Customer Reviews for

I Am

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW

    There has got to be something wrong with the powers that be at Def Jam, oh I forgot it is run by a rapper that doesn't known music. When you get an artist like this you shout it from the roof tops. This CD is classic and will go down in history as one the the greatest CD of our time. Just watch for the Billboard top 100 albums, if it is not mentioned music is dead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Real R & B Music

    This album is fantastic...She has a mature voice and sound...Not enough publicity was done for this artist/album...Talented lady...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    shalajar thought

    ok the lady has a great voice but where was the marketing at. Then what happen to the cd ,the poeple didnt even no it was in stores. Def jam it's time to start not being Def.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    On point

    About time....Real Music again. Nice and Mello. I have been playing Corrine B. Rae to death, it's great having another nice, mello cd to listen to... Her voice is amazing. Shout outs to an old college friend who recommended this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This CD is a breathe of fresh air! Her voice is like honey, just soothing! I am glad I bought this CD just walking through the Music Department! Get it you won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Impressive

    I'm not a fan of R&B, but this CD blew me away. I think it's because it's more melody-driven and less beat-driven than most R&B music today. Because of that there's more feeling and substance. I recommend, it's definitely worth your money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GOOD PURE MUSIC

    This CD is excellent from beginning to the end. Chrisette Michele's voice and music is refreshing. This CD is a great mix of jazzy R&B. I look forward to hearing more of her music in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I kept hearing a commercial for her CD and finally I saw it. Never heard of her but I realized she had worked with JayZ and Nas. So, I went to the website and listened to some other clips and was BLOWN AWAY! Then, I made it worse by going to YouTube and seeing some clips of her live...again BLOWN AWAY. After I found out the cd was being released the next day, I couldn't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    It has been written that Chrisette Michele is the “Best New Artist” since John Legend. I will cosign that assessment. Record stores may be challenged as to where to place her debut CD “I Am ” jazz/New Soul/R&B/rap. How about "Top of the Chart" section? Chrisette’s raspy, strong voice and song’s lyrics both entice men, while encourages and empowers women listeners. This CD is on shuffle and repeat in my CD player rotation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Powerhouse in a small package

    I really enjoyed this cd. It is a rare cd that you can listen to without touching any skip buttons. It is refreshing to know that r& b is not dead. She has has filled the void that Jill Scott left after her first cd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Smash Hit

    This young woman is a super talent. She has an outstanding vocal range, she even makes hip hop sound like jazz. There is something for everyone on this cd. I am sure we will be hearing much about her in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Normally don't go for this type of music, more into HipHop

    She is fire, I can't remember when I heard music that puts me in mind of Billy Holliday as much as Chrisette Michele. It make's me feel that it's ok to grow-up. It needs more air play, ops I forgotten, I don't listen to the radio any more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1