ti­a­tion. While work­ing the case, Lucian goes under­cover at the Phoenix Foun­da­tion and dis­cov­ers he has flash­backs of past life experiences.

    Lucian ques­tions his san­ity and real­ity while get­ting directed towards an intri­cate plan to break­ing into the Met­ro­pol­i­tan Museum of Art and steal Hyp­nos, the 1,500 year old sculp­ture of the Greek God of sleep.

    "The Hyp­no­tist" by M. J. Rose was, for me, just the right book at the right time. I moved to a new state with my fam­ily, as hard as the move was, being the head of the fam­ily did not allow a melt­down (even though I came close).

    Even though this book is the third in a series, the series itself is non-sequential. While there are some recur­ring minor char­ac­ters and themes, one does not need to read the books in order since each one is a stand­alone story even though it might help you enjoy the book more.

    The chap­ters are easy to read and even though there are mul­ti­ple char­ac­ters I did not get con­fused. There are many twists in the book which kept the mys­tery and sus­pense up and, of course, all come together at the end.

    I would cat­e­go­rize the book as super­nat­ural, only because I don't read super­nat­ural often. How­ever, it is more a mix of his­tory, mys­ti­cism and art. Ms. Rose's writ­ing is engag­ing and fluid. The scenes where the author describes past civ­i­liza­tions, which play a key role in the book, are inter­est­ing, fas­ci­nat­ing and expertly rendered.

    The book was a won­der­ful read to escape from the pres­sures of every­day life and extra, added on pres­sures which I might detail at a dif­fer­ent time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    6 out of 10 stars

    The Hypnotist by M.J. Rose
    Series: Reincarnationist (#3)
    Release Date: April 19th, 2011
    Publisher: Harlequin
    Page Count: 412
    Source: Pump Up Your Book for review, as part of The Hypnotist's blog tour

    Haunted by his inability to stop the murder of a beautiful young painter twenty years ago, Lucian Glass keeps his demons at bay through his fascinating work with the FBI's Art Crime Team. Investigating a crazed collector who's begun destroying prized masterworks, Glass is thrust into a bizarre hostage negotiation that takes him undercover at the Phoenix Foundation -- dedicated to the science of past-life study. There, to maintain his cover, he submits to the treatment of a hypnotist.

    Under hypnosis, Glass travels from ancient Greece to nineteenth-century Persia, while the case takes him from New York to Paris and the movie capital of the world. These journeys will change his very understanding of reality, lead him to question his own sanity, and land him at the center of perhaps the most audacious art heist in history: a fifteen-hundred-year-old sculpture the nation of Iran will do anything to recover.

    What Stephanie Thought: Art trade and theft is one of those subjects that don't come up that often -- at first glance, you wouldn't at all suspect how corrupt and controversial of a market it is. In The Hypnotist, it's revealed that art deals are actually one of the most illicit in the black market, third to the drug and arms trade.

    The book begins with the murder of a beautiful girl. She never did any wrong; she just happened to be standing in the way. This demonstrates how hungry, and how desperate some art dealers are. They would even kill to get their hands on the right artwork. In this case, it's the ancient Persian statue of Hypnos, or the god of dreams, that has no official ownership due to its complicated political history. That is, until hundreds of years later, when Iran claims that it's been theirs all along, and threatens to destroy the originals of a few well-known legendary masterpieces, if they don't get it back.

    To maintain his high-profile identity, agent Lucian Glass goes undercover as a troubled artist and sees a psychotherapeutic hypnotist. The process of hypnosis reveals a startling and vicious past, and eventually tells the whole story of how Hypos's statue's fervor began, and why it's so desperately desired in the present.

    M.J. Rose writes with complexity and poise; I am really impressed by her authoritative tone and thought process. However, there was a little too much for me in this book. Too much information, too much detail, and as a mystery novel, rather than keeping me at edge with every page, I soon became weary of its wordiness and seemingly endless plot.

