Customer Reviews for

I Am Nujood, Age 10 and Divorced

Average Rating 3.5
( 469 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(148)

3 Star

(109)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Review of I am Nujood

I was hesitant about giving this book a rating - because I can't really say that I enjoyed it.

There are a few things I appreciated about it. I appreciated it's short, to-the-point length. Any more and I don't know that I could have handled it. I appreciated tha...
I was hesitant about giving this book a rating - because I can't really say that I enjoyed it.

There are a few things I appreciated about it. I appreciated it's short, to-the-point length. Any more and I don't know that I could have handled it. I appreciated that the book focused so intently on rehabilitation and didn't feel the need to go into massive amounts of detail with regards to Nujood's circumstances and the horror she dealt with.

This is an important book. It's written in a way that really brings out the confused girl-woman's voice from Nujood. She's 10 years old - a child, but the things she talks about should never have had to come out of a child's mouth.

Important book and one that should be read. Talk about this book, get people reading it. I intend to.

posted by Benz1966 on March 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Interesting read, but I question some of the authenticity

The book is a quick, easy read. I don't doubt the authenticity of Nujood's story, just some of the emotions and feelings expressed in the book. What had me start doubting whether or not the words and feelings truly belong to Nujood is when the book uses the word micro...
The book is a quick, easy read. I don't doubt the authenticity of Nujood's story, just some of the emotions and feelings expressed in the book. What had me start doubting whether or not the words and feelings truly belong to Nujood is when the book uses the word microscopic after stating that Nujood hasn't even completed her second year of schooling. If she's barely gotten through two years of schooling, there's no way she knows what a microscope is, and I doubted that this was a word that she would use. So if this is the author's word and not hers, what other words, feelings and descriptions did the author put in for dramatic effect?

It's a very timely story that needs to be told, especially since a 13 year-old Yemeni child bride recently died. I don't regret reading the book, I just wish I wasn't left with these doubts as to how much of the story is really Nujood's.

posted by 2783591 on April 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 469 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Review of I am Nujood

    I was hesitant about giving this book a rating - because I can't really say that I enjoyed it.

    There are a few things I appreciated about it. I appreciated it's short, to-the-point length. Any more and I don't know that I could have handled it. I appreciated that the book focused so intently on rehabilitation and didn't feel the need to go into massive amounts of detail with regards to Nujood's circumstances and the horror she dealt with.

    This is an important book. It's written in a way that really brings out the confused girl-woman's voice from Nujood. She's 10 years old - a child, but the things she talks about should never have had to come out of a child's mouth.

    Important book and one that should be read. Talk about this book, get people reading it. I intend to.

    27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Am Nujood

    Let me start this off by saying that this was the first e-book that I bought for my new Nook. I had decided after a year of debating and researching to purchase a book with end of school year bonus money. My husband purchased it for an anniversary gift May 7th. A fellow teacher had recommended this book that she had read on her Nook. I am so glad I listened to her.

    Nujood was a victim of an age old practice of arranged marriages. Yemen law and local customs allows for the abuse of women every year. Never have I heard a story of one so young with the guts to stand up for what she believed should be her rights. She took risks that could have cost her very own life. Nujood's father has two wives eventhough he can't really afford either family. When things start to get financially worse for him he agrees to an arragned marriage for Nujood to a man who is three times older than her. The father makes the groom to be promise not to consummate the marriage until after at least a year after her first period. Nujood is removed from her home, married off against her will and taken to live in her old, isolated village away from everyone she knows. On her first night her new husband breaks his promise and rapes her. It seems the more she fights him the more he takes pleasure in raping and beating her. She gets no sympathy from her mother-in-law who encourages her son to beat her all the more. After visiting her father's second wife she is given advice that will give her the courage to save herself. She finds the courage to make it to the courthouse and find a judge and demand a divorce. Shocked by her age and the hardships she has endured he goes against Sharia law and sets her on the path to her freedom.

