Customer Reviews for

I Am Not Myself These Days

Average Rating 4.5
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

deeply moving...

...of all the memoirs i've read this year this one had the deepest impact. when i finished this book i was so emotionally broken that i had no choice but to really look deep within myself and realize that there are aspects of me that need to be thrown into the river...a...
...of all the memoirs i've read this year this one had the deepest impact. when i finished this book i was so emotionally broken that i had no choice but to really look deep within myself and realize that there are aspects of me that need to be thrown into the river...and then i was able to pick up the remaining pieces and put myself back together. so, i think it is safe to say that this book changed my life. i was surprised at how i responded to this book because i picked it up with judgement, not expecting to get anything out of it. how am i going to relate to a drag queen and what can i learn from a drag queen? i learned many lessons and i am so glad that josh kilmer-purcell shared his story because it moved me, helped me, changed me.

posted by Anonymous on May 18, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Interested in Transvestites?

My favourite quote from the book is something like Transexuals are a gender trapped in the wrong body, and Transvestites are celebrities trapped in the wrong body. It was an interesting read regarding the topics of modern addication - crack cocaine, and an insight into...
My favourite quote from the book is something like Transexuals are a gender trapped in the wrong body, and Transvestites are celebrities trapped in the wrong body. It was an interesting read regarding the topics of modern addication - crack cocaine, and an insight into the world of the Drag Queen world. Are Drag Queens transvestites? Maybe I should have read more carefully. I am always interested in the life of the Other, and the author does take you into his world of Drag Queen personalities, club life, love and loss. The book promised to have great laughs, but I think that the tragic element is the most overriding, tragic in the sense of drug addiction and the loss of control.

posted by Downunder-reader on March 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2006

    deeply moving...

    ...of all the memoirs i've read this year this one had the deepest impact. when i finished this book i was so emotionally broken that i had no choice but to really look deep within myself and realize that there are aspects of me that need to be thrown into the river...and then i was able to pick up the remaining pieces and put myself back together. so, i think it is safe to say that this book changed my life. i was surprised at how i responded to this book because i picked it up with judgement, not expecting to get anything out of it. how am i going to relate to a drag queen and what can i learn from a drag queen? i learned many lessons and i am so glad that josh kilmer-purcell shared his story because it moved me, helped me, changed me.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Highly recomend

    Funny, sad, with lots of life. Hard to put down and when finished leaving you wanting more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Enjoyed very much.

    Fantastic! I really enjoyed this book. A great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Great book

    I loved this book. I can relate to you so much and not about being a drag queen but going through the things you did. I know i maybe younger than you when you went through it the the struggles are the same. The way the book was writen was awesome! It reslly draws you into your life. Thank you for showing us a piece of your life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Fantastic book

    Quickly has become one of my favorite books. Quirky, crazy, and in the end, beautiful. A highly unlikeky discovery of self.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Fantastic read!

    Kilmer-purcell gives an entertaining and provocative look inside his younger, former drag queen life. Engrossing and at times laugh out loud hilarious. A great read and an excellent precursor to "The Bucolic Plague." I plan on re-reading it soon!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    If you want to read about every day life of a Drag Performer this is it. Really enjoyable. Josh Kilmer-Purcell ,writes from the heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    entertaining and gripping.

    such a fun read. addictive and genuine. i laughed out loud and cried. two thumbs up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    yes!

    amazing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    AMAZING!

    This was such a great book! I couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Favorite

    Hands down, the best memoir I've read to date.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Nofo rt Not for everyone...

    ...but definitely for me. Perfect in every way and extremely well written. I'm already missing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Fantastic

    GREAT read. I would categorize this novel as Transgressive Fiction. It is gritty and dark, with a spunky sarcastic humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Wit and humor

    Enjoyed the read Totally an escape from my life yet feelings expressed by characters are universal and easily related to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Must Read !!!

    I Absolutely Love this author and this is a Great book !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Different

    Thus book describes a life and lifestyle most likely different than any you have ever thoight up. Entertainement value alone does not make me give five stars. This book is also well written humorous and as bare all as i could care to read. Five pperfect stars. I am grateful to have found this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    "Hugs and Fishes"

    I absolutely loved this book! It became one of my favorites before I finished it. Josh Kilmer-Purcell has a great author's voice and he's hilarious just as well. This book has climactic, humorous, romantic, sickening, and heart-wrenching scenes. The moment I began on the first chapter, I never wanted to put it down. By the time it ended, I continued reading the author's questionnaire at the back and the fact that this is a memoir, that these events are true, just makes the story all the more wonderfully beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    Unbelievably honest and hilarious, I couldn't put it down... or stop laughing. The author is a really great story teller, he had my attention from page one and he really takes you on a trip into his everyday life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    What defines a home?

    I almost stopped reading after the first 5 chapters. Not because it was poorly written, but because of the highly descriptive stories of drug use, and one particularly disturbing drag queen performance. I am not a prude, and have seen my share of drag queens, but the intensity of the authors stories was out of my realm. However, I was too curious not to see how it ended, and I'm so glad I kept reading. A deep humanity 'and humility' unfolds in the following chapters. It is about the person you portray in your day to day life, and the person you are in your own heart. And at the end of the book, you are left with the humbling reminder that all of us, every last one of us, is searching for family and home - however we define them. It is part coming-of-age story, part drug memior, part love story. But it is absolutely human.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2007

    Could Not Put it Down!!

    I loved this book. I saw this book on a random display in Barnes & Noble and had to but it. I finished it the next day. I found myself laughing out loud at some parts. A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4