Customer Reviews for

I Am Half-Sick of Shadows (Flavia de Luce Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Love this series

    My only regret, in having read this book, is that I have to wait another year for the fifth book in the series to be published. Flavia is the hero of my inner child, and her story is told so well by the author.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Highly recommend. Excellent Series!!!

    Incredibly creative writing. Great storyline. I love Flavia De Luce.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Flavia has done it again!

    Throughout reading this amazing book, I was always captured by the unexpected twists and turns of the novel, the beautiful figurative language used, and, of course, the clever mind of Flavia de Luce. I read this book in merely a few days, because I always dreaded the moment when I would have to put it down. I was eager to turn each page, and immersed in Flavia's life of murder, poisons, and the occasional wise words of her friend Dogger. You don't even have to read the other books before it, it will still come off as spectacular. If you are looking for an amazing, captivating mystery, look no further. This novel, by the incredibly talented author Alan Bradley, has it all. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Charming-A Perfect Gift

    This is my favorite Flavia De Luce book. It is full of interesting characters and Flavia is at her best. Highly recommended and would make a lovely gift for a reader of any age. The hardback is adorable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Canoe lake.

    There are things i have yet to discover down there and i dont want campers dissapearing because they took a dip in......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    The entire series is excellent. It's a true who-done-it that ma

    The entire series is excellent. It's a true who-done-it that makes British mysteries so enjoyable. A funny heroine with a good mind who untangles the craziest of murders. I love every minute!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    An engaging series!

    This is the second book about Flavia that I have had the good fortune to find. Her character is engaging. The chemistry trivia is an added plus. If you are looking for a new series I highly recommend this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Jaggedstar

    Smirks and follows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Misty

    She tryed to slip away from the cats.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Virus

    *Virus grunted, slashing his claws across Sun-Wolf's eyes*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Tiger

    CaptureS misty

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Crystalstar

    Grabbed Misty's scruff and slapped her in a cage. "Listen up, Omega!" She snarled. "Shadowstalker will treat to your wounds after we hurt you." She took the pup to the first result. <p>
    Shadow gagged but followed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Intrepid detective Flavia is again on a case....

    With her trusty bike to guide her and her cinderellaesk sisters to spurn her on Flavia falls into a murder case during christmas and this one once again cuts close to home and loved ones.
    So taking to her sanctum lab and using her quick wit and keen observation Flavia rallys to save St. Nick while whipping up hilarious potions in her lab! Well done series makes you laugh and truly feel the london after world war two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Loved it! The whole series is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    This was a pleeasure to read.

    This was a fascinating story, honestly, and being around flavia's age gives me a good point of view. I could compare the story to one of Agatha Christie's novels. Flavia DeLuce is just as fascinating and clever as Monsieur Poirot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    Flavia is a must read! For anyone who has ever battled with siblings, been drawn into a mystery as a child, or just wants a good escape. Alan Bradley, keep Flavia coming!

    Alan Bradley makes the reader want to jump into this book and become Flavias best friend, mixing fireworks in her lab and then setting them off on the rooftop. To be eleven again and have your sisters as arch enemies! I can't wait for the next book. Will Flavia discover more about her Mother? What kind of poisen will she mix next and who will she use it on?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    Another Amazing Flavie de Luce Book

    Ever since picking up The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie a few months ago, I haven't been able to put this amazing, mystery series by Alan Bradley down. This most recent installation in the Flavia de Luce crime solving tales did not disappoint! I highly recommend if you are a fan of the previous books, you are sure to love this one too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    What's the atomic number of arsenic?

    What's the atomic number of arsenic?

    How do you know if Flavia de Luce is well in mind? She knows her periodic table of elements.
    I'm pleased with the 4th book in this series. But I'm left wanting more. A very cozy mystery indeed. I got the chills numerous time due to all the descriptions of the weather. A snow storm to end all feeling in your fingers and toes. And the chamber of death scene gave me the creeps. Flavia is brave, smart, daring, the real deal. A treasure. I will start the series over again because it's worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Threedognite

    Flavia has become my favorite heroin. I love her sense of humor, her love of chemistry and her quest to find out who she is in the strange family in which she was deposited. She has such an honest innocence....that which has been lost in most modern literature. Hope to find out in adventures to come all the mysteries of her young life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    A must read for fans of Flavia

    A Christmas return to Buckshaw and the life of Flavia de Luce is welcome indeed! A film crew has descended on Buckshaw to make a movie and help defray the costs of running the estate. Over half of Bishop's Lacey makes the trek out for a holiday benefit concert (that church needs a lot of work), only to be snowed in during the subsequent blizzard. Of course, a body is discovered and with no where to run, all are suspects in this story. Her trusty bike in storage for the winter, Flavia must make do with the hidey holes at Buckshaw to ferret out information. Although it has a familiar feel, the story is fun as always. Flavia is such a great character, kicked out the Girl Guides, she's a total cross between Nancy Drew, Harriet the Spy and Miss Marple. This book would stand alone alright if you're new to the de Luce clan, but you're shorting yourself if you don't read them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3