    There were sections that made me angry and sections that made me cry. No child should have to be forced into a life like that. Her bravery has gone a long way to change things in Yemen. This is not a battle that will be won easily or quickly. I would recommend this book to all adults. It makes me happy that I am an American an that we have laws to protect our children from things like this.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    Interesting read, but I question some of the authenticity

    The book is a quick, easy read. I don't doubt the authenticity of Nujood's story, just some of the emotions and feelings expressed in the book. What had me start doubting whether or not the words and feelings truly belong to Nujood is when the book uses the word microscopic after stating that Nujood hasn't even completed her second year of schooling. If she's barely gotten through two years of schooling, there's no way she knows what a microscope is, and I doubted that this was a word that she would use. So if this is the author's word and not hers, what other words, feelings and descriptions did the author put in for dramatic effect?

    It's a very timely story that needs to be told, especially since a 13 year-old Yemeni child bride recently died. I don't regret reading the book, I just wish I wasn't left with these doubts as to how much of the story is really Nujood's.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    Heart-Rending, Yet Full of Hope

    I am Nujood, Age 10 and Divorced / 978-0-307-58968-2

    If you only read one book this year, this is the book you should read.

    Heart-rending, this swift novel covers the young life of Nujood Ali, as she is pressed into marriage at a heart-breakingly young age and her new husband makes (and immediately breaks) the traditional-yet-meaningless (to him) vow that he will not consummate the wedding until she is old enough.

    Although I am familiar with many biographies of women hurt and abused at an early age (only recently I read "Escape" and "Stolen Innocence"), I was hesitant to read this novel, if only because I was afraid to face the hurt and pain inflicted on this sweet girl with such an open, trusting face. I knew this was something that I had to read, however, and I was thrilled to see that Nujood has done the impossible - she has told her sad and horrifying tale in such a way that hope is able to shine through every facet of her tale.

    "I am Nujood" opens with this extraordinary young woman on the steps of the courthouse, and I was surprised to tears of gratitude when the judges promise, immediately and without reservation, to do whatever they can in order to help her. From there, it is a long struggle to Nujood's freedom - both for her lawyer and judges, who must work through the various legal technicalities, and for the reader, who is introduced to the backstory of abuse behind all this - but the fact that the strangers around her care for Nujood, and work diligently, intelligently, and tirelessly to protect her, all this human goodness makes the ugly story of Nujood's abuse slightly more bearable, because the reader can hold on to the knowledge that, somehow, everything will be alright in the end.

    The epilogue for this extraordinary book states that, "The royalties from Nujood's book...have already begun helping finance the girls' schooling and contributing to the support of the family, paying for food, rent, school supplied, and clothing for the children. Later, the money will help Nujood pursue her desire to become a lawyer and to establish a foundation to assist young girls in difficulties." So often I read stories of victimized young women and wonder what, if anything, I can do to help. I am humbled and grateful that at least in this one small way - by purchasing this phenomenal, touching story of a young girl's bravery - I can help a tiny bit.

    I own both this e-book version and the paperback version of this wonderful book. The e-book version is just as crisp and clear as the paperback; the formatting is clear, and the in-text terms that might confuse the reader are highlighted with a convenient quick link to the glossary at the end of the book. The text resizes cleanly, and the font is clear and easy to read. I highly recommend this e-book version as well as the book as a whole.

    ~ Ana Mardoll

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Very Good read!

    This book was a very good read and empowering of this brave little girl. I think that this would be a great read for pre-teen/teen girls to read. Teaching girls that they should stand up for what they believe in.
    I enjoy little Nujood story and foun it to be very touching. To think that things like this happen out there. Really teachings people about what is going on in the world outside of your own bubble.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    This tale defies reality and yet...it is a true story.