    As a critic, I am intrigued and enchanted by The Hypnotist's intricate detail, but as a reader, there isn't too much praise I can give to the overall story.

    Stephanie Loves: "Objectivity is overrated. Passion is much more productive."

    Radical Rating: 6 hearts- Would recommend to people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    In order to preserve the future, you must visit the past~!!

    The Hypnotist is book three in The Reincarnationist's series. It is a mystery suspense thriller with mild to moderate expletives and violence.

    Lucian Glass works for the FBI as part of their Art Crimes Team who has a past surrounded by murder and mystery. At nineteen, he returns from his artist studio, to find his girlfriend murdered and hanging amongst the picture frames of her father's framing business. However, before Lucian can react, he too is attacked and left for dead, now twenty years later, that past is coming back to haunt him.

    Dr. Malachai Samuels is a long-standing reincarnationist who is obsessed with proving that people's souls do, in fact, reincarnate into other bodies. His speciality is working with children, like little Veronica who begins her tale in ancient Persia, he hypnotizes the children and does past regression therapy upon them. However, Veronica's tales are tying into the memory stones that he desperately seeks, and he will stop at nothing to obtain them.

    Emeline Jacobs is a cousin of Solange's who has been adopted by Solange's parents, shortly after her murder. In a desperate need to feel wanted, her family was killed in an accident, Emeline begins to take on the persona of Solange. Causing her aunt and uncle to whisk her from doctor to doctor trying to uncover the secret of Emeline's uncanny mannerisms of her late cousin.

    Samimi is an Iranian who is working to return a statue of the God, Hypnos, back to his country. He and his people know the secrets of the statue and will cheat, lie, steal and murder to regain control of the piece, which now sits in the restoration department of the New York Metropolitan Museum. Samimi works for a boorish, murderous oaf and wishes to displace him, fearing he will be called home to Iran or worse, murdered, he works to bring salvation to his people while keeping his own self alive and intact.

    Each person moves separately towards their destinations not realizing they are all being directed to the same point in time. As each of the characters come to realize they are but a small piece in a bigger game, they must come to terms with their past, in order to preserve their futures.

    I absolutely enjoyed the book and loved all the historical references to the art pieces mentioned throughout the story. My favourite painter is Monet and reading about his work was very interesting, as were the informative pieces about Matisse, Van Gogh and the mythology behind the statue of Hypnos was equally enthralling to read. I wish there had been more of it dispersed throughout the book. I loved the blending of the past with the present with the past life transgression therapy and appreciated the tales being told through both Veronica and Lucian. The tie-ins of all the participants was well-written and convincing.

    The story is both slow and fast paced and it works to build momentum within the story, making you turn the pages in order to finish the tale that M.J. Rose has choose to tell. I wasn't much impressed with Emeline and wished she had been kept as an associate instead of a love interest. I don't think good stories need such and I'm often left wondering why, in times of horror, do authors have a need to throw a love story into the fray, it just doesn't make sense to me and often takes away from a story, The Hypnotist falls into such a category, unfortunately. In my honest opinion, its the books only real downfall to the plot. A small hindrance however, t

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointing! Too much "high brow" art, not enough story.

    I loved the first two books of the trilogy, from M J Rose. This book was an unexpected let down. Truely enjoying most of M J Rose's books, I was excited for it, but found the characters were uninteresting & hard to relate to. Their flaws were so overwhelming I just felt sorry for the characters & myself for spending time & money on this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fast-Paced Mystery

    Lucian Glass's life was defined by one moment in time. As a young art student, he arrived at a galley to find his girlfriend murdered. Attacked also, Lucian barely survives. That event changed his life. Rather than pursuing a career as an artist, he becomes an FBI agent who specializes in art fraud.

    His current case is one of his most challenging. His long-time nemesis, Dr. Malachi Samuels, is a doctor who explores the fields of reincarnation and past-life regressions. Glass also believes that he is a mass murderer who kills his way to the treasures he acquires to help in his research. When the new case evolves, he believes that Samuels must be the mastermind behind the scenes.

