Customer Reviews for

I Am Legend (and Other Stories)

Average Rating 4
( 354 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(158)

4 Star

(113)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic read!!!

After seeing the movie, I wanted to know more, so I picked up the book. I discovered this is actually a short story & was totally different than the movie.
Like a lot of books, the story starts out in the present. However, Matheson did not delve into the past's deta...
After seeing the movie, I wanted to know more, so I picked up the book. I discovered this is actually a short story & was totally different than the movie.
Like a lot of books, the story starts out in the present. However, Matheson did not delve into the past's details & when he did, it wasn't quite the chronology I was expecting, which sets this novel apart. Also, I think Matheson portrayed the main character wonderfully! I love that he was so rough & flawed, but this also made the character more real to me. I also enjoyed the sporadic dialogue the main character had with HIMSELF. The dialogue kept the book from being monotonous. Thought-provoking read with enough emotional & scientific-based depth to keep me interested. Not a disappointment.

posted by 148617 on November 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Half a good read

The first half of the book was an interesting and enjoyable read. I didn't care for the second half at all. I found it pointless and irritating.

posted by kyrisaean on April 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 354 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic read!!!

    After seeing the movie, I wanted to know more, so I picked up the book. I discovered this is actually a short story & was totally different than the movie.<BR/>Like a lot of books, the story starts out in the present. However, Matheson did not delve into the past's details & when he did, it wasn't quite the chronology I was expecting, which sets this novel apart. Also, I think Matheson portrayed the main character wonderfully! I love that he was so rough & flawed, but this also made the character more real to me. I also enjoyed the sporadic dialogue the main character had with HIMSELF. The dialogue kept the book from being monotonous. Thought-provoking read with enough emotional & scientific-based depth to keep me interested. Not a disappointment.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A classic

    In 1976, the pandemic plague devastated the earth. Most people died while those who survived were biologically altered into nocturnal blood drinking in-humans. That is everyone except for one remaining purebred Robert Neville never changed as he apparently was immune to the plague. He is the last surviving Homo sapiens, but the converted see him as being different as the monster tied to the dead legendary past who must die. He endures his ordeal through alcohol, but his loneliness is driving him insane as each night he considers giving up until he meets his first non vampire friend since the disease, a dog fearful of him.-------------- This book actually contains a reprint of the 1954 classic novella I AM LEGEND in conjunction with an upcoming movie (note that Vincent Price starred in the 1960s film The Last Man on Earth based on this tale) and ten short stories that are entertaining and well written, but feel like padding to almost double the size of the book. Readers will understand why some of the great horror writers like Stephen King consider this novella one of the best ever as it crosses science fiction with horror yet holds up well because the bottom line is this is a character study of the human need for companionship as well as a Frankenstein like question as to just who is the monster?------------- Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Great story, but nothing like the Will Smith movie...

    As an avid horror fan and zombie junkie, I totally loved this book. I was at first disappointed by the fact that it was really nothing like the Will Smith movie that was TOTALLY AWESOME! This book is just as great and has a deep insight into the human psyche and what truley being alone could do to it. There was a little bit of everything in this book and at times I found myself terrified, laughing, and even shedding a tear. I highly recommend this book to horror/zombie fans and anyone who likes a good psychological journey as well.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    I Am legend

    A lone survivor by the name of Robert Neville lives in present day New York, New York.
    As Robert Neville survives by himself in New York for the last couple of years. He is trying to find a cure for a plague that had killed everyone and turned them into almost vampire creatures. Every single day is a struggle as he tries to survive against these creatures. As the book goes on his life becomes more and more uncontrollable and he himself starts losing his mind.
    There are many books for people who enjoy action. Some which include some of Stephen Kings writings and many others. My favorite character out of the book would probably be the main character Robert Neville only because everything he goes through in the whole book. Secondly he thinks everything out throughout all of his research and just thinking about it.
    So as Robert goes on everyday and struggles through his life and as you read on you will find out what happens to Robert himself. So I challenge you to go to your local library or get the book online and read his life. Read his legend.
    I would recommend this book to others who love and enjoy action.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This Book Is Legend