    In Yemen, a country described by one of the authors as remote and picturesque, we meet Nujood Ali. She lives in abject poverty, in backward conditions, without running water, electricity or creature comforts. Yet, she is happy with her simple life. When a matter of honor brings shame upon her family and there is no money for food or rent, her father marries her off to a man 30 years her senior and her nightmare begins.
    She is only ten years old. A promise is made to respect her and not consummate the marriage until a year after her first menses. She is ripped from her life and taken to her childhood home town, a very inaccessible place, where her new husband still lives, and, in an unspeakable act of cruelty, he comes to the marriage bed and does not honor his pledge to abstain. As time passes and Nujood is not a willing participant, he beats her. The poor child did not know what to expect and was totally unprepared for the abuse she experienced in her new family. She is overworked and mistreated.
    This story is about her marriage and eventual escape and pursuit of a divorce. Her courage, which enabled her to bring her case to court and end the marriage, has succeeded in bringing some change to the policies in her country, encouraging other young girls to come forward to try and save themselves from abusive arrangements, but it has also brought unwanted publicity to her family. What Nujood has done, has brought dishonor to them and even her female lawyer has received threats. There is danger in fighting these battles for women's rights. The world is upside down when a child, defending her own honor, is accused of dishonoring her family by demanding her freedom.
    The mistreatment of women in many Muslim countries is exemplified in this tale of child abuse. While Nujood has been honored and has dreams of a future as a lawyer, her prospects for achieving this seem slim. In her country, poverty abounds, women have few rights and they remain uneducated and illiterate as do many men. Women have few expectations and basically accept their neglected condition because they have no power to do otherwise. When a child is "sold" into marriage, women may actually become her biggest enemies, goading her and punishing her for what they consider her disrespectful behavior when she is disobedient. Women expect to be overworked, bear children and follow orders. They are so beaten down that they have little self esteem and expect even less out of life. Theirs is to do or die, obediently, quietly and respectfully.
    Although the story seems disjointed at first, all the pieces come together in the end. I realize it is a true story but it defies my imagination and fills me with horror and regret that such conditions exist in the modern world.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    About this Book

    This book is amaizing. I am presently studiying for a Master's in Mental Health and my ultimate goal is working with Children who have been abused. In almost all female cases we will be dealing with physical abuse. It is good to know that Nujood is a typical girl that can over come some great difficulties that some of us may never face.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    A Unique And Touching Story!!!

    "I Am Nujood" is a must-have book to read. It is an extraordinary story about a ten-year old girl who decides to flee from her forced marriage and seek the legal system to help her get a divorce from her abusive husband who repeatedly beats and rapes her. Due to poverty conditions suffered by her family after her father lost his job, her father accepts a dowry from a man looking for a young wife to marry which was Nujood. Nujood's new married life only gets worse when she is mistreated and used as a slave by her cold-hearted mother-in-law. Her dreams of getting an education in school are prohibited and her life with her husband becomes a nightmare. Her determination to detach herself from living the life of a wife, drives her to run to a courthouse and demand a judge to grant her a divorce. With the help of a female lawyer, Nujood is granted her divorce. I was so touched how this young girl found the strength to risk it all to reclaim her old life and return to her family. She is a natural born fighter and it was all or nothing in her mind. She didn't let fears, worries, or obvious obstacles of the difficulty of a divorce in Yemen to be granted to women and the possibility of repercussions and bringing dishonor to her family, stop her from fighting for what she wanted. Yet through it all, she become a hero for many women in her country and all over the world, because she took a stand against forced child marriages.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    Riveting

    This author astonishes you with its captivating subject and awe inspiring courageousness of a 10 year old little girl! She had to become an adult before she understood what being an adult was! To think that this kind of thing happens everyday in other countries is very disheartening! We call it child molestation here in the USA what they consider to be a binding marriage in consummation!! These acts should be abominated and the people who marry these poor children should be castrated!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    Enlightening

    What an amazing little girl she is truly an inspiration to all little girls. It is utterly sickening that we live in the 21st century and this is happening to children. I understand that it is their culture but they are only children. I thought that it was touching and it just broke my heart to hear what Nujood endured. That she even had the strength to go on and fight back for what she knew was wrong.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2010

    eyeopener

    wow...what a book! Nujood is such courageous young lady. Good for her!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Inspirational story of Yemeni girl forced into marriage

    This book is about a beautiful 10 year Yemeni girl who has childish dreams and hopes for herself but her dreams are thwarted when she is forced to marry a man twice her age. Her father sells her to a man who is told not to touch her before puberty. The husband does not care and forces himself on her . The little girl is confused and beaten and hates the situation she is on. She is able to find help by going to court and fight the case . She is an example for all the women who complain about their lives but if they realize what this little girl went through they would feel grateful for what they have been given.She musters courage and gets a divorce and sets a precedent for other girls like her. Thanks Nujood , your story is a testament to the courage girls your age need to show in situations similar to yours. When I was reading the book , I was wondering what I used to do as a 10 year old girl and felt so much for her case.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Educating

