Customer Reviews for

I Am Nujood, Age 10 and Divorced

Average Rating 3.5
( 467 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(146)

3 Star

(109)

2 Star

(36)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Review of I am Nujood

I was hesitant about giving this book a rating - because I can't really say that I enjoyed it.

There are a few things I appreciated about it. I appreciated it's short, to-the-point length. Any more and I don't know that I could have handled it. I appreciated tha...
I was hesitant about giving this book a rating - because I can't really say that I enjoyed it.

There are a few things I appreciated about it. I appreciated it's short, to-the-point length. Any more and I don't know that I could have handled it. I appreciated that the book focused so intently on rehabilitation and didn't feel the need to go into massive amounts of detail with regards to Nujood's circumstances and the horror she dealt with.

This is an important book. It's written in a way that really brings out the confused girl-woman's voice from Nujood. She's 10 years old - a child, but the things she talks about should never have had to come out of a child's mouth.

Important book and one that should be read. Talk about this book, get people reading it. I intend to.

posted by Benz1966 on March 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Interesting read, but I question some of the authenticity

The book is a quick, easy read. I don't doubt the authenticity of Nujood's story, just some of the emotions and feelings expressed in the book. What had me start doubting whether or not the words and feelings truly belong to Nujood is when the book uses the word micro...
The book is a quick, easy read. I don't doubt the authenticity of Nujood's story, just some of the emotions and feelings expressed in the book. What had me start doubting whether or not the words and feelings truly belong to Nujood is when the book uses the word microscopic after stating that Nujood hasn't even completed her second year of schooling. If she's barely gotten through two years of schooling, there's no way she knows what a microscope is, and I doubted that this was a word that she would use. So if this is the author's word and not hers, what other words, feelings and descriptions did the author put in for dramatic effect?

It's a very timely story that needs to be told, especially since a 13 year-old Yemeni child bride recently died. I don't regret reading the book, I just wish I wasn't left with these doubts as to how much of the story is really Nujood's.

posted by 2783591 on April 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Review of I am Nujood

    I was hesitant about giving this book a rating - because I can't really say that I enjoyed it.

    There are a few things I appreciated about it. I appreciated it's short, to-the-point length. Any more and I don't know that I could have handled it. I appreciated that the book focused so intently on rehabilitation and didn't feel the need to go into massive amounts of detail with regards to Nujood's circumstances and the horror she dealt with.

    This is an important book. It's written in a way that really brings out the confused girl-woman's voice from Nujood. She's 10 years old - a child, but the things she talks about should never have had to come out of a child's mouth.

    Important book and one that should be read. Talk about this book, get people reading it. I intend to.

    27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Very Good read!

    This book was a very good read and empowering of this brave little girl. I think that this would be a great read for pre-teen/teen girls to read. Teaching girls that they should stand up for what they believe in.
    I enjoy little Nujood story and foun it to be very touching. To think that things like this happen out there. Really teachings people about what is going on in the world outside of your own bubble.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    This tale defies reality and yet...it is a true story.

    In Yemen, a country described by one of the authors as remote and picturesque, we meet Nujood Ali. She lives in abject poverty, in backward conditions, without running water, electricity or creature comforts. Yet, she is happy with her simple life. When a matter of honor brings shame upon her family and there is no money for food or rent, her father marries her off to a man 30 years her senior and her nightmare begins.
    She is only ten years old. A promise is made to respect her and not consummate the marriage until a year after her first menses. She is ripped from her life and taken to her childhood home town, a very inaccessible place, where her new husband still lives, and, in an unspeakable act of cruelty, he comes to the marriage bed and does not honor his pledge to abstain. As time passes and Nujood is not a willing participant, he beats her. The poor child did not know what to expect and was totally unprepared for the abuse she experienced in her new family. She is overworked and mistreated.
    This story is about her marriage and eventual escape and pursuit of a divorce. Her courage, which enabled her to bring her case to court and end the marriage, has succeeded in bringing some change to the policies in her country, encouraging other young girls to come forward to try and save themselves from abusive arrangements, but it has also brought unwanted publicity to her family. What Nujood has done, has brought dishonor to them and even her female lawyer has received threats. There is danger in fighting these battles for women's rights. The world is upside down when a child, defending her own honor, is accused of dishonoring her family by demanding her freedom.
    The mistreatment of women in many Muslim countries is exemplified in this tale of child abuse. While Nujood has been honored and has dreams of a future as a lawyer, her prospects for achieving this seem slim. In her country, poverty abounds, women have few rights and they remain uneducated and illiterate as do many men. Women have few expectations and basically accept their neglected condition because they have no power to do otherwise. When a child is "sold" into marriage, women may actually become her biggest enemies, goading her and punishing her for what they consider her disrespectful behavior when she is disobedient. Women expect to be overworked, bear children and follow orders. They are so beaten down that they have little self esteem and expect even less out of life. Theirs is to do or die, obediently, quietly and respectfully.
    Although the story seems disjointed at first, all the pieces come together in the end. I realize it is a true story but it defies my imagination and fills me with horror and regret that such conditions exist in the modern world.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2010

    eyeopener

    wow...what a book! Nujood is such courageous young lady. Good for her!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    I Am Nujood. Age 10 and Divorced

