BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

I Am Legend (and Other Stories)

Average Rating 4
( 356 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(158)

4 Star

(114)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic read!!!

After seeing the movie, I wanted to know more, so I picked up the book. I discovered this is actually a short story & was totally different than the movie.
Like a lot of books, the story starts out in the present. However, Matheson did not delve into the past's deta...
After seeing the movie, I wanted to know more, so I picked up the book. I discovered this is actually a short story & was totally different than the movie.
Like a lot of books, the story starts out in the present. However, Matheson did not delve into the past's details & when he did, it wasn't quite the chronology I was expecting, which sets this novel apart. Also, I think Matheson portrayed the main character wonderfully! I love that he was so rough & flawed, but this also made the character more real to me. I also enjoyed the sporadic dialogue the main character had with HIMSELF. The dialogue kept the book from being monotonous. Thought-provoking read with enough emotional & scientific-based depth to keep me interested. Not a disappointment.

posted by 148617 on November 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Half a good read

The first half of the book was an interesting and enjoyable read. I didn't care for the second half at all. I found it pointless and irritating.

posted by kyrisaean on April 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Very confused

    This is not a reflection on the book itself, as I have yet to read it BUT - This book is titled I am Legend (And Other Stories). There are no other stories in this book. I assumed it was a compilation, or at the very least had another story attached to it. This book is simply I am Legend. Talk about false advertising

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    For once the movie was better than the book.

    But still a short and ok read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Will Smith?

    Isnt there a movie the same as this? With Will Smit?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Mimi

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Eh

    I was really expecting more out of this book but i didnt really enjoy it. It skipped in years and that got confusing and at some points there was not enough explanation to certain aspects of the plot. Not worth the ten dollars i spent. If u really want to read this book borrow it. Do not waste your money.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Other Stories?

    I ordered this book to read with a book club. The title promised the "other stories" included in many other editions;however, it only contains I am Legend. There were also several typos throughout. The story was good, but find a different edition.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    This book explains a lot

    If you have seen the movie I am legend and left with a feeling that the movie was incomplete the book will explain that feeling. I think the story is compelling and the writing is adequate, but Matheson just gives up when the story is reaching it's most compelling. Following I Am Legend there is a collection of short stories that are in a word "strange". They are enjoyable, but in a very unusual way. This book is definitely not for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Not quite what I was expecting.

    Ok, first of all. I am Legend is only half the book. The rest is unrelated short stories, Twilight Zone style. Of course, there is not prologue to explain this. So I was half way through them before I realized that I am Legend had ended. And it was just an ok ending, but because I was expecting another 100 pages of story, I was dissapointed. <BR/><BR/>Just know what you're getting when you buy the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic Fiction

    It was not all that different from the 3 movies made from it and worth reading, just to enjoy the writing style of the time:1950's I believe.... My version has some short stories Matheson wrote that the publisher added...(at the end of my version of I Am Legend) ...and most are quite good. Would recommend :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    good story wrapped in deceptive package

    add me to the list of deceived. half way through the book and things are getting good, but the next couple of chapters seem to have nothing to do with the story. i was wondering how he was going to tie the dark stranger with magical beer pong powers, and the voodoo doll menace to the plot. then the next chapter, witch wars, ok - i didn't have to read that one to figure it out. but seriously, only a little blurb on the bottom of the back cover tells you what's up with the book (the table of contents still look like chapters of the same story). in my opinion that's deliberately misleading and not fair to the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    Nothing like the movie

    This book is a good story, but I was very disappointed having seen the movie first. I really liked the movie and rushed out to buy the book, hoping to gain more insights into the great story I saw in the movie. From page one, the story was ENTIRELY different. I can not even believe the movie is named 'I am Legend.' Just be prepared. And yeah, the short stories really threw more for another loop. Not what I expected at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    NOT WHAT I EXPECTED

    This was not at all what I had expected. I am huge Richard Matheson fan from back in the romance days. But this was a dissappointment for me. Sorry Richard, maybe next time. Vampires?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    What are the small extras?

    The book is great and the story is amazing untill it goes into those boring little stories, I dont even know what that is all about. I am shure other people agree that it could of ended better and Richard Matheson should of just left out the few short stories, they werent worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2008

    I Am Legend

    I thought the book I Am Legend was ok but on the other hand the movie was way better. You should read the book first but i hated how short the story it was only 170 pages and it was a little hard to follow. This story was about vampires taking over the which they did and Robert Neville was one of the few people was alive. So he tryed to survive and stop the vampires. To do so he tryed to communicate with the other humans that are alive to save them and get as much more food.His only friend was his dog and kept him from being lonely so Robert treated him like a human being. Also in the book I Am Legend he spent most of his time at home in his lab and Robert Neville almost got killed at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    Good but....

    The plot of this story, I think, is something we as humans sometimes dwell on. What would life really be like if there was only one person left living? I think that Matheson captured the emotions that Robert Neville would feel if he was real, quite well. The ideas and material were all there, although I was disappointed that he made the monsters out to be vampires. I felt that was just an overly used creature of horror stories. The movie version's take on just making them terrible carnivorous creatures instead of simplifying it with a basic name, was a better take. It made the creatures more terrifying. I made the mistake, though, of seeing the movie with Will Smith before reading the piece, and now i look back and should have done it in reverse. The story was well written and intreging, but it pales in comparision to how hollywood handled the story. Hollywood built off of a good story and made it great. I was disappointed with the ending. I felt that Matheson could have taken a different approach when he has Robert meet Ruth. Had he done that, the story could have continued on. I would have liked that better then the defeat that Robert faces in the end. I thought that was too harsh for Robert's character, whom was built up to be strong willed and invincible in some way, to have the story end in that way. I felt the ending of the movie version did more justice for Robert's character. And i agree, i felt cheated when i realized that the majority of the book was short stories. I dont know if you can classify I Am Legend as a short story, since it seems too long to be one, yet too short as a novel, so maybe thats why they compiled Mathesons stories along with this one, but clearly it should be printed on the cover as I Am Legend...and other short stories by Richard Matheson. Thats false advertising. I'm glad I took this book out from the library. Mathesons other stories may also be good, but when i skimmed them I didn't get the same feelings i did from I Am Legend. Overall, it was a good story, but it wasn't what i thought it would be, after seeing the movie. So read the story, then see Will Smith kick butt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    Omega man rip off

    This story reminds me of the movie Omega man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2008

    Pretty good

    This is a okay to pretty good book in my opinion. The reason i gave it a 3 stars is that i don't find it that action packed as the movie was. I saw the movie and now im reading book. I found that Richard dragged a little bit too much in the beginning about how Robert lived each day. It is very slow paced and almost half the book repeats how Robert woke up, tried to find answers, be back by sunset, listened to the vampires at night, go to sleep, wake up and the cycle starts all over again. I feel that the author should really skip some of that unnesessary parts. But as the book goes on, it gets a little more interesting and the end was pretty good. got me thinking a little. Overall its a pretty good book. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    You should tell people this is a short story

    I was very disappointed to find out I had purchased a short story rather than a novel. I think you are being very misleading in selling the story in this manner. Shame on you!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3