    Good easy read and very educating but i love the fact that by purchasing this book i am helping Nujood

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    I Am Nujood. Age 10 and Divorced

    Very inspiring short read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    This was a great book!! It makes me realize how unappreciative I am being raised here in the United States. Her story stuck with me for a long time. I read this book about 6 months ago and still recommend it to others. LM

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Quick & Interesting Read

    This book is rather basic making it a quick and easy read. It does share some interesting information about the culture and its treatment of women and children. Fortunately it does not harp on the sexual perversion done to this child but provides enough visual for the reader to understand what she was subjected to. At times you wonder if it is possible for a child so young to have such knowledge and use such verbiage but I'm guessing co-author sprinkled her own words throughout.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    Excellent

    The topics discussed are troubling, but the story tell us why Americans are fortunate not to be forced into traditions that enslave girls.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Terribls

    This book is only 111 pages long, and absolutely terrible. It is poorly written, does not give any details of the marriage, and left me wondering how B&N could possibly charge $6.13 for this? Don't waste your money.

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    Nujood Struggles

    I could not put my nook down as i was reading the book. It saddens me we are in 2010 and there are people in the world whom could do such a thing. Nujood is a 10(although she is unsure what her true age is) and gets forced to marry a man whom rapes and beats her. She seeks help from her parents without sucess and thankfully to his father's other wife is suggested to go to the courthouse to obtain a divorce. I enjoy her descriptions on how she was a happy child and how much love she received from her family. Her family has many misfortunes including her sisters ending up having the same fate as Nujood.
    It angers me that people are so blinded by religion. I'm not religious and this just affirms my believe that religion does not guarantee you to be a good person. You live by your actions, not in what God you may believe.
    Recommend this reading and hope the proceeds from this inspirational book is helping little Nujood to reach her dreams to become a lawyer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    CULTURE VS. JUSTICE “I am Nujood, age 10 and divorced&rdqu

    CULTURE VS. JUSTICE
    “I am Nujood, age 10 and divorced” is a book about, Nujood Ali, a ten-year old Yemeni girl who is forced into an arrange marriage set up by her father to a repulsive man, three times her age. Nujood refuses to put up with the injustice of the terrible abuse she suffers and demands a divorce when she can no longer put up with him. Nujood is desperate and cries for help but because of old age customs, her family is in disapprovement for her divorce. They say it, “will bring shame to the family”. Nujood is sick of running circles with her family and realizes that they will not help so she finds bravery and determination to go to court. She is completely confident in justice, her own self-worth and her faith in god that will protect her through her trails. Nujood was raised in a culture where men have the final word and there are no questions asked but despite through her experience and desperation she finds internal strength to proceed with the court, be patient and believe that right will win out.
    I would recommend this book to other female teens because I believe it is an eye opening to the outside world around us. Nujood’s world may seem different and far from ours but her book shows that she is an average girl with universal appeal. This book teaches to stand up for your self and what you believe in. I believe that here for us we are blinded and take a lot of things for granted. Nujood had her childhood taken from her but yet she didn’t let that experience make the worst of her. In Yemen, Nujood obtained her freedom-an extraordinary achievement, where it is a tradition to get married under the legal age and half the girls there had been married off. Although Nujood has to go through that nightmare, she understands her worth and what she deserves. She will not settle. Nujood’s book is inspiring to people to stand up for them selves. What I liked from this book is how real it was because it still was interesting aside from what we see on media and the junk they show us. Because of media we get a fails idea of life and are brain washed to only the colorful side of life. What I had disliked about this book is the fact that I questioned some of the writing because I felt it was not all her but the authors giving it some spice to the story. I would have also liked to see some more detail to the stories. This book has themes of courage, human rights and compassion. Overall this is a easy read and I would recommend teenagers to read this than get their heads filled with nonsense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 469 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24