Customer Reviews for

I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban

Average Rating 4.5
( 242 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(172)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

80 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

I find it very interesting that there are already two reviews of

I find it very interesting that there are already two reviews of this book, both negative and both anonymous. Since the book was just released its a bit difficult to accept that they had time to actually READ the book, and even more difficult to accept that they could ...
I find it very interesting that there are already two reviews of this book, both negative and both anonymous. Since the book was just released its a bit difficult to accept that they had time to actually READ the book, and even more difficult to accept that they could give it such low marks. This is a story that has to be told and hopefully lead to the capture of those COWARDS who are responsible for the shooting of this brave, little girl.

posted by 5308290 on October 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Inspiring.

Malala is a brave couragus spirit. She has the support of the world and the courage and heart of an army. If that selfish bullet had stopped her big heart it would have only fueled the fire of her stance. For we all would have stood up and kept her dream a reality.

posted by Anonymous on October 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    I find it very interesting that there are already two reviews of

    I find it very interesting that there are already two reviews of this book, both negative and both anonymous. Since the book was just released its a bit difficult to accept that they had time to actually READ the book, and even more difficult to accept that they could give it such low marks. This is a story that has to be told and hopefully lead to the capture of those COWARDS who are responsible for the shooting of this brave, little girl.

    80 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Malala

    I heard about this girl in the news, she is an amazing person in my opinion. I would of never had the guts to stand up for my opinion that is why I think that Malala is an outstanding role-model for any one of any age. Long live Malala!

    - Hope .F. Villagrana
    Age- 12 1/2

    54 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I am Malala is a brave and fascinating book. Malala stood up to

    I am Malala is a brave and fascinating book. Malala stood up to the Taliban and argued for the right to an education. In response the Taliban shot Malala at point blank in the head. Yet Malala survived to tell her story. How brave!

    36 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    What an amazing girl.  So inspirational.  I truly hope her story

    What an amazing girl.  So inspirational.  I truly hope her story will open the global community's eyes to the plight of girls' educational struggles in Pakistan and elsewhere.  Malala will win the Nobel Peace Prize some day. 

    24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I am Malala is a truly amazing book. It consists of the account

    I am Malala is a truly amazing book. It consists of the account of a young woman who stood up to the evil Taliban. As a result of her demonstration of courage she was shot in the head. But talk about courage. She survived and became a world voice on the right to education. A truly inspirational story! She has a beautiful way with words. Five stars.

    22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Malala is an unusual daughter of Pakistan. All women should be p

    Malala is an unusual daughter of Pakistan. All women should be proud of her. I think that Malala is an outstanding role-model for all of us. Long live Malala!
    Dr. S Z A Zaidi, MBBS, FCPS, FRCP, FRCPath, FACP

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2013

    Great book must read. 

    Great book must read. 

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Great book by a brave girl...

    Great book by a brave girl...

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    I agree with the first reveiw

    I agree u cant judge a book buy its cover i doubt they even read it it just came out its to thick to read in a couple days

    15 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    I WANT TO READ IT SO BAD

    I read the sample and Malala has such a beautiful way with words that makes you truly see her village and her house and garden. She is very bright and must be very brave to stand up for a woman's education even when a man shoots her for it. She is my role model and a fantastic spirit. She is truly a child of God. AND SHE IS SO PRETTY!!! You would think that after being shot in the left eye, she would need face reconstructing surgery, but she is just gorgeous. I want to read it so bad. IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE SAMPLE DO IT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    Wonderful awe inspiring book that EVERYONE should read. She shou

    Wonderful awe inspiring book that EVERYONE should read. She should have won the nobel peace prize!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    I heard about her

    She is very brave

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    The power of the pen

    What an amazing story! And also, what an amazing father! Malala's father never was ashamed to have a daughter, he nutured her and created a wonderful caring human being, so wonderful that god blessed her with a second chance at life! I will continue to follow her story, many blessings to you little lady!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    This is a great book !!! This young lady inspires me, and am gla

    This is a great book !!! This young lady inspires me, and am glad I read this. I think I will stop complaining and get busy living - she did!!!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    By Malala

    Every girl everywere should have the right to go to school.We woman should be able to stand up for our rights to go to school.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Malala

    A brave and courageouse spirit

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    I am in the middle of this book, it is well written and very int

    I am in the middle of this book, it is well written and very interesting.  I have been following Malala's story.  I wish her a lond and happy life.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    I heard her do a speech thing

    i was like PREACH IT SISTAH!!!!! &hearts &infin

    8 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    "I am Malala" "I am Malala"

    In Homeroom, we watch CNN News and this story came up. Ever single girl in class was crying. The boys were grabbing tissues for us. It was so sad. It makes you look at life in a whole different light. You realize how lucky you are and how you don't live in Pakistan where the Taliban have taken over. It was truly inspiring. Then, in English, we read an article about her. It was also very sad. We were giving a book project assignment where we had to read her book. I read it and I was shocked about everything that happened. I was shocked she survived and then hearing what people are saying, I was shocked people could be so negative about what happened to this girl. After everything that this young girl went through and people want to say something like that? She got shot in the head. She survived. She stood up for what she wanted and then, you wonder how many people you know who would do what Malala did. Forget all those movie superheroes or comic superheroes, the best superhero doesn't need to fly. The best superhero only needs to have a wise mind, a goal, and the courage plus the strength to follow through with it. And not the strength in your arms. You need to have a strong heart.
    WAY TO BE STRONG, MALALA!!!!!!!!!!!!! <3

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is an amazing account of Malala Yousafzai¿s life story

    This book is an amazing account of Malala Yousafzai’s life story. Defying the odds she spoke out for women’s rights to be educated. For her defiance she was rewarded with a bullet to the head. That she survived is amazing. That she didn’t back down as an outspoken advocate for women’s education is even more amazing. I give this book my highest praise.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9