    Very inspiring short read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    This was a great book!! It makes me realize how unappreciative I am being raised here in the United States. Her story stuck with me for a long time. I read this book about 6 months ago and still recommend it to others. LM

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Quick & Interesting Read

    This book is rather basic making it a quick and easy read. It does share some interesting information about the culture and its treatment of women and children. Fortunately it does not harp on the sexual perversion done to this child but provides enough visual for the reader to understand what she was subjected to. At times you wonder if it is possible for a child so young to have such knowledge and use such verbiage but I'm guessing co-author sprinkled her own words throughout.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    Nujood Struggles

    I could not put my nook down as i was reading the book. It saddens me we are in 2010 and there are people in the world whom could do such a thing. Nujood is a 10(although she is unsure what her true age is) and gets forced to marry a man whom rapes and beats her. She seeks help from her parents without sucess and thankfully to his father's other wife is suggested to go to the courthouse to obtain a divorce. I enjoy her descriptions on how she was a happy child and how much love she received from her family. Her family has many misfortunes including her sisters ending up having the same fate as Nujood.
    It angers me that people are so blinded by religion. I'm not religious and this just affirms my believe that religion does not guarantee you to be a good person. You live by your actions, not in what God you may believe.
    Recommend this reading and hope the proceeds from this inspirational book is helping little Nujood to reach her dreams to become a lawyer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Nujood is amazing

    This is the story of a brave little Yemen girl who stood up for herself and got a divorce from her abusive husband. I hope that in fifteen or twenty years we'll see that she really did become a lawyer and she's making sure women in that part of the world get the protection and equal rights that they deserve.
    One reviewer claims that an illiterate little girl had thoughts put in her head. I'm sorry, but a child--any child knows when they're being taken advantage of. They know when they are treated unfairly, they know when they're being hurt. Nujood, like many child brides, knew she was being hurt. The difference is she decided she deserved better and she fought for her life. Naturally the co-author has put things in a more adult language. It's not a story for children in America. There are things about the case that Nujood is still too young to understand. Maybe one day when she's an adult we'll have a retelling of the story in her own words. Until then, let's just be grateful that one little girl changed her corner of the world at least a little bit so that other children won't suffer the way she did... or at the very least they have recourse.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    ******

    ******

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Opens your eyes

    Fast read that will open your eyes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    quick read

    Good book, but very quick and simple read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    Check this out!

    This is a story about the indomitable spirit of a young girl who knew that the customs her society placed on her were not right. She was able to use resources around her to gain her freedom physically and psychologically.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Griipping Non-Fiction

    Nujood is young child who had the character and strength to stand up to Muslim law and cultural norms, not a easy thing to do for an adult nearly impossible for a 10 year old. If you are ready to learn the truth, hear the pain of so many young children and women who are oppressed and treated as mere property read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Great courage

    This was a great book. A quick read with no boring parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Brave girl but lacked the 'bang'

    Brave girl and definately felt for her. Lacked the 'bang' I had hoped for. pretty short book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    I am luky :) feel :(sory4 her

    I m luky thst my dad wont choose my spouse 4 me i feel sorry for her . B thankful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    a must read for all women

    A sad story in that this is real! As a woman, in a country where we are free to express and live as we wish, I wonder how we as a world can let this happen. A child should not have this happen to them. Very moving, makes you want to shout from the rooftops STOP THIS HUSTING OUR CHILDREN!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Its reality,inspiring book

    This book presents a little bit confusing information because it tells the present happening then it will go back to the past. That's how this book is written. This book I found original because I never saw a kid at age 10 get divorced and experience all the bad thing in life that she did. Children are supposed to be happy and playing with other kids. Also this book taught me how to be brave and learn many things that a kid can't do that she proved that at her age she can do it. For me, the big idea of this book is the braveness of Nujood that other 10 years old kids can't do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Interesting read

    Very fasinating insight into a tragedy faced by many young girls

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8