    There were some things I really loved about I Am Legend. First, it is number one on my list for most scientific books about vampires I have ever read. I was surprised to see the book was very different from the Will Smith movie, but I loved this version too. The thing I liked most about the novel (especially compared to the movie) was the ending. The events of the ending portion of I Am Legend really came out of left field for me. I wasn't expecting what happened, at all. It is very much the most important part of the novel. It leaves us with a message, questioning what we have known and what we believe. I thought it was poignant and powerful, and it certainly left me thinking.

    A superb book, filled with such powerful emotions when pondering the existence of humans.

    Yes, this book is Legend.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    Amazing story.

    So much better than the movie. Hollywood just can't do anything justice anymore.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    R.I.P Richard Matheson

    One of the best vampire novels. One of the best apocalyptic stories. One of the best horror/sci-fi writers ever. He is Legend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Much better than the Movie

    I first watched the movie, I am Legend with Will Smith. After reading the book, I am now disappointed in the movie. For those who liked the movie, I will warn that the book is much different...but for the better. I enjoyed the little twist at the end of the book. I found I am Legend to be thrilling, frightening, and nicely written. I found it amusing at times, frightening at times, and intelligently written. Richard Matheson is a famous horror story writer and his stories are great. The main character is easy to relate to and the ending is perfect. I recommend this book to people who love horror books and those who enjoyed watching the movie. Warning: if you liked the movie before and read this, you might be disappointed int he movie afterward (I was). It's an easy read and entertaining. There are also a few short stories in the back of this edition. Some I really liked and other were okay. This book will be in my permanent library.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Even better than the movie!

    First off, I am Legend the movie is my favorite movie. I waited four years to read the book, and am pleasantly surprised. Matheson obviously put a lot of research and thought into this novel, and it shows. If you liked the movie, you need to read the story as well! They are very different though, like most movies and books of the same title.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Very confused

    This is not a reflection on the book itself, as I have yet to read it BUT - This book is titled I am Legend (And Other Stories). There are no other stories in this book. I assumed it was a compilation, or at the very least had another story attached to it. This book is simply I am Legend. Talk about false advertising

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Half a good read

    The first half of the book was an interesting and enjoyable read. I didn't care for the second half at all. I found it pointless and irritating.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2014

    If you're deciding to read the book because you liked the Will S

    If you're deciding to read the book because you liked the Will Smith movie then you may be disappointed. The movie great but is very pathetically based on the book and in my opinion shouldn't bare the same name. That being said, the book is a good read. I enjoyed following the psychological change of a lone survivor's mind as time went on. One gripe I have that has nothing to do with the story itself is that I purchased and read this on my NOOK before viewing the website and I noticed that the book is supposed to have 320 pages where my ebook only has 149. This may be an oversight on my part but I'm slightly disappointed that I didn't get the short stories after the main novel. If you're reading this review on your NOOK beware.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    I am legend

    I saw the movie and wanted the book but too much money to buy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    I loved the movie!

    I loved the movie! My brother keeps on asking me to buy this book so he can read but i said no becaise i do not want to waste my money because i have already read it. I mean who hasn't?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Awesome book

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Yaa! Free saample i YAA! Free sample rocks and the movie did great folowing the book too bad the sample is just sample

    This story is an exclent story you will love as you join nevill in this emostional post apocoliptic setting puts you at the end of your seet with tissues taking up 50% of your trash can

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Horribly riddiculous book

    Its horrible NEVER read it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Worthwhile Reading

    This reminded me more of the old movie Omega Man than the Will Smith "I Am Legend". Though it greatly differed from the movie I completely enjoyed the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Awesome

    This book is amazing! I cried so much when robert had to kill his dog. There is a lot of action and suspense. Overall very good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 354 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18