Customer Reviews for

I Am Legend (and Other Stories)

Average Rating 4
( 354 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(158)

4 Star

(113)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic read!!!

After seeing the movie, I wanted to know more, so I picked up the book. I discovered this is actually a short story & was totally different than the movie.
Like a lot of books, the story starts out in the present. However, Matheson did not delve into the past's deta...
After seeing the movie, I wanted to know more, so I picked up the book. I discovered this is actually a short story & was totally different than the movie.
Like a lot of books, the story starts out in the present. However, Matheson did not delve into the past's details & when he did, it wasn't quite the chronology I was expecting, which sets this novel apart. Also, I think Matheson portrayed the main character wonderfully! I love that he was so rough & flawed, but this also made the character more real to me. I also enjoyed the sporadic dialogue the main character had with HIMSELF. The dialogue kept the book from being monotonous. Thought-provoking read with enough emotional & scientific-based depth to keep me interested. Not a disappointment.

posted by 148617 on November 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Half a good read

The first half of the book was an interesting and enjoyable read. I didn't care for the second half at all. I found it pointless and irritating.

posted by kyrisaean on April 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Half a good read

    The first half of the book was an interesting and enjoyable read. I didn't care for the second half at all. I found it pointless and irritating.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Main story not good, backups worse.

    I never heard of Richard Matheson's work before seeing the Will Smith movie version of I Am Legend. I'm not proud of that knowing that he pretty well thought of but after reading, or at least trying to read this I'm not exactly sure why. The main story here while almost nothing like the movie also wasn't that good. The story could have been fleshed out and the "science" didn't make much sense. The ending was good but overall not very good in my opinion. Sadly the rest of the book contained short stories that I struggled to get through then finally relented and gave up. Cliché followed cliché which is odd for stories printed so long ago. Overall this is something that is better about than read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    Where is the rest of the story?

    This book started out with a lot of detail about his life as the last man on earth, i will admit i saw the movie before the book but as most people will say the book is better than the movie I was quite let down, i did give it credit as being written quite a while before the movie, but it was a very disappointing book. The story is good and goes similarly to the movie, but it is presneted as thought the vampires are not very smart, but then in the end it is like they get a sudden stroke of genius. It seemed like the story just fell the dog has no real importance in the book so i can see why they change it in the movie, but the end just stops. It is like he was on a deadline to write it and the deadline was getting close so he just finished it. I was not at all impressed with the way there was so much biology and such involved no one wants to read about that in a story the movie really makes the testing and such a lot more easy to understand, we dont need to know about cells and such, i read that part but didnt get much from it as i felt more like i was reading a text book rather than a story. This can't be claimed to be a novel since only about half the book is the actual sroty, the rest of the pages are filled with uninteresting stories, i kept reading them thinking this was the way the vampires were living after they killed Neville but that wasnt the case, come on a story about a guy in a suit playing a game at a fair, who cares. This story definitley fell short of what it could have been.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    Wow, I really started to enjoy this story around the middle of the book and then I turned the page, and it was over. The second half of the book is a collection of short stories? I feel like I was ripped off...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2007

    THIS BOOK SUCKED!!!!

    Ok still recomend you see the movie but this book had to be one of the worst books that I have ever read. Not even worth buying. Movie was a lot better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2007

    What?

    I was really confused when the story ended abrubtly on page 159 of 312. I had no idea there were a bunch of short stories in this book. The cover gives no mention of that fact. It has really skewed my view of the book because when you think you are only halfway through a book, but then you are suddenly done, it kind of sours everything you had read up to that point. I think I liked the story, but I am pretty sure I would have really enjoyed it if the book was only 159 pages 'i.e. no other stories included'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2007

    I don't understand...

    ...what happened? Here you are going along enjoying the book and BAM! It's as though someone just slammed a door in your face or in this case ended the book without warning. Did the author decide he was bored writing it and ended it? I mean what the hell?! The author went into quite a bit of detail in some areas and then he just ends it like no big deal. And then, to top it off, at the end you keep reading and realize that the book ended on page 159 and now you are reading a bunch of short stories or whatever they are. This book had so much potential and Mr. Matheson dropped the ball. So, if you like to read a book longer than 159 pages, don't read this one. On the other hand, if you have an attention span of a gnat then read away. One more thing, the only similarities between the book and the movie are the post apocalyptic setting and the character name Neville, other than that forget it. Needless to say, I will not be reading any more of Robert Matheson. He ended my interest in him as an author the way he ended the book¿short and quick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    Eh...

    Not happy! As someone who spends a lot of their extra money on books, this made me realize that I just wasted eleven bucks! As other people have already said, the whole short story thing totally threw me off...I thought I was still reading I Am Legend! Ugh...hopefully the movie is better?? I think I'll stick with the authors that haven't dissappointed me so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2007

    What the......?

    I am legend is a short story followed by a bunch of other short stories? I was rivited.....til the most interesting thread ended and everything else was nonsensically heaped in there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2007

    Format of the book is deceving

    When I purchased the book I was excited, 300+ pages of Apocolypse and Vampires, YES! Then I got to reading, I should have figured, with only one person left on earth, yah no to little dialogue, also, there was no explanation of the plague that spread either, ad to top it all of, the story is jam packed into appx. 175 pages and just ends. I loved teh concept but was very let dwon by all teh hype that people had

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1