    The Metropolitan Museum of Art is involved in a custody case with Iran. The Iranian government believes that the museum has wrongfully acquired a statue of Hypnos, the god of sleep. As they work through the legal intricacies, a new player bursts on the scene. The museum is sent a masterpiece; a Matisse. But, the painting has been shredded, ruined beyond restoration. The sender claims to have four more paintings of the same quality. He has a proposition. The museum can give him the statue in return for the paintings, or he will send them one at a time, destroyed. Glass works the case, sure that his opponent is Samuels, but is he right? He is also pulled back in time when he becomes involved with his girlfriend's cousin, who has remained in the art world.

    Fans of M.J. Rose won't be disappointed in this novel. Fast-paced with entrancing characters and an exploration of reincarnation and the art world, The Hypnotist is a compelling read. This book is recommended for mystery readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Engrossing!

    This is the third book in M.J. Rose's Reincarnationist series. I have not read the first two, but received a review copy of this one from the publisher through NetGalley.com. A reader can easily jump into the middle of this series, though, after having read The Hypnotist, I will definitely go back and read the first two!

    The plot is intricate, full of twists and complications that require the reader to be paying attention. While reincarnation is the central theme, we're taken through an ancient world of artifacts and the modern world of stolen artwork. Everyone's lives seem to be intertwined, with the past bleeding into the present.

    The characters are each unique, struggling with their own demons as they find their way. Rose's writing easily dropped me into this made-up world and held me there until the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    To some deja vu is more than just a coincidence. It is pieces from our past lives that play an important part on the here, the now and the future.

    Lucian lost the love of his life a long time ago and blames himself for not being able to save her. He works for the FBI and the current case has him tracking down a thief. Under hypnosis, Lucian reveals some information that he didn't even know he had. Demands are made and one wrong move could destroy everything.

    This is one of those books that take you to another level that you didn't even know existed. We've all heard about reincarnation by M.J. is so talented that her story seems like the first one to ever. Definitely 5 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Under A Spell

    Like sparks growing into a flame, the bits and pieces of this suspenseful puzzle meld together to engulf the reader in a fascinating tale of past life reincarnation. Lucien Glass, an FBI special agent on the Art Crime Team, is brought into the Metropolitan Museum of Art to investigate the destruction of an almost priceless work of art that had been missing for years and then shows up in tatters. Glass and his team are faced with the task of meeting a blackmailer's demand for an exchange of four other stolen masterpieces in trade for a Greek statue of Hypnos, the god of sleep. Unbeknownst to Glass the statue is also coveted by two other unscrupulous men, each with their own agenda. This coupled with the past life experiences touching on the same statue, that Glass continues to deny to himself, adds up to a twisting surprise ending that will keep the reader guessing. A highly entertaining, smooth flowing, and very suspenseful story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A superb thriller

    FBI's Art Crime Team special agent Lucian Glass continues his pursuit of the Phoenix Foundation's Malachi Samuels. Both adversaries also seek the "Memory Tools" that enable people to look into their past-lives' memories.

    A Matisse painting stolen two decades ago from the gallery of Andre Jacobs is sent to the Metropolitan Museum of Art ripped to shreds. The slasher warns the museum that four more stolen masterpieces will be destroyed unless MOMA gives to the thief the fifteen century old Hypnos, a sculpture that allegedly can bestow supernatural power to a person. Lucian has never forgotten the theft because his beloved Solange, Andre's daughter, was killed during the heist. As he travels though past lives in ancient Greece and ninetieth century Persia, Lucian is attracted to Andre's niece Emeline, whom the gallery owner raised as his adopted daughter as she reminds him so much of his Solange; too much so.

    The latest Reincarnationist tale novel (see The Memorist), The Hypnotist is another great entry in one of the most exhilarating fresh sagas on the market today. The past lives and the present case subplots merge effortlessly into a superb thriller held together by a stunned Lucian.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1