Customer Reviews for

Hypocrite in a Pouffy White Dress: Tales of Growing Up Groovy and Clueless

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 17, 2009

    one of the best light-hearted memoirs around!

    I purchased this book merely because of the title and the picture on the cover. I was not disappointed! The title holds true to the story and the author made me laugh! I have passed this book on to several of my friends, my daughters, my mother and they all loved it! Read this book--you will love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    Hypocrite in a Pouffy White Dress is very real, very funny and very Gilman! After reading Undress Me in the Temple of Heaven, I was hooked on Gilman...absolutely captivated by her style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Accurately judged a book by its cover

    Witty look back at growing up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An unexpected treasure!!

    This book is one of the funniest most entertaining autobiographies I've ever read. It was fun and upbeat, something that doesn't always happen in autobiographies. It really shined light on that type of era and how the kids growing up in certain areas are effected there whole lives from it. Truly amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Clever, Witty, Fun, and Charming

    A clever and witty ride, highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    What a GREAT read!!

    I have been reading no savoring this book for months. I love a book that can make me laugh out loud (which this book did several times--which led to funny looks from strangers sitting at the coffee shop and riding on the bus) and makes me think. Great work Ms Gilman!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was so fun to read! At first I thought it was going to be a heartbreaking story, but as I read, Susan's personality shown through. This book is not your typical biography! What a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2006

    Funniest book of the year

    Even though I was raised in a small town in PA (by conservative, non-hippie parents), I can totally relate to these stories. If you grew up in the 60's or 70's, you'll have to find this book laugh-out-loud hilarious. If you didn't grow up in the 60's, oh well - you missed out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2006

    Hilarious!!

    This is one of the few books I've read recently that actually made me laugh out loud! The characters are easy to relate to (depending on your age, of course) and it's an easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2005

    Hysterical

    I've never laughed out loud so many times. And if you grew up on the Upper West Side like I & the author did, you can even more appreicate the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    Fantastic

    Picked up the book while browsing for something 'new'. The title caught my eye. This book caused me to laugh out loud on more than one occassion. Having been raised in the same era as the author I can totally relate to some of the quirks of her upbringing. Very funny and and a breath of fresh air.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2005

    I'm a guy...

    I picked this book up because she was compared to David Sedaris and Frank McCourt wrote a review on the back cover. She's smart, funny and it's overall a favorite. It's a good book for a guy to read to get a glimmer into the world of women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2005

    What I've read so far...

    I have made it only 66 pages into this book and already I am tired of the overdramatization for the sake of a laugh. Yes, kids can be cruel, but every single one? The exaggerations have to come from the very oversized ego of the writer (what 4-year-old is that verbose and articulate? My 4-year-old can't say the 'th' sound!). I want to keep reading as I hate to give up on any book, but it sure is difficult. This is supposed to be a memoir of sorts but it reads too much like fiction that I can only see it as that. Read on at your own risk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2005

    Hilarious

    Quite a funny book. Fun to read if you want a trip down memory lane or want to be thankful that your family was not as freaky weird as hers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2005

    Laugh Out Loud Funny!

    A must read for anyone who enjoys the funny side of life. Susan J.'s tales of getting a clue (while still being groovy) are hilarious! Be prepared to